Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Payton College Preparatory High School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a student
Payton was a great school. I honestly took advantage of Payton when I went there, but it still gave me the advanatage on a ton of colleges that I shouldn't have got in to. Amazing teachers, some have left, but still amazing teachers. Glad I chose Payton instead of Whitney young or northside. I would not be who I am today without Payton, it really put me ahead.

Payton College Preparatory High School 3

Posted November 13, 2012
- a student
I'm a recent graduate (2011), and I have very mixed feelings about the school. Sadly, many of these are negative. I chose Payton over many other great high schools because I wanted a challenge and good reputation, which many high schools in CPS just can't provide. When I got there, I was pleased with my teachers and the programs, but extremely unhappy with the school. The students here are extremely condescending, elitist, and unwelcoming. Expect to be around people with no interests outside of school and activities that look good on transcripts. For some students, this will be okay; for most, it won't. As someone who did not come from a privileged caucasian background or well represented minority group, I endured four years of hell to get a good education. I am now at a highly ranked East Coast school on a wonderful scholarship, and while I can say it prepared me very well for challenging math and science higher education, I would never repeat the experience in a million years. In addition, if you have ANY learning disabilities, DO NOT GO HERE. It's bad enough that "regular" students are overlooked, but the support for my friends with learning differences was tragically low.


Payton College Preparatory High School 5

Posted December 15, 2011
- a student
Graduated class of 2008, and didn't appreciate Payton until I got to college. It is exactly what it's named, a college prep. And if you can't deal with the course load, or the "unsympathetic" teachers then go to a school that doesn't prepare you for what lies ahead. I went to Depaul and felt that my Payton experience prepared me for a much more challenging institution. Aside from the demanding curriculum, I loved and still love Payton. I still talk with current teachers and students. All of my best friends attended Payton as well. And as far as the comment about Payton not balancing intellegent and great people, that's completely inaccurate. Only a Payton graduate can understand the ways in which Payton made us great. Love the teachers. Love the opportunites. Love the school.

Payton College Preparatory High School 3

Posted March 16, 2011
- a community member
What a great school and curriculum. What fantastic teachers. What nice chairs, laptops, and equipment. They should all be like this. They aren't, as this is the flagship they take out-of-towners to, where even the private sector invests with internships, cool arts and activities; and it just happens to be in a gentrified area in the shadow of the now-defunct Cabrini Green. I love it and I hate it, I suppose; after seeing the neglect of many potentially good neighborhood schools in order to create a showpiece like Payton; and after seeing how many outside organizations participate in the deceit. A few of them should consider partnering with other schools just as deserving. I'm rating them average, if only because there's no telling how others would compare with the same outsized political and economic support.. (And I meant that about the teachers).

Payton College Preparatory High School 1

Posted February 23, 2011
- a community member
All I heard is the school is a great school if you really want to get your kids to the Ivy's. Not sure what the school vision is, but definitely they are attracting parent care about their kids academic (PERIOD). This drive the school focus, but I doubt they can balance between making an intellgent individual and a great person. A school full of highly competitive (IQ) intellgent body definitely lack of the diversity, and most importantly lack of an environment for young people to dvelope their element of PASSION. IT IS THE CHOICE THE PARENT HAVE TO TAKE; BUT RATHER IT IS A GOOD CHOICE FOR THE KID then it is also a choice.


Payton College Preparatory High School 5

Posted November 24, 2010
- a student
im a sophmore right now at walter payton and i have to say i really do love my school. sometimes the work is challenging and i feel stressed but its all worth it in the end. Not to mention I have great teachers and friends that can help with my problems im having. Its alot of hard work but when you see you test results and you score higher than 87% of the kids in your state you feel a sort of accomplishment and know that its because of WPCP. GO GRIZZLIES!!!!!!! Class of 2013 <3

Payton College Preparatory High School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
I graduated from Payton, i love my school. They have awesome curriculum, students who want to learn, and amazing opportunities. I saw fellow students travel to Ghana; Granada, Spain; Prague; Hungary; France; China; Japan and the list goes on

Payton College Preparatory High School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers, great atmosphere and great school, wouldnt want to be anywhere else.


Payton College Preparatory High School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a teacher
Payton College prep is an amazing school with an outstanding international and global focus. From Ghana to Beijing, Payton's focus continues to stretch the globe. This $20,000 can help them go even further.

Payton College Preparatory High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
It's an awesome school. I'm so glad I go here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Payton College Preparatory High School
1034 North Wells Street, Chicago, IL  60610
(773) 534-0034
Last modified Payton College Preparatory High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Payton College Preparatory High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top