Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public charter
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 600
Before care: No
After care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


LEARN Romano Butler 1

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
If you are looking for a quality education for your child with a staff that actually cares for them DO NOT send your child/children to the Romano Butler campus. Initially the school was great, as the staff changed the school has went down hill. The communication is horrendous. I find myself on the phone with the staff at least once a week trying to help them calculate my daughters grades. The teachers are sloppy with the education. They don't take time to properly prepare for report cards as my daughter and son had the exact same reviews verbatim. Its overall a mess and the CEO doesn't respond to your complaints.

LEARN Romano Butler 5

Posted January 16, 2015
- a parent
love it all the worker there work together to help the children do the best that they can do and more One big family.


LEARN Romano Butler 5

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
I love the Excel campus. The teachers and principal are the best. I love the open lines of communication.
2 people found this helpful

LEARN Romano Butler 1

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
Romano Butler use to be a great school but it is becoming worser and worser each year,the assistant principal bribes the kids, she is more worried about the performing arts in the school than the academics,more and more kids are transfering
1 person found this helpful

LEARN Romano Butler 1

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
I have three kids that attends school at Romano Butler. My Children have been attending this school for the past 4 years. over the years this school has changed a lot the staff are having a fashion show while the kids are getting out of control and grades are steady dropping, while the principal is always got her hands out talking about give me the money. It's time for my kids to go and get learn out of my pockets...
1 person found this helpful


LEARN Romano Butler 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attends the Hunter Perkins campus, I love this campus. When the children enter the building every morning the principal is there to greet them by shaking there hands and make sure they are starting there day on a good note. If for some reason they seem to be having some issues, she the pulls them to the side to see how she can help. Once it seems the situation has been turned around she dhakes there hand and send them on there way. So far so good, the school and staff have been very informative, and keeping us abreast of issues both inside and outside of school. I am very pleased with the interaction between my daughter's teacher with us, we are very pleased thus far and feel we made the right decision by coosing Learn Hunter Perkins for our childs source of eeducational learning.

LEARN Romano Butler 1

Posted May 05, 2013
- a teacher
Don't send your children to LEARN. If you seek a quality education for your child, go elsewhere. This establishment is more like a 3 ring circus than an educational institution. The students are no longer disciplined for their actions; they spend numerous hours a day in a room governed by a pseudo-"warden" and NOT in a classroom learning. The majority of the teachers are great but will not remain and are desperate to leave. Nobody is happy at this "school." The administrators are a joke. If you request help, it generally takes days to receive action. They are simply too busy cleaning up the numerous messes than to aid their teachers in becoming better at their jobs. Students are bribed with various trinkets in addition to more valuable items in order to work hard on standardized tests. Their is also a huge racial divide at the school. Students have poor role models in the support staff whom are unable to provide a positive influence on these young minds. Instead, they choose to perpetuate the stereotype, thereby furthering as opposed to closing the achievement gap. Long story short: don't send your kids to LEARN Campbell. You'd be much better off ANYWHERE else!
1 person found this helpful

LEARN Romano Butler 1

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
The quality of this school has really failed. They continue to change principal like every year. The new principal ms.johnson was great at learn when she was not in leadership meaning she showed she cared before she became a principal.Now all she cared about is parking her lexus across the street in front of the school showing her students her rims when alot of students need help to be on track with there reading and math. Then they charge for there summer school which only for 2 weeks what can a kid learn in 2 weeks and couldnt learn in a year.
1 person found this helpful


LEARN Romano Butler 3

Posted January 05, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been attending LEARN Excel Charter School for three years now. The campus on Congress Pkwy. Academically its a good school, I love it! However, the staff is NOT on one accord! The leadership staff doesn't listen to the concerns of the parents and students. The concerns fall on deaf ears! The staff do work together!!!!!!!! The turnover rate is extremely high! A child needs stability! Teachers are leaving in the middle of the year, there's a new principle every year, its ridiculous! My child will be going to a different school next year!
1 person found this helpful

LEARN Romano Butler 5

Posted November 28, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been at Learn for 3 years now. She did 2 years of PreK (she had a fabulous teaching team Ms. Bander and Mrs. Brown), they prepared her for 2nd grade and she was only going to Kindergarten. I love this school, I think it is one of the best schools on the Westside of Chicago and if you are in need of a school that will keep your child on target and help them to be successful and independent, your look is over. Learn Charter School (Romano Butler Campus) is the place you are looking for :)
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

LEARN Romano Butler
1132 South Homan Avenue, Chicago, IL  60624
(773) 722-0200
Last modified LEARN Romano Butler is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
LEARN Romano Butler Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top