Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 1,486
 

2 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

9 reviews of this school


Aspira Charter Schools 1

Posted May 26, 2015
- a parent
Speaking specifically about Aspira Early College, I want to start off by saying that name is a joke. It should be called Aspira Late Kindergarten. The administration is pathetic. The gangbanging students get to roam the halls and somehow still pass their classes, but a hard-working student who was hospitalized for a week has Fs and no mercy? Teachers leave left and right. Special Ed classrooms have been left MONTHS without a teacher. Constant trouble-makers are given endless chances and minor, VERY VERY MINOR, consequences. Good students leave or give up here. This is NOT a college prep school. This is a joke. Why should students be rewarded for doing the very basic of what they are supposed to be doing, while the good students are forgotten and never recognized? I know of one student who was on the soccer team, despite never being in class??? How does that even work? And more often than not, if you have a question for administration, it will never be answered. Literally, send your kid anywhere else.

Aspira Charter Schools 1

Posted October 20, 2014
- a community member
I recently attended a 7-8 grade volleyball game at the Aspira middle school campus on Leland Ave. Students were out of control, foul mouth, disrespectful and security guards were oblivious. Must be the "norm" for this school. Very sad! Stay away, terrible atmosphere.


Aspira Charter Schools 1

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
Aspira inc of IL. is a charter school that has many problems with its faculty and students.The faculty members are always offering extra help and never seem to follow thru on those promises.The school seems to turn a blind eye to the violence it has occuring in its schools especially Aspira Early College Prep.Alot of the students are gang related and some of the faculty were gang related in there early years aswell.The city would be better off closing these schools and using those funds to upgrade the existing schools that could use those funds properly in the education of good students willing to learn.I was very dissapointed that i transfered my straight A student into there school system expecting a real college prep enviornment and the experience is anything but.I am glad the school year is almost over so i can transfer my child out of this disfunctional school.

Aspira Charter Schools 1

Posted March 25, 2012
- a parent
ASPIRA Inc. of IL is a terribly run organization, whose high schools are failing and making no progress. They do not offer any advanced courses, so students cannot receive an appropriate level of instruction; fast kids are constantly bored, and slower kids can't keep up. ASPIRA schools also allow students who fail all of there classes to move on with the next year's classes, which creates many problems in the classroom. ASPIRA does not even provide books for most classes! Over 50% of teachers leave each year from AEC and Mirta! ASPIRA Early College High School currently has a principal with no experience working at the high school level, and little experience with the American education system. Yolanda Mijangos spent many years teaching elementary levels in Mexico, and then found her way into the ASPIRA organization, where she was pushed up as an assistant principal of Haugan Middle School. One year later, she became the principal of AEC, after the CEO, Jose Rodriguez, fired the only capable principal ASPIRA has ever had. These schools will remain dysfunctional until real principals are put into place, proper resources are provided, and experienced teachers are retained.

Aspira Charter Schools
no rating

Posted January 19, 2009
- a student
School is horrible! i went there for about 3 weeks and everything was very disorganized. i did not understand anything that was going on and that in the school i transfered from i was in ap and in honors classes bein a sophmore. but i know that some teachers did try to teach but the students made it really hard to progress and move on to a next lesson. the only good thing about the school being runned by latinos is that they do really care about the students. because thats how we are with each other. i think if it gets alot of help in the education area it would be a great school because the teachers did care and the administration. no fights at all, not even arguements. but school is all about education and since it lacked very badly in it. it is not a good school.


Aspira Charter Schools
no rating

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
Mirta Ramirez HS is currently sharing space with a public grammar school after their old location was shut down by the fire dept. The students are constantly harassed by the security guards. The school offers no AP classes so students are not prepared to attend college. Parents offer to volunteer but are never contacted by the Aspira organization that runs the school. All of the good teachers left this year due to zero support from the Aspira administration. Only nieghborhood children attend this school because their parents believe the false promises of Aspira. Most of the students that attend are low income minority kids who desperately need a good education.

Aspira Charter Schools
no rating

Posted March 14, 2008
- a student
Mirta Ramirez High School has been a nightmare back and forth. If it's not for it's great teachers, this school will have gone straight to the bottom. This school does not offer gym classes, and as we students need 2 credits of gym, they pile up two so called gym/health classes which does not help at all with the students being active in any sort. We don't have an actual gym teacher; we are thought by a former computer teacher. Um!! there's no comparison at all from gym to computers, so we don't experience the real thrill of having gym classes. But at the other hand, we do have a handfull of great teachers and advicers that care more about its students than the 'school' itself. Students are rarely informed of what's really going on with the school. No help nor support from principal for seniors. Sad I Know...

Aspira Charter Schools 2

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
Mirta Ramirez School offers no honors classes or after school activities. Teachers leave mid year with no warning or explanation to students or parents. Students use old computers and have no internet access. The Aspira Organization boasts that their schools have PTO's & after school activities for students & workshops for parents all of which is false. The students & parents set up a PTO last year but there has been zero support from Aspira. We had a great principal, asst principal and senior counselor who were all fired in June. Two teachers quit at the beginning of the year and they have yet to be replaced. The students are the ones who are suffering through all this turmoil. Parents are trying to support the school but this is impossible when Aspira will not listen to the students, teachers or parents.


Aspira Charter Schools 2

Posted January 03, 2007
- a parent
School doesn't offer gym, music or art. Need to improve quality of teachers and classes offered. Students deserve a school building they can be proud of. Principal needs to recruit and keep teachers who will not leave during the first month of school. Children who are smart are not challenged and students who need extra help do not get it. Unfortunately, the parents do not participate as they should. Those who offer to help are never encouraged to do so.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Aspira Charter Schools
1711 North California Avenue, Chicago, IL  60647
(773) 252-0970
Last modified Aspira Charter Schools is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Aspira Charter Schools Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top