Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

CICS Basil

Charter | K-8 | 724 students

We are best known for commitment to academic success.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2014

This school does not have a library. This is a travesty. What message is that sending? Literacy is the key to a sound education. Well-meaning adults can easily destroy a child's love of reading: stop them reading what they enjoy, or give them worthy-but-dull books that you like, the 21st-century equivalents of Victorian "improving" literature. You'll wind up with a generation convinced that reading is uncool and worse, unpleasant. One way to destroy a child's love of reading, of course, is to make sure there are no books of any kind around. Literacy is more important than ever it was, in this world of text and email, a world of written information. We need to read and write, we need global citizens who can read comfortably, comprehend what they are reading, understand nuance, and make themselves understood. Libraries really are the gates to the future. So it is unfortunate that CICS Basil sees not having a library as an easy way to save money, without realizing that they are stealing from the future to pay for today. They are closing the gates that should be open. Instead, they are focused on data and test results.


Posted June 17, 2013

This school is a waste of time!!!!! I wouldn't send my pet here!!!! Most of the teacher's that I was in contact with were unprofessional and immature!!! This school doesn't use textbooks, just worksheets and packets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

This a okay school and the school I go to and it on a level 2


Posted April 18, 2012

Today, my son was accepted to this school via lottery. I have a bittersweet reaction to this. Although I did have hopes of him attending a CICS School, I was hoping that he got in to the other higher ranking schools. Basil was our 4th choice and because 2nd grade wasn't being offered at the other campuses he was placed here. I guess because of the probation status Basil have, I'm a little leery about the school's academic ability. I am transferring my son from a Private School because he was not challenged there. He is waitlisted for the Magnet and Classical Schools and so, in doing my research I thought the CICS was the way to go. I will give Basil a try, that's if I don't hear from any of the Classical or Magnet Schools first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

To the parent who asked what Middle School has students walk in a sigle file line, facing front, in their own square, well the answer to your question is most middle schools! Also, if they did not place emphasis on uniforms, hair styles, etc. there would be absolutely no order in the school. Academics can only take place if structure exist! I had the opportunity to visit the school briefly, and I cant speak about the absence of the library but I will say that the teachers do have some very high expectations for the students and that is very admirable. I had the opportunity to briefly work with an all male class and they were well behaved for the most part and very attentive. Ms. Hardy is very nice and approachable.


Posted April 14, 2011

I had the pleasure of working on a temporary basis in the main office with an outside firm at Basil Elementary School and I found the teachers, staff and principal to be outstanding and serious about their role as educators. You must have order in the school and the classrooms or the children will be out of control. The teachers, staff and principal always displayed true leadership skills while in class and even in the hall. During my short time I saw kids being given speech lessons and one-on-one time by instructors to help bring grades up. I saw an awesome music room with instruments (are you really complaining about buying a book?) I'm no longer employed as a temp at this school but I firmly believe that it is a wonderful school.


Posted March 16, 2011

theater/drama, dance and yearbook? No, they don't exist. A library? Nope, none. They have a book of rooms that students aren't allowed to check out. My kid had to buy his own novel because they don't have books or novel sets his class. Behavior is ridiculous. They don't let the kids be kids. What middle school walks students in a "silent single file in, in your square, facing forward"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

This is my child first year at Basil; she is here for convenience (it s close to home). I feel the teachers are trying their best, however the school is more focused on school policy (uniform codes), and fundraising efforts than academics. The curriculum seems to change daily; to the point the students never master any skills (math, literacy, etc.). I feel this school has potential, however I am not sure if the program needs a new direction, and focus on one curriculum instead of changing each year as it has in the past. Emphasis needs to be on the basics (reading, writing, arithmetic s), and not on school uniforms, shoes, hair styles, etc. A plus for the school is that it does offer sports, art, music, Spanish, cheerleading, dance, chess, etc, and helps to develop social skills for the students. My daughter has made friends in the program, and loves her teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

The teachers at Basil work tirelessly to ensure the students receive the best education possible. Our school year and school days are longer than most and we make every minute count.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • One of the 2 Chicago Charter schools that made ISAT gains for 4 years in a row
  • First year students met their NWEA targets in reading and math (2009)

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dayna Sanders
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (773) 778-9456

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1816 W. Garfield Blvd.
Chicago, IL 60609
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 778-9455

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT