Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 599
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted July 25, 2015
- a teacher
Some students are very respectful; most of the students act like the teachers are there to serve them when and where they want. Teachers were not respected at all.

Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 25, 2015
- a teacher
Depended on the teacher; some gave a lot, some not at all. There were very limited resources at the school, mostly limited to photocopies.


Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 25, 2015
- a teacher
Students are not allowed to learn from their failures. Instead, they are coddled by the staff and administration and told just how special they are. They students that attend college find out really quick just how special they are not and many of them don't make it past their first year. Many students return to the school and inform some staff members that they feel cheated in that they were not properly prepared for the rigors and demands of college.

Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted July 25, 2015
- a teacher
There is a culture of cheating in this school that is never addressed. Students were caught cheating on one of the mandated standardized exams (using their cell phones to find answers while the teacher was searching the internet). This is just one example of students cheating on exams, papers, etc. The only thing that was done was to just talk about it and throw hands up not knowing what to do. As a teacher you would get in trouble for failing a student for cheating, especially if they were part of the elite group being groomed to promote the school.

Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 25, 2015
- a teacher
All most the the teachers in this school care about is test prep. If it is not preparing students for testing, then they deem it useless.


Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter 2

Posted July 02, 2015
- a teacher
This is a high school in name only. There is really no variety when it come to classes. Everything at this place seems like it was planned at the last minute.

Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter 5

Posted February 20, 2013
- a community member
My friend's doughter goes to that school. They really like it. It is safest school in this area. Staff is very dedicated.She was complaining about foods.

Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter 5

Posted February 18, 2013
- a teacher
I am a teacher at this school. This is the best school in the Rogers Park area in terms of safety, success, and test scores. We offer a lot of extra curricular activities and clubs for our students. We have an amazing robotics department. There are about 20 students in this club. Next year, we will expend it to 50 students. Come join us so you can qualify for $16 million in scholarship opportunities.


Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
The staff is highly dedicated. Based on my daughter's experience at CMSA, I would say that most teachers, administrators, and support staff take the time to get to know individual students and make an effort to work with their strengths and around their weaknesses. My daughter, who is going to be a senior this year, can be quite difficult at times. However, even she agrees that the CMSA has succeeded in creating a caring and nurturing environment.

Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter 5

Posted November 06, 2011
- a community member
Actually They don't show lessons from Youtube. I'm a student from this school since 6th grade and i love this school. They teach us real good. They get their lessons from books and their own knowledge not from youtube.. (:

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter
7212 North Clark Street, Chicago, IL  60626
(773) 761-8960
Last modified Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chicago Math & Sci Elementary Charter Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top