Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 176

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Margaret Mary Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
We have a new Principal and she is fabulous! Our school has always had a strong foundation for learning and now we are so excited to have Mrs. Laurie Konicek lead and refreshen the team. Her focus on academics and technology is exactly what our school what our school needs to keep it one of the best in the neighborhood.

St Margaret Mary Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2012
- a parent
I have (3) children at SMM that began with the Pre K program. St Margaret Mary has a tremendous focus on developing successful students and faithful people. The community of Teachers, Parents and Staff are talented and nurturing group that have created exactly what we are looking for in the education of our children. Students that graduate from SMM are prepared to enjoy great success at top area high schools to include Loyola Academy, Regina, St. Ignatius and many others. The combination of Academic, Faith, Sports and Extracurricular activities establishes a well rounded environment of opportunity in which any child can succeed.


St Margaret Mary Elementary School 4

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
My son is in PreK at SMM and we have been very happy. The staff is extremely dedicated and caring and the community of families has been nothing but warm and welcoming. Though it is a private school, the tuition as well as the cost for before and after school care is very affordable. For those living in Rogers Park or on Chicago's far north side, I highly recommend that you consider SMM for your children!

St Margaret Mary Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2012
- a parent
this school is the village you want to help you raise your family. It is in Chicago so we have all the benefits of a big city--cultural diversity, cultural events, robust programming of all things--and yet it is every bit a small town--we look out for each other, help with our kids, pitch in to make the community better. this school has all the intangibles--they teach our kids manners, civility, concern for our community and also provides the tools to be successful leaders, supporters, facilitators, citizens. don't forget the extended care program, hot lunches, athletics, and FUN!

St Margaret Mary Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter has been a student at St. Margaret Mary for 3 years now. We love SMM and so does she. It has a wonderful warm environment with caring and committed teachers... and on top of that, this years graduating class had great results getting into some very impressive high schools. The older students are such great kids. In addition to academics, the school succeeds in teaching so many values that are no longer very common in today's world. At SMM, the big kids don't pick on the little ones - they help them! Everyone knows each other and they all respect each other. Very refreshing!


St Margaret Mary Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2012
- a parent
We love this school! Teachers are wonderful, class sizes are small & the extended care program (ecp) is amazing & inexpensive! We were only looking for an all day pre-school, 4 years ago & we're still there.

St Margaret Mary Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2012
- a parent
We love SMM - it's the best of both worlds. It's a caring, yet challenging environment. The class sizes are small, which is wonderful for individualized attention. The focus is on the formation of the whole person. There are many activities to supplement classroom instruction, including athletics and after school groups (chess, karate, etc.). Wonderful family environment - it definitely has a community feel.

St Margaret Mary Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2012
- a parent
My 4th grade son has been attending St. Margaret Mary since K and we've been happy since the first day. His teachers are wonderful, caring and challenging. There are a lot of great, active parents in this school who really care about all the kids and doing their best to make the school successful.


St Margaret Mary Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2012
- a parent
We Love St. Margaret Mary School. The small class size helps make the kids' voices known as well as the parents' voices. The teachers are amoung the best in the business. I feel very safe and comforted that my child is getting not only a great education, she is becoming a good person.

St Margaret Mary Elementary School 5

Posted April 06, 2012
- a parent
St. Margaret Mary is a great little secret on the North side of Chicago. It is the most loving environment you will find for learning in the city. My kids have been going to the school since pre-k and are now in 6th and 4th grades. I consider my children relatively bright and the teachers in the school have recognized that by providing more challenging work and special attention in all subjects. The principal is responsive to ideas from the parents and continues to make improvements. It may not be the newest school out there, but the foundation for learning and the extra activities they can offer is amazing for a smaller school. They offer science, art, band, choir, math and ccience club, all athletics, before and after school care and after school programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Margaret Mary Elementary School
7318 North Oakley Avenue, Chicago, IL  60645
(773) 764-0641
Last modified St Margaret Mary Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Margaret Mary Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top