Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chicago Grammar School

Private | PK-7 | 72 students

We join rigorous traditional learning w/ the creativity of progressive practice.

 
 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $275,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 23, 2013

CGS understands that all children learn differently and are open to assisting where ever possible. The school is supportive toward complete independent testing of a child's learning strengths and challenges. Numerous teachers have years of experience with Learning Differences, whilst some need support and education on the specific manifestations of particular types of learners. CGS does give allowances when attention issues are present, balanced with a realistic approach that all children need to learn to cope with the "real world". Strategies to help support the child and family are developed in partnership with the school. In summary, this is a warm and kind environment to be in when you find out your child has Learning Differences to manage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

My daughter, who is generally shy and who we would not categorize as brilliant, is in JK (junior kindergarten) and was in preschool half days last year. To give you a sense of her personality, she's a typical 4 year old girl; she cares a ton more about princesses and Barbie than puzzles, and she is quiet in class. She came home this week and out of the blue explained to us how chlorophyll works in plants and how water evaporates in the atmosphere and creates clouds. The art projects are fantastic, and the art projects always relate to what the class is learning. She has a bunch of good friends from the school, even in different grades. All of the schoolchildren, regardless of their age, seem to be all around good kids. All in all, a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

Chicago Grammar School is outstanding. In the three years my son has attended, the school has moved forward and each change has added to the quality of the facility and educational experience. The curriculum is the best offered by any private or public school in Chicago (in my opinion and that of educators I consulted). The kids absorb the content of this amazing curriculum from wonderful teachers who subdivide the already small classes by ability so that each child is challenged and can succeed on his or her level -- whether that is far above, at, or below grade level. Despite the finely tuned teaching and testing by ability level, the kids study and play together across age groups and grades. As my son says, he knows everyone in the school. The comment from 2009 regarding the principal only teaching his son's grade is not accurate now, and has not been at least for the past 3 years. Phillip Jackson is an amazing educator who teaches multiple grades and subjects each year. The kids love him and love every subject he teaches. Communication from and to the teachers and administrators is constant (through the intellishare web site) and easy (through e-mail or a phone call).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

This is our first year at CGS after transferring from another private school. We wanted it all. Art, music, daily physical ed and top academics. We found it at CGS. We continue to be impressed with the positive atmosphere and our daughters progress in these two months has been amazing. The class sizes are half of other private schools and she loves going to school every day much more than last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

Our daughter has recently begun her second year at CGS and we are happily secure in our certainty that this is the right school for her. It is so important to us to have the serenity of knowing that each morning we leave our daughter in an environment where she is understood, stimulated and engaged with respect, kindness and sensitivity. We were immediately impressed with the intellectual and cultural level of the school's leadership and staff. CGS truly offers a well rounded education stemming from a classical curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

Chicago Grammar offers a first class education. My kids are now entering their third year at the school. Their progress has been amazing. The teachers are great at reaching very student students, and the administration has some really innovative ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

When we were looking for a school, we wanted one where the children were at the center" and their individual needs / abilities were considered, supported and developed. CGS is such a school. It instills an amazing love of learning and encourages the children to think and express their opinions and thoughts. CGS surrounds their students in an integrated program so what they do in Language Arts flows onto Ancient History, then Art and so forth. The specific needs of the children are considered and the school is committed to working with the parents and the children in a professional, caring and honest manner. Communication is open and reliable and the extended school community is friendly, kind and diverse. The teachers are amazing! They are caring, thoughtful, enthusiastic, fair and really smart. CGS is a unique school. Consider it as your child is also unique.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2012

Incredibly impressive up-and-coming PK-8th grade school. I'm convinced this school will soon be impossible to get into. Academically it's already on part with Latin, Lab, and Parker. Their test scores are unbelievable! Every single child scored above grade-level in math (some were up to 4 grades advanced). Yet somehow they also find time to do art every day, go on field trips, and have fun while learning (our child loves it!). The emphasis here is on learning, not memorizing. That's why the curriculum is so integrated. All subjects relate to each other and are based on different periods of history. It's brilliant, and the kids learn so much. The school just expanded into new space, and while it's still small, it's got lots to offer. If you want a Latin, Parker, or Lab-caliber education without the social pressures, you can't beat CGS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

We did a ton of research into private schools, and came away feeling that CGS was one of the very best--if not the best--private school in the city. The teachers are caring, incredibly smart, and highly motivated. The school has hired several fantastic new teachers recently, and it shows. Then there's the curriculum. It's amazing--easily the best in the city. Reggio in the early years, then classical after that--it combines the best of progressive and rigorous approaches. Singapore math (by far the best math program in the city--check out their test scores and talk to PhD mathematicians, as I did), integrated history, classic literature, Latin, formal logic, art every day (taught by a working artist!), music by a renowned jazz musician--this school has it all except for a large facility and some of the "bells and whistles" that are frankly not important anyway. The administration is warm and caring and incredibly communicative--they truly love this school, and it shows. Our only initial hesitation was its small size, but we now think of the size as a blessing--our son gets unmatched personal attention. The school recently expanded its space and looks terrific. A true gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

This school is wonderful and unique in Chicago. Classical education (see school website to learn more), small class size, integration of coursework and INCREDIBLE art/project work. All of our expectations have been met, and even surpassed. The history program is amazing! The topics are woven into art/project time, literature, music, even science. The math program is very strong and the children have been testing at the gifted level. Due to the small class size, the teachers can and do work one-on-one with each child and accommodate strengths and weaknesses so the child is not bored or overwhelmed. Each child gets special attention. Outstanding teachers. A composer for music, a working artist for art/project time (what these kids produce is unbelievable!). A program that ensures the child is developing and using all parts of the brain. And the kids have so much fun!! My child LOVES going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

The school has many qualities. it is adaptive and child-focused, feature a fascinating curriculum and exposes children to arts like no other. I love that the school teaches through history and immerses children in a topic. Children are taught in an environment that values excellence rather than the status quo. Curriculum is often tailored to the needs of a specific child. The results garnered by the school in the past are very impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2010

I love this school. The teacher is more than happy to discuss my knowledge of my child. In many educational settings, parents are ignored as outsiders or interference. I always feel welcomed into the classroom. The style of education is unusual because everything relates to everything else. I love to watch my daughter show me how she was taught to figure things out. The extreme individualization means that each child is met at his own level and taught at his comfort zone. It is rare for every child in a room to be doing the exact same thing. The facilities are too small (although they will be expanding to a new space soon) and the school needs a dedicated outdoor/large motor area and a gym attached to the school itself and not shared with the nearby college because there is almost no gym equipment appropriate to young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

Parents who really want to have their students at one of the well established private schools (e.g. Latin, Lab, FWP) and "settle" for CGS because of the availability hurdle of other schools may be disappointed. CGS resources are far less than those schools so you won't currently find a recurring public lecture series or interscholastic athletics. Appreciate it for what it is and accept it for what it is not. Academically, I'm convinced most any child, will be able to excel here. So far they have a very good track record. Yet, don't let the high test scores and the advanced material scare you into thinking a transfer or entering child has to be as far ahead in their development as current students. Teachers adapt material to each student's current level rather than forcing all students to be on par with a rigorous equivalency schedule.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

I think that this school has some truly remarkable qualities. The curriculum is advanced and challenging. The principal and founder of this school is very passionate about providing a top-quality education to the students. However, we shared the same concerns as a previous parent who posted on 3/31/09. My greatest concern was that the teachers (not including the amazing art teacher) did not share the principal's passion and drive. Our daughter is now attending FWParker and we have noticed a pronounced difference in the quality of teaching in her new teacher, as well as an incredible energy in the overall teaching staff. Again, the principal of this school is amazing, but he seems to prefer to teach whichever grade his own son is in and we felt bad that our daughter would not be able to gain access to his incredible teaching style -- a style not emulated by the other teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

We have two kids who attend this school and we couldn't be happier. They love the learning environment, which we have found to be extremely supportive and nuturing. The school has such a low student-to-teacher ratio that the kids get a lot of individualized attention, something that the other private schools we looked at could not offer. Our kids are challenged without being overwhelmed. We also love the other parents that we've met there and feel part of a close knit, fun group. We highly recommend this school and are so happy to have found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

We were not happy with this school and took our child out after a year. The preschool is OK, but the environment in the oldest grades is competitive and there is no feeling of teamwork or joy in learning. Some of the front desk staff are unprofessional and difficult. Most elementary children only stay one year except for a core who don't take well to new kids. Some of the language arts content is way too advanced for the maturity level of elementary aged children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

I used to send my kid to this school. The pre-school is outstanding. The level of detail in the artwork and individual attention paid to each student in such small classes is incredible and beyond compare. However, we ended up sending our child to a much more established private school simply because we were unclear about the direction of CGS. Would it go through high school or end at 8th grade? Will class sizes get bigger? What other sports/athletics/clubs will it offer? None of these questions were answered for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

CGS is everything a school should be: challenging, individualized, interesting to both child and parents so that the materieal is engaging, excellent communication with families, daily physical activity and free time, an amazing artist-in-residence so that the children learn art in the most amazing ways rather than as a 'subject', positive discipline and strengths-focused teaching! Plus the Jacksons clearly care about each student, this is a life's mission and it shows in every aspect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2006

The full circle level of learning at CGS is amazing, the reading pared with art and culture is something to experience! You just do not find this level of teaching everywhere. It is quickly apparent just how much planning and experience has gone into this curriculum. Phil Jackson's talents and passion for teaching are a hidden treasure- hopefully to stay only here for a long time to come. The art and computing teachings surpass any program out there! CGS is a quiet hidden treasure, for now. To be a part of it has to be the greatest thing you could do for your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 51%
Black 15% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 4%
Two or more races 12% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 0%
Hispanic 3% 24%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Polish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Polish
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Phillip D Jackson II
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Running Club
  • Swim Club
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$14000 - $19000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 North Franklin Street #104
Chicago, IL 60610
Phone: (312) 944-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bennett Day School
Chicago, IL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT