Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lindblom Math & Science Academy High School

Public | 7-12 | 907 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2014

Lindblom is an excellent school. As an alum, I must say my experience at Lindblom has been one of the most captivating experience I have ever had. I attended Lindblom from 7th- 12th grade. I was that average student. But I received so much help, from teachers and fellow students. This is one of the greatest schools in the city. Hopefully when it comes time for my daughter to pick a High School, this will be one of her top choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

This beautiful historic landmark building, has a wonderful faculty. The teachers seem enthusiastic to teach and are great with the kids. They are supportive and make themselves available for tutoring. With less than 1,000 students, the classrooms are not overcrowded and teachers get to know students. As a parent who is not from that neighborhood, safety was a concern. It is in a rough neighborhood, BUT, security is always present, a CPD officer is always around, and there have been no safety issues inside the school with the students. Classes are challenging and takes some getting used to with 100 minute classes ( 4 periods a day). No regular classes on Wednesdays but instead have colloquium classes in which students receive extra support/ help with their work. This school should not be overlooked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

Lindblom is a good school. The teachers tend to cater to the smart students. The school is not very good for the average student. The teachers could care less about the average student. There is no support at Lindblom if you are an average student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

i attended this school in 1979,and was to graduate in 1983,but i moved away in my senior year...i must say that it was a great school then...very challenging,but it brought out the best in me,although my personal life was in chambles,i looked forward to going to school each day,,,my homeroom teacher was mr. golden,and my two favorite teachers were mr. aitichen(argitechial drafting),and ms. greeney(commercial art).....thank you lindbloom for a great education


Posted May 6, 2012

My daughter just graduated from this excellent school in June. During her 4 years, not only was I extremely impressed with the challenging curriculum Lindblom has, but also with the very caring teachers, staff and principal. At graduation, there were several hundred students there and Mr. Mather knew each child's name; when I jokingly asked him about that, we replied that these are his kids; and that was so heartwarming for me to hear because there are a lot of schools in which the kids are just numbers. Wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2012

I'm so happy my kids are going here. Yes, the neighborhood is depressed, but the staff is very cognizant of the dangers, and they do everything they can to keep the kids safe. This includes offering shuttle bus service, and walking kids to bus stops to wait with them. (The security guards walk to the corner with the kids, then pretend not to know them, just as any teenager would like from their parent:) The teachers and administrators are very responsive to parent suggestions and concerns, and really seem to be thinking about the best way to design and run a school/classroom. The school is not very ethnically diverse, and is mainly African-American, but as one of the few white folks, I can only say we have always felt welcome, and our kids haven't ever felt negatively singled out. Besides good staff, the students seem smart and respectful. The test scores have been dramatically improving over the few years it has been a selective enrollment school, and every year they add interesting new classes according to student interest. In addition to strong math and science curriculum, we have been pleasantly surprised by excellent arts and languages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

I have recently graduated from Lindblom Math and Science Academy and the reality is that the school is excellent and the workload is very challenging . The school has some of the best teachers in the area, who not only teach the students, but learn from the students as well. The teachers are very considerate and continue to push the students to do the absolute best. The teachers want you to succeed in your classes. Lindblom has provided me with opportunities that I would have never been able to obtain at other high schools. From attending Lindblom, I was able to take rigorous, all honors and AP level courses that have definitely help me in college. Secondly, I was able to take Mandarin Chinese and was given the opportunity to study in Shanghai, China with a scholarship.(Not many students are given this opportunity, especially on a high school level). The only thing that I did not like about the school was its limited diversity. I strongly believe the reason why this school never gets any credit or any attention is because it is located in the SouthSide of Chicago and in a fairly bad neighborhood. Honestly, It is just as great as any other selective enrollment school in Chicago.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2011

Our daughter is happily entering her 2nd year (8th Grade) in Lindblom's Academic Center program, after attending both private and public elementary schools. As others have noted the coursework certainly is challenging, but my daughter has been fortunate to find a school that forces students to strive for academic achievement while also providing a welcoming (and even nurturing) environment for students who are intellectually gifted yet still have learning and/or organizational challenges. For our daughter, I doubt there is a better public or private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

I'm also a freshmen at Lindblom, and I must say the cousework is challenging and it is alot. But, in the end I'm really glad that I chose this school because I think it will prepare me for college and beyond. The principal is caring and he, unlike a lot of principals, will listen to what you have to say and he makes our school fun! Our teachers are absoloutly wonderful. They come early in the morning and stay late to help you with work, because trust me you will need some help at one point. The courses are rigorous and challenging as I said before and we get homework every day. Oh, did I mention teachers actually care! Lindblom is truly a wonderful option despite whre it's located. but please don't let the area detour you from such a wonderful school. Don't make the same mistake my parents almost did.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2009

I'm a freshaman here,and yes its alot of work. However challenge is good. I've only been here for three weeks & I've already learned so much,I am happy I chose to attend this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2009

My son is a sophomore at Lindblom and each year it gets better. The principal, faculty and staff are very committed. They arrive early and stay late in order to help the students. The rigorous, non-traditional curriculum will undoubtably prepare the students for success in college. When people question the safety of the neighborhood, I remind them that crime is everywhere. The security system at Lindblom helps to ensure student safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

My daughter is completing her third year at Lindblom after attending private elementary school. As a CPS teacher and a former CPS student who attended a selective enrollment school, I knew there were great public schools in Chicago, but this is truly a hidden gem! The principal is fabulous and the staff caring. The small student population gives students to experience more of what college is like than high school. The curriculum is rigorous, even my daughter says so! The facilities and activities are great. At how many schools do the faculty engage with students on their own time? The neighborhood was our chief concern. Lindblom's transportation to and from the train stations twice each morning and twice each afternoon alleviated that fear. How good is the school? My son has been in gifted since first grade. IfLindblom had been open when he was in high school., he would have attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

This school is so amazing it is good for young black kids. This school is just so good with its academy i love it!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2008

Our son is a freshman at Lindblom. We are very pleased with the open lines of commucation between the faculty, administration and parents. We are also pleased with the challenging curriculum. The buses to/from major transit locations make Lindblom a solid choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

This school is absolutely fabulou, reguardless of the surrounding neighborhood the school is outstanding
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black97%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income98%
Non-low income98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female99%
Male93%
Black96%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income96%
Non-low income96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black98%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income98%
Non-low income100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Black91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income94%
Non-low income93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female98%
Male92%
Black96%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income96%
Non-low income95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
Black87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income89%
Non-low income90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female92%
Male86%
Black88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income88%
Non-low income94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female75%
Male91%
Black78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income79%
Non-low income90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 73% 18%
Hispanic 23% 23%
White 2% 51%
Asian 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Alan Wesley Mather

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6130 South Wolcott Avenue
Chicago, IL 60636
Phone: (773) 535-9300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT