Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Suder Montessori Elementary Magnet School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 06, 2016
- a community member
The teachers care. It shows! One of my kid's "hated" a teacher because she pushed him and pushed him and he needed that. He needed those pushes.

Suder Montessori Elementary Magnet School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 06, 2016
- a community member
Homework is determined by each teacher and can be based on child's needs. Each kid learns differently.


Suder Montessori Elementary Magnet School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 06, 2016
- a community member
My child now understands he has to finish what he begins... School work, projects, reports. A skill that will follow him for the test of his life.

Suder Montessori Elementary Magnet School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 06, 2016
- a community member
The diversity of the children at Suder makes it easy for children to show empathy, and compassion. These children Have diverse family structures, cultures, demographics, from all over the city.

Suder Montessori Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted March 06, 2016
- a community member
My children have greatly benefited from attending this school, both academically and emotionally. The teachers, the parents, the administration LSC and PTA members all work together to make this school a community that can work for each child. CPS isn't doing well and there are cuts everywhere, bit then current principal, has somehow made Suder's budget work and all of the arts are still at Suder :) And, when people work together, as we do here at Suder, the children achieve and succeed!


Suder Montessori Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Montessori education was meant to public. Suder is a perfect example of what a diverse Montessori education should look like. We are grateful for the high quality teachers and welcoming community at Suder. Our voice is valued and we thoroughly enjoy a school community that cares. Our children are flourishing due to a strong literacy program and teacher's ability/curriculum focus on the individual child, not a series of test scores. Education is about guiding the child's natural enjoyment of discovery not forcing children to learn. Level ratings mean nothing - visit the school, talk with parents, students, staff, attend LSC meetings - help create something positive that will last a lifetime.

Suder Montessori Elementary Magnet School 5

Posted July 11, 2014
- a community member
We have had many years of great teachers at Suder, even though administration has changed. Like all schools, there will be a teacher that will move on in their career or will need to be let go. That has been less than 2 percent at Suder over the years. I find it sad that there are complaints that the school changed tiers or that the PTA isn't welcoming, when in fact it is parent involvement that makes a school great. Other great schools have parents there every day volunteering--this is why they are great. Get involved and make a commitment to your child'd education and things will change. One day a year is not enough. I day a week is what other parents at Tier 1 schools are giving. Remember only your hard work can make positive changes--it takes a village.

Suder Montessori Elementary Magnet School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
My child has been at this school sine she was three and now she is in 4th grade. Even through the changing of three principals, my child changing teachers every year (which is VERY unusual for Montessori schools) I STILL say that this school has been EXCELLENT for my daughter and I cannot imagine taking her anywhere else. Like every school, I as the parent have had to be very involved in the day to day and will continue to be until I feel that it is time to move on. This year marks our first 8th grade graduation since we became a magnet school. Everyone who are "worried" about our school slipping from tier 1 to tier 2 seem to forget that CPS warned that our scores would decline this year due to the shift to Common Core. Our scores will rise again and we will be back to stronger than ever if we keep working. That is why I stay in the PTA and stay informed through the LSC. Suder will be stronger than never.


Suder Montessori Elementary Magnet School 1

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
How are you gonna say (A parent) that they don't give out "A's" for good behavior, when that's exactly what I've been experiencing for the last 2 years. Not only have I had this experience, but two other parents have had the same experience. One parent has already removed their children and now another parent and I are removing our children. Don't say that it's a lie....just say that that has not been your experience. It is not a lie , IT IS A FACT. All anybody has to do is look at how the test scores have dropped and see how the school has went from a level 1 school to a level 2 school to see the truth. Pay attention potential parents, do thorough research before you make your decision, this is your child's education you're dealing with.....The school is DEFINITELY NOT what it used to be

Suder Montessori Elementary Magnet School 3

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
My child has attended Suder for a couple of years and I am pleased with her progress. My only complaint with the school is that you need to be part of the clique if you want to actually contribute to the PTA. You can join, but the oversight of the parents in charge is stifling. It is a shame, I get the feeling those parents believe there is enough family participation. What there is a lot of, is attrition at the Kindergarten level. Families that feel welcome would stay longer.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Suder Montessori Elementary Magnet School
2022 West Washington Boulevard, Chicago, IL  60612
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (773) 534-7685
Last modified Suder Montessori Elementary Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top