Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Old St. Marys School

Private | PK-8 | 360 students

We are best known for strong academic program.

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $270,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, November 20, 2014

If you have a lot of money or connections, you will do good at OSM. If not, they probably won't accept you. I guess if you are paying $8,000+ per student, you have to be well off to go there not to mention the building fund donation and all the other "donations" you have to make. This school is perfect for those families who are well to do and have extra money to give to the school. If you are middle class you don't fit in. It is far from diverse unless of course you are a rich black or hispanic. Go for the "interview" and see for yourself.


Posted January 7, 2013

Our daughter is now in kindergarten and previously attended OSM for two years of preschool. My wife and I can't say enough good things about this school, from the wonderful modern new building, to the excellent teachers, to the dedicated principal and staff, to the Catholic values taught there. But the best thing about OSM is the sense of community felt throughout ever aspect of the school. We are lucky to have such a wonderful school right in our neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

I am so thrilled that my daughter and our family are part of this wonderful diverse community. The new school building opened in September 2011 and watching how the student enrollment keeps growing is amazing. The teachers and administrators are highly skilled, devoted and caring and there is a wonderful network of involved parents. My daughter is looking forward to beginning her fifth year at OSM!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2010

OSM is a wonderful nurturing Catholic school which gets stronger each year as it adds grades and expands its extracurricular activities. I have two children that attend the school with my oldest in his fifth year there. While he is learning the fundamentals of reading, writing and math, he also is being taught critical thinking skills and Christian values that help him to think about the world he lives in. There are some physical constraints in the school but these should go away once the new building under construction is completed next year. The teachers are talented and committed. The parents are involved in every aspect of the school, from the Board to volunteering for recess. The school leadership has enhanced the curriculum and the after school programs. Most families live in the South Loop and that makes it a close knit but inviting neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I can't say enough good things about OSM. We have three children at OSM; our oldest has been at the school for five years. It is a caring, Catholic school and teaches children Catholic values. But is also offers a top-tier educational experience, with an innovative math and science curriculum. The teachers are fantastic: dedicated and committed, they model academic excellence. I quite simply can't imagine a better school for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

I was very disappointed in our welcome to this school as new transplants from another state. We enrolled our children -- all of whom are high academic achievers -- with very high hopes, but it was made very clear to us by school leadership within 2 days that our kids were not a good 'fit'. We were saddened, disappointed and upset by what should have been a more appropriate level of professionalism, and a more welcoming atmosphere for children adjusting to their very first relocation. We did have positive interactions with others on the school staff, including Ms. Julie, one of the pre-K teachers, so our experience should not reflect on the entire school. We transferred our children within 8 days. They are very happy at their new school and learning above grade level. Sorry to be negative here - I'm a very positive and optimistic person whose experience wasn't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I love Old St. Mary's because it is a family. They welcome your child as if they were a member of their family. It offers a exceptional curriculum for it's diverse students. The teachers are top-notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Old St. Mary's is a great school! School is growing and teathers are very nice. We are very happy to choose this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

Old St. Mary's is excellent! The teachers are nurturing and constantly thinking of new themes for homework, etc. The students are happy and considerate. As a non-catholic parent, I was a little concerned, but felt that coming from a bad situation in the public school system, I had no choice. This turned out to be the best choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 51%
Two or more races 20% 3%
Black 11% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Hispanic 6% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mary Lee Calihan, Ed.D.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (312) 386-1578

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Recycling club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 31, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


3 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
50
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1474 S. Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60605
Website: Click here
Phone: (312) 386-1560

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Daystar School
Chicago, IL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT