Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-12
Private
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 723

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Latin School Of Chicago Upper 5

Posted December 06, 2013
- a community member
Excellent school. Students advocating for themselves is highly emphasized and I found that the kids there knew how to deal with authority and build relationships. They leave well-equipped for college and job, having learned people skills as well as a vast load of knowledge. One of the perks of private schooling, Latin especially, is that lots of extra opportunities are provided to the kids too... if you choose to seize them, there's no doubt you'll go far. Some may be literally rich kids, but none of the snobby airs and haughtiness is present in the hallways.

Latin School Of Chicago Upper 5

Posted June 22, 2013
- a parent
My son's prior school went only till 8th grade; so it was necessary to compete for spots in either private or selective enrolment high schools. Despite years of panic, my son actually had several good choices including Northside and I.B, but ended up choosing Latin. He has never regretted his decision. I must admit, as parents, we were concerned that it could by socially challenging to enter a school where many had attended since JK; but the kids were quite welcoming, and he has made many great friends. Again, speaking as a parent, I couldn't be happier with the kids that comprise his circle of friends, they are, without exception smart, driven to succeed, yet empathetic and supportive of one another. I know Latin in the eyes of some, still has this image as just a place for "Rich kids"; and yes, my son does have some friends that come from great wealth, but some of his closest friends are attending based of financial aid, and it makes no difference. Its frowned upon to be too showy. The small class sizes are wonderful, if I text a member of the facility they will respond immediately, though they rather the kids self advocate. The teachers really know and care about the kids.


Latin School Of Chicago Upper 5

Posted April 13, 2013
- a community member
@ "Full of over-entitled... " Player hater alert!!! Whoop Whoop!!! Yo, don't hate the players, hate the game. Petty. Out.

Latin School Of Chicago Upper 1

Posted January 08, 2013
- a community member
Full of over-entitled snotty rich kids with no world view. This school prides itself of open mindedness and being accepting, and lives up to it, that is if you are a certain kind of person. If on the other hand, you are not one of what they are used to seeing, you are not welcome here. This place is so un-diverse it is suffocating. It prepares kids for a type of world that does not exist.

Latin School Of Chicago Upper 5

Posted April 29, 2012
- a parent
My son's prior school was K- 8; so he started Latin for high school, and he has been very happy. They have a large selection of classes that are able to challenge him. The teachers will always make the time to meet with any student that takes the Initiative to ask for help. The total facilty of the school truly wants to see kids succeed, Yes the school is expensive, but your paying for the small class sizes, personal attention and amazing facilities. We have found the school to be very inviting, and my son has never found the Latin to be very cliquish or complained that any student has ever been mean to him or any of his friends. It's a place he feels happy and safe.


Latin School Of Chicago Upper 5

Posted April 01, 2011
- a community member
A pool of the smartest, most stylish, worldly, and talented kids I've ever met. Very selective and demanding. Teachers are professional and more than qualified. Facilities are top-notch. It's quite perfect. - a student at Latin

Latin School Of Chicago Upper 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a teacher
The curriculum is challenging. The atmosphere is is seriously playful. Students are taught to trust and express their own ideas. High standards are the norm. It's a community of learners.

Latin School Of Chicago Upper 5

Posted March 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Latin School Of Chicago Upper 1

Posted January 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Latin School Of Chicago Upper 5

Posted January 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Latin School Of Chicago Upper
59 West North Boulevard, Chicago, IL  60610
(312) 582-6014
Last modified Latin School Of Chicago Upper is a Private school that serves grades 5-12
Latin School Of Chicago Upper Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top