Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Icci Academy

Private | PK-2 | 88 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Chicago

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2013

Amazing school, Highly qualified and respectful staff beginning from the principal, the secretary and all the teachers. every time I drop my kids,I feel that I leave my kids with their family. it is really a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

I agree with what was written about the secretary but i DO NOT AGREE with what was written about the teachers!!! They are professionals , well behaved and they DO KNOW how to deal with the children! Teaching our children the right way is a big thing and i am happy with what i see!!! starting wiwth KG ; 1ST AND EBNDING WITH 5TH GRADE THEY ARE VERY PROFESSIONAL AND WE ARE PLEASED TO BE HERE!!! pleased to be here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

There is a new professional principal at the school who is trying to improve the school. However, there is much more work that needs to be done. There is a lack of professionalism in terms of how the secretary handles the office work and communication with parents and teachers. She lacks the qualifications to do this work. Many of the school's problems stem from the secretaries inadequacies. There are some qualified teachers, but the majority of teachers are inexperienced and do not know anything about teaching!


Posted September 12, 2012

The school is has small classes(what I like) nice teachers and an excellent Arabic and Islamic studies resource!!! When you get in you feel you are home! I love this school! This year they have new teachers as well as the pricipal; but honestly both former principals did a great job; hopefully the new principal would make a success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

The former principal was not qualified at all to run this school. The school needed a real professional principal. Thank God, this year there is a new principal and we believe he will be able to help the school improve and get better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

This is the best school for parents who are seeking a good education for their children (has PreK-6th grade) in Science, Arabic and Islamic studies. The fact that it is a small school makes it unique with a very nice environment and a personal education. Both previous and actual principals (PHDs holders) are very qualified and are good listeners and action takers. The school needed some improvements like play yard and restaurant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

The school needs a lot of things to reach the required minimum level needed for a good education. The principal is terrible, a very bad leader who listens to the parents' concerns when he wants to, but he always has answers that suit him, that do not satisfy the parents nor resolve any problems. He calls "bullying" social behavior and doesn't do anything to stop it or reprimands the student (S) who did it. He doesn't treat all the students equally. The school has different teachers almost every year and this year, 2 teachers left in the middle of the school year. There are some good teachers and some others who are not up to the required level. In conclusion, the school needs tremendous help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

This is a school with major faults. If a child scores low on a test, the principal will have him or her repeat it or, he will tell the teacher to give the child a better grade, but only depending on the child, this is special treatment for parents who are on his side. This school is a joke, what is worse than having a horrible principal, is having people who think that he is a good leader. He knows nothing about education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

This must be a really old review and information about the school. The school nows has grades PreK-6th grade. The school is very clean, the class sizes are small, the people friendly and the teacher are very professional. It's a great community school. If you don't believe me, you need to see it yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

the school needs major help. it is in bad condition. bathrooms are never clean, school and masjid is always dirty.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 90% 4%
White 6% 51%
Black 3% 18%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 24%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6435 West Belmont Avenue
Chicago, IL 60634
Phone: (773) 637-3755

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT