Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Providence-Englewood Elementary Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 26, 2016
- a student
I feel grateful for Dr. Jones !!!! He instilled values in me and taught me to be a leader inside and outside of the classroom.

Providence-Englewood Elementary Charter School 3

Posted April 26, 2016
- a student
As an Alumni I feel as though sending your child to this institution is I win/loose situation. Yes I can say that the curriculum is superb, But the amount of homework we received was dreadful and very time consuming. Not to mention all of extra curricular activities and all of this homework?? That doesn't mix. The most pressure I felt was in my 8th grade year. I felt noooooo support from my principal at all. The only graduate function she attended was graduation. My 8th grade class really didnt feel much support from anyone.The school also pressured all of their 8th graders to have this one school in consideration automatically, Providence St. Mel. As I followed through with the considered school, we fond out some sketchy things about the financial system ran in the school. If you feel you child is ready to take on this challenge feel free to send them. If not I would be looking for other schools. If I send my child in the near future there would have to be a new principal.


Providence-Englewood Elementary Charter School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 12, 2015
- a student
Usually when I used to get homework I got like 8 to 10 pages a day and then on Sunday they expected you to read a coupe chapters in a chapter book

Providence-Englewood Elementary Charter School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 12, 2015
- a student
Some teachers show favoritism towards other students so many students don't get some of the same opportunities as many of the other students

Providence-Englewood Elementary Charter School 4

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school, very disciplined and I absolutely love it!!! I have 2 children that attend the school and they love it too!!!! The staff is ALL about the children. Parental involvement is mandatory, so if your not into attending parent teacher conferences, attending school assemblies, and attending parent enrichment classes, then this school is not for your child.


Providence-Englewood Elementary Charter School 3

Posted January 17, 2012
- a parent
This school is unlike your regular schools. They are Intense with their expectations of the students. They induce the readiness and appropriate cognitive level of the students to a degree almost illegal. Most parents feel that this is exactly what their child needs to be successful. I do agree, you should not underestimate your child on what she/he could do. However, there is a thin line between teaching, and pressuring. This school is more concern about their numbers than their students. My daughter, who attends PECS, is currently in First grade, and barley made it out of kindergarten. She is so stressed out by the work load of home work they give her, and the frequent testing that is almost everyday. I feel as though I am homeschooling my child, because It takes us 4 hours a day to do her homework, which is about 6-7 pages a day. Not your average homework for a first grader.

Providence-Englewood Elementary Charter School 5

Posted August 07, 2011
- a parent
PECS is a place where every parent should be proud that their child attends. This is am institution of learning at it's best, in the Engelwood area. They are very strict and rigid, but isn't that what our children need to survive this world & compete academically? Parents whom are disgruntled about the school and it's policies are the ones who believe that it's only teachers & school systems who are responsible for their childs education. With that said, if you'd like to send your child to a place whet they are preparing to compete in a global world, then, send them to PECS & watch them soar.

Providence-Englewood Elementary Charter School 2

Posted August 05, 2011
- a parent
This used to be a great school. The first three years were wonderful. Students were on task, and I can only say this was due to the hard work of the teachers. One teacher there really stood out. Once she left, things started to go down. The principal is not friendly. She doesn't seem to know how to run the school to get results. Also, it would be great if they did more for the students - not just readying them for tests. Let them have fun once in awhile.


Providence-Englewood Elementary Charter School
no rating

Posted February 04, 2009
- a parent
I think this is a great school the teacher and principal are so nice and helpful they really care about the students there an by the school being very strict the student are all polite and well dehaved the student are not running thru the halls like i have seen in other school this school is really getting them ready for adult hood

Providence-Englewood Elementary Charter School 5

Posted August 13, 2008
- a parent
I love this school! My child stays on the honor roll.Yes,the kids have alot of work but we as parents need to work with our children at home and make the sacrifice!

Nearby schools

Providence-Englewood Elementary Charter School
6515 South Ashland Ave, Chicago, IL  60636
(773) 434-0202
Last modified Providence-Englewood Elementary Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top