Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 571
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


79 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Audubon Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
I wanted to comment about the preschool program. The teacher is amazing. She actually emails every parent a written report on how the class is doing. These people really care.

Audubon Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
Best CPS elementary school. Teachers are caring, supportive and simply amazing. If you wasn't your child to get a well rounded education this is the place. Organized fundraising, school dances and wonderful staff.


Audubon Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful inclusion of children with atypical learning needs here. The teachers are all excellent, caring, and fun professionals. The parent community is extremely strong and cooperative -- they raise lots of money for extras like Teacher's Aides, Special Ed teachers, and equipment, and initiate programs for tolerance and community service. The newish principal brought music and art back!

Audubon Elementary School 2

Posted March 21, 2014
- a community member
As a former student of this school, I can confidently say that this school is below average academically and beyond. While situated in a great neighborhood on the north side of Chicago, it doesn't match up to the kind of educational standards that you need to meet if you want to be a great school in Chicago. Its teachers are lackluster and its school facilities are very old. Bell Elementary is close by and clearly beats Audubon by a league and a half. Early on in my education there I was very bored with the curriculum there, and I felt like the teaching could have been much better. Their special needs or education accommodation is very unsatisfactory. Overall, if you want to enroll your child in a friendly environment, you're in the neighborhood, and academic excellence isn't a priority, then go for it. But, honestly, in the complex of schools in CPS, there are much better schools, even in the north side.

Audubon Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
I was a student at Audubon I graduated in 1999, it was a great school then and it has only gotten better with time. The teachers, and principal are great with the kids education and caring about everyone. My daughter will be starting 1st grade and I am confident that just like her previous years she will succeed due to all the hard work the teachers do with the students


Audubon Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is in her 3rd year at this school, and I feel so fortunate to live in this neighborhood where this is the elementary school. In an era where charter schools are the rage, Audubon is a reminder that with cooperation between the principal, teachers, AND parents, a neighborhood CPS school can succeed and even excel. Don't give up on neighborhood schools. Charters are not the answer, Mayor Emanuel.

Audubon Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2011
- a community member
I graduated Audubon in 2010 and am currently attending Lane Tech High School. I really recommend this school to everyone. It's teachers are wonderful, really supportive and do a great job at getting to know each of their student. Audubon also has a great principal who is greatly involved in all aspects of the school.

Audubon Elementary School 1

Posted November 16, 2010
- a parent
Our son is going to preschool there and so far things are really bad, teacher (name witheld due to tos of the website) is taking notes about kids behavior and kids repeatedly told us that she neglected to address their needs and requests. My son was crying because he didn't understand what she wants from him and she didn't want to tell him. Since these are really little kids, I am really frustrated.


Audubon Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 28, 2010
- a parent
Its the only school on the north side of chicago of its kind. The school see all its students as gifted and teaches in an all inclusive model in a very unique and extraordinary way! This school is truly AMAZING!

Audubon Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
The teachers and parents really do care about each other and the students well being and education. The principal and asst., principal take care of their students by listening and resolving problems. The staff do wonderfull work. My kids don't want to go to any other school .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Audubon Elementary School
3500 North Hoyne Avenue, Chicago, IL  60618
(773) 534-5470
Last modified Audubon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Audubon Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 79 reviews. Top