Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Amundsen High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 24, 2010

I agree that this school has a very undeserved bad rep. Before we moved here, I was so worried about sending my daughter to this school because of all we had heard. But the staff were wonderful. Ms. Farfan was so helpful and got my daughter enrolled right away. The faculty at this school is very proactive in the students' educations--instead of just sitting back waiting for the students to fail, they make sure they take every step to catch problems early. I'm so glad we "had to get stuck" with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

This School is better than most people realize. The teachers at this school are very helpful and always give chances to finish up late work. It's right next to a soccer field,football stadium,3 baseball fields, and a park has it's own parking for students and teachers. The only problem that I notice are the students don't pay attention or really try to do the work not all of the students are like that though. It's still a very good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2008

It's a great school all you have to do is choose your friends right, and they'll be your great friends throughout the year/
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2008

I used to attend Amundsen, and I truly believe that it's reputation is thanks to the students. I am not saying that the school or faculty isn't at fault either. I constantly heard from students that Amundsen wasn't a great school, but I never heard them say that they would stop cutting class or work harder. Amundsen does offer some programs that can help students academically and personally. I understand that sometimes teachers may give up on students but they also have to be the one's to encourage them to change their ways. I believe that there shouldn't be a friendship between students and security. There were many incidents in which I saw security allow a student to cut class, or letting them off the hook when they've done wrong. Amundsen is always striving for the better of the school, staff and students. Unfortunately, it hasn't happened, YET! Good luck AHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2008

I visited the school during Report Card Pick Up day and I was very happy with the way I was received and directed. The faculty and the office was very polite. The school was very clean and the event was well attended. Congratulations to the Principal who works very hard and is one of the few children's advocates in this system. Keep up the good work and all the parents will support you forever. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

I think every seems to be miss judgement about Amundsen, this schoolas such gifted staff members ,teachers and the princial walks the halls to ensure every one in his school is safe what better place for a child to learn a safe and caring enviroment that has gifted teachers great job amundsen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

Amundsen school has got to be the worst school in Chicago. Teachers are lacking on motivation, Munos only cares about the 'allusion' of a good school. But I have to send my child here because it is the closest. I'm a single parent and cant afford anything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

Amundsen High School is very good determined high school.Although its very notorious in the end,the notorious part is all rumors.The IB program is a program I would most definitely recommend to any parent who is thriving for their child to receive a good education its IB program beats schools regular programs.Its a very rigorous program which is only for the smartest students in Amundsen,people who were in this IB program have been very successful ending up in Universities like Loyola,Northwestern and Columbia.Overall,this school is school is very nice,firm and determined school which is not comparable to schools such as Roosevelt,Senn,Mather and Taft it is reaching its peak to academic excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

As an active parent, I feel the school need more extracurricular activites and more teacher involvement. CPS allows a certain amount of funds for these types of programs but there are a limited amount of teachers willing to particiate. This school has potential, expecially with the IB program, Advance Placement program, and Honors program, the students need an out from all of the studying. Mr. Munoz the new principle seems to support and attend most of the sports activities, and seem to have a good relationship with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

This school needs more parent involvement. Most of the kids are supposed to be average and above average in their class performance but without better parental concern about their children this school will have hard time improving academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

I'm currently a freshman, going into my sophomore year. I feel that the whole uniform issue is not a problem. I'm actually glad that their is one. It removed alot of the 'gang representation.' The only reason I'm attending is for the simple fact that their is an I.B. program, ( I have been in the I.B. since sixth grade.) I felt that if I was in a smaller I.B., my chances of getting any type of scholarship would go up. I am cuurently ranked third out of 449 freshman. The people which I associate myself with are bright, iteligent, motivated individuals. Do not get the wrong impression, I do not gloat about my achievements. I just do not want to be percieved as a moron for the simple fact that I attend Amundsen. Amundsen took three years to produce the first I.B. diploma, Lincoln Park took seven years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2005

Amundsen in one of the very few Chicago Public Schools where students can actually learn a musical instrument and be part of a real orchestra or choir. There are only 4 high schools like that (Amundsen being one of them) in the entire CPS system. You get as much out of the Amundsen experience as much as you put into it. If one shows interest towards any subject or organization it wont be overlooked, but rather helped. I was good in math and my math teacher pushed me to compete in the city wide math competition. Same in music - thanks for Mr. Rico. I am in pharmacy school now and I do visit Amundsen frequently. I see more security then before but if one has nothing to hide, it shouldnt be a problem. I gone through it myself. You have to motivate yourself - teachers are there to inspire only.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 15, 2005

I dont understand this school.I mean its my school but we as students here feel as prisoners rather students. With the uniforms and overflowing cops. I feel that im in prison. Latly our school has been having problems and our principal has been overseeing them.!HElp the students
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2005

Im a student at Amundsen and lately i have been feeling as if im in prison with the new uniform dress codes Im helpless with tese issues even though im a student. Plus our Princpal doest pay any attention to whats goin on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2004

Generations change within the school over the years. Now it is crash landing down. From what I had seen before the 90s. The school was at its highest peak but does not reach it anymore due to the types of students mostly there such as gangs. Fights break out often. Its hardly safe since teens these days are getting more rough. Students now argue over the fact of uniforms and no student is happy over that. Some teachers are nice and helpful while some are not helpful to the student. The students are disappointed and disgusted over ridiculous things such as being suspended for no uniform. The class work is simple and everyone could do it. The IB is a worthy program to go to if you plan to attend. The school does offer nice activites for everyone such as clubs and tutoring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2004

When I came to amundsen high school I didnt feel safe at all. The security guards dont make a effort to get the students out of the hallways and into class. The teachers show a lack of interest in the students. Fights break out weekly and sometimes daily. The whole appearence of the school is not well at all. It's not a school that I would ever go back to or a school that I would suggest to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
20%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
15%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female20%
Male29%
Black13%
Asian49%
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White13%
Low income25%
Not low income24%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities28%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students29%
Female28%
Male30%
Black28%
Asian41%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White19%
Low income30%
Not low income19%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities32%
English language learners3%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students18%
Female15%
Male21%
Black18%
Asian32%
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White10%
Low income18%
Not low income19%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities20%
English language learners3%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

17

Graduation rate

77.1%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 65% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 4%
Black 11% 18%
White 9% 51%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Anna Pavichevich

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5110 North Damen Avenue
Chicago, IL 60625
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 534-2320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Senn High School
Chicago, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT