Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

We are growing! Come learn more about our extraordinary neighborhood school. Email Principal Lavin at SLavin@cps.edu with any questions or to schedule a tour.
November 18, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy
no rating

Posted November 18, 2015
- a school leader
We are growing! Come learn more about our extraordinary neighborhood school. Email Principal Lavin at SLavin@cps.edu with any questions or to schedule a tour.

Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Veronica and Ms. Gladys room 105 preschool year 2015-2016. Our three year old started this year.


Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Veronica and Ms. Gladys are great examples of compassion, caring and empathy. They went above and beyond in transforming their space to an environment where kids are comfortable.

Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
Several family members graduated from Brentano. Our three year old is attending the pre-school program this year 2015. It is heart warming and comforting to see the dedication and efforts from Ms. Veronica and Ms. Gladys room 105. Their passion and creativity transformed room 105 into an educating, comfortable and fun environment for our toddlers to be introduced to school. We are full time parents and it feels good to know that these two teachers take this introduction to our little ones seriously. Thank you Ms. Veronica and Ms. Gladys for all you do. God will reward your dedication to our children. You are both great example to all teachers and volunteers.

Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted June 30, 2013
- a parent
We are so proud to report that Brentano has scored in the top 1% of all schools in the United States for student growth in math and reading on the NWEA assessment. NWEA is a test taken by all CPS students in the fall and spring, and the award means Brentano students grew more this year, on average, than students in 99% of schools in the nation. Scores on standardized tests like ISAT often just reflect the abilities students bring into a school -- NWEA focuses on the gains each student makes, regardless of whether they enter a school especially ahead or behind. We don't think test scores are everything, but we know that tests like NWEA that measure each kid's growth say much more about a school's impact than tests like the ISAT. Brentano, as a neighborhood school, accepts students of all backgrounds. There is no test to get in and Brentano's students haven't had to win the lottery to be accepted. We couldn't be happier to have even more evidence of Brentano's success pushing all kids ahead. That's what makes Brentano such a remarkable place. As parents, that's exactly what we want in a school, and that's why we're so glad to be part of the Brentano family.


Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted December 06, 2012
- a parent
I like how teachers from Brentano teach my kids like my big son tath is in 5th grade he always get good grades and he gets everything awsome with his teacherand I realy like this school.

Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted October 13, 2012
- a teacher
I am a first year teacher at Brentano Math and Science Academy this year and I could not be happier with starting my teaching career at Brentano. Everyone from the administration, to the teachers, to the educational support personnel, to the school engineer, and school custodians are absolutely some of the greatest people I have ever met with the kindest hearts. I feel tremendously supported as a first year teacher and am so happy because I have an opportunity to be a part of the INCREDIBLE things that are happening at Brentano. For instance, the school has a phenomenal soccer field and an Illinois youth soccer program is offered to our students. Just this past week, the owner from Manchester United (UK futbol club) came to our school and all of our students were able to meet and take pictures with him. There are a plethora of before and after school activities that students can participate in to ensure that their education continues beyond just the classroom. I offer math tutoring every morning before school. There is cheerleading, dance, girls and boys basketball, drama club, soccer, tutoring, science club, and many more activities for students. Truly an amazing school.

Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted October 10, 2012
- a teacher
Parents, are you re looking for a great school? Then look no further, because at Brentano Math and Science Academy we will provide everything you need to meet your children s educational needs. Here at Brentano we offer students a challenging enriching curriculum with substantive value. Although, our academic emphasis veers toward math and science we also appreciate the value of the arts. This year in particular we have partnered with several programs including the Joffreyt Ballet, and Chicago Symphony Orchestra; to work with our school in educating and engaging our pupils in these innovative art forms. Please take some time and tour our enriching class rooms with purposeful centers. We look forward to seeing you! We hope that after your visit you will come to the like belief that our school is truly the best institution of learning for your child. Hopefully, it is with this revelation that you will allow us to welcome your children as new additions to our Brentano family.


Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted October 09, 2012
- a parent
I am the parent of a 1st grader and alumni of this school. I will, by all means, keep my daughter here! It is a great school with great teachers. The neighborhood is wonderful as well as all the students. More than a school, all the students and staff work more as a family/team. It is impressive how well students adapt to their classmates and teachers so quickly! I believe that this school can only get better!

Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy 5

Posted October 08, 2012
- a community member
Brentano is a gem in the neighborhood. In addition to a well maintained facility (both inside and outside), the school offers activities for all students. Activities range from the fine arts to sports and academic activities address students of all academic abilities. Teachers are creative and accessible. Many graduates are accepted to the Selective Enrollment schools and/or offered scholarships at private high schools. The teachers and principal are active with the community and work hard to provide a strong foundation for Brentano's students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy
2723 North Fairfield Avenue, Chicago, IL  60647
(773) 534-4100
Last modified Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-8
Brentano Elementary Math & Science Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top