Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bright Elementary School 2

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
This school could be better if staff and parents work together...There is a little parent involvement...We do not have a permanent principal, and we do not know for how long this will be...

Bright Elementary School 1

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
Intolerable principal scares teachers away. Every year. This is how it goes: principal begins "dropping in" unannounced at a classroom. She tells the teacher that she does not know how to teach and that she is "concerned." Next, principal begins calling the teacher to her office every day after school for 2-3 hour "meetings" where principal tells the teacher shes not following "best practices." Teacher cannot correct papers, set up her classroom, etc because of all the time wasted in the office as the principal takes phone calls and checks her texts. Next, the teacher quits or transfers before mid January when the principal promises to begin the E3 dismissal process which will ruin the teachers record. Then the principal replaces the bullied teacher by a current teacher that is teaching in another grade at the school. Finally, another new teacher --who has few rights according to the CTU contract-- is hired with open arms and TLC. Then the new teacher gets bullied toward the end of the school year and the beginning of the new school year until she quits by January before the principal can fire her using the dismissal process. This happens to 7+ teachers every year at Bright school.


Bright Elementary School 1

Posted November 08, 2012
- a parent
Worst principal ever at Orville T. Bright Elementary in Chicago. O.T. Bright has had excellent teachers even Golden Apple Award winners and some Nationally Board Certified teachers. Unfortunately, we have lost every single one of these great teachers. The principal harasses and publicly humiliates staff members then calls them "combative." This is why we have 80% new staff every year, including a new assistant principal every year.

Bright Elementary School 1

Posted November 05, 2012
- a parent
Horrible environment for children, teachers, and assistant principals. That's why enrolment keeps dropping, positions are being eliminated and why teachers transfer and quit this school throughout the school year. I've seen the principal yelling at teachers in front of students. What message does this send our children? My child told me about the time the principal interrupted a math lesson with all her carrying on and strange behavior. The LSC council is a rubber-stamp joke that no parents want to join so they keep having "elections." Why won't CPS do something?

Bright Elementary School 1

Posted March 30, 2012
- a parent
Terrible principal yells at everybody. The school s test scores have plummeted. Enrolment has dropped. Teaching positions have been cut. Many teachers leave in the middle of the year. 8 teachers that started the school year in September left by February. Why? I have heard the principal yelling at students and at teachers. Why would the children respect there teachers if they hear the principal screaming at them? Why don t we have a math teacher at Bright for months and months? I have heard children tell teachers why should I listen to you? You are going to get fired anyway . I have heard parents complaining about the homework teachers give the students. Before November the teachers only send out work sheets printed from the internet. The parents blame the teachers year after year. Who is in charge of ordering text books the teachers or the principal? Why is it that we get almost a whole new batch of teachers and a new assistant principal every year but the problems are always the same? The teachers, assistant principals and counselors come and go but the principal is always there screaming at children and teachers and blaming them for her own failures year after year.


Bright Elementary School 1

Posted November 02, 2011
- a parent
I agree about there being a lot of turmoil at Bright. I don't understand why so many good teachers end up leaving every year. Even the counselor and assistant principal did not return this year. I want to know why the students don't get all the workbooks they need until so late in the year. Is turmoil the reason why teachers leave even in the middle of the year? This will be the last year my kids go to Bight school.

Bright Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
The staff there has been very inspirational for all of us students, whom attended past and present. It has survived decades of hardship and turmoil. They have still managed to successfully produce excellent students.

Bright Elementary School 5

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Bright Elementary School 4

Posted March 27, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bright Elementary School 2

Posted August 31, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bright Elementary School
10740 South Calhoun Avenue, Chicago, IL  60617
(773) 535-6215
Last modified Bright Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bright Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top