Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bogan High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2013

Bogan is going wall to wall IB at the beginning of the next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

Bogan is trying to get better.....my daughter is a senior at Bogan now and she has been on the honor roll for 3 1/2 yrs. Her freshmen year, she was jumped on, on her way home, got her book bag, ipod 3g, and cellphone taken. I did retrieve the items. But when I went to the school the Security seemed to be in place, but I don't think they worked very hard in helping me solve that issue. Junior year someone stole my daughter iPhone. There have been quite a few fights that I know about and I'm terrified for my son to go there in the fall. Bogan needs more sports teams and activities to keep many students occupied and motivated and out of trouble..academically I have seen changes since my daughter has been there as far as honors classes, college prep, and student parent meetings. So my recommendations: Tighten up security (Mr. Vaughn), increase activities, and continue to improve on academics. Oh and the new principal.....naahhh...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

I don't know much about other schools in Chicago, but for me Bogan should be at the top for the worse school in Chicago. The students bully other students and the admistration turns a blind eye to what is going on. I know this for a fact since my son was bullied at Bogan. Principal, Vice Principal etc.. just ignored the problem. Thank God for a few teachers that contacted us to tell us what was happening. But the teachers would write up the bullies and nothing was done. And your child can actually sit in class and do nothing and get a passing grade. It is not the teachers it is once again admistrative that puts so much pressure on the teachers to pass a student. When I said no to passing my son in one class the Principal and Vice Principal get angry with me. He didn't deserve a free pass and needed to attend summer school. They shouldn't be surprised when students have no respect for other students, because I have sat in the hall waiting for a meeting and seen how security, Principal, and Vice Principal treat the students. If you don't show respect how can a student respect a peer?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

This is the worst school in chicago next to gage park high. All I ever learned in this school was how to defend myself and how to just know when a fight is about to break out. "Oh its tuesday and they'll probably be just one or two fights today" A lot of the teachers in this school just don't care and to an extent I don't blame them. Students come in and do nothing but disrespect other students and teachers, and sure would report it but the administration would do nothing. I hate this school waste of my time, Im embarrassed to even tell other people that I even went here.


Posted December 7, 2011

Parents of current students should file suit against CPS for allowing an incompetent individual to run a school. The children are being deprived of an education because the administrators do not report violent episodes. Students who disrupt the educational process are allowed to roam the halls causing fights, running into classrooms and disrupting teaching and breaking into offices and rooms and stealing. They blame the teachers and demand that we pass students who do not go to class
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 28, 2011

I Think this is a horrible school i have friends and a cousin who attend this school. My friend got her phone stolen on the first day.! And my cousin had to transfer out because she was constantly teased and was always bullied


Posted June 14, 2011

What I am concerning about this school is that it is a neighborhood school that recieves low test scores and overall grade. I live next to Bogan and I have to say that the students are degrading the school which they don't care about their future and they don't learn. All they do is fight and pull the fire alarm which I heard from the news and competign against other schools to make their school better even though its not. I attend a magnet school in southwest high school which it is a very good school and safe place to go. This school needs to be improved better.


Posted December 21, 2010

graduate 04 and I hate this school. Made no friends. All the student do is pull the fire alarm and fight outside so security won't able to catch them. WORST school. I'd never send my kids to this shcool.


Posted July 12, 2010

I am a graduate of Bogan High School. The teachers and staff were wonderful. They provided the tools and guidance necessary to prepare for college and a career.


Posted April 30, 2010

Horrible school prinipal is terrible teachers are pretty good parent involvement is terrible and the safety is terrible I wouldnt recommend sending your kid to this school this school needs to be shut down
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2009

I was a student at this high school I graduates in June of 09. Bogan is a great school. The principle, securities, and teachers are great. If it wasn't from them I wouldn't be where I am today. Parents and students migh think this school is bad and not a good school, but it's a great school. Go bengals!!! Bogan rocks!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2009

I'm a senior at Bogan High School, and I've seen the ups and downs of this school. Personally, I think the public education system is focused more on treating students like prisoners than the actual teaching part. There are discipline issues in this school, but they've improved from my freshman year. The new principal and the security has improved the school up to the point where at least it's bearable. A few of the teachers may be underqualified, mainly because I sometimes feel like I'm not getting anything out of my expierences here at BHS. However, what really gets me is that the teachers always have to have some sort of issue with one another and they also, directly or indirectly, make the students suffer. I don't know what it is, but the teachers should learn to focus on what's important rather than to deal with their own petty issues.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2009

I am a freshman at bogan, i have heard o f the bad rep that the students make and i actually wanted to give this school a chance. I feel that this school needs serious improvment in educational and discipline needs. Some of the teacher are very direspectful and say unnecessary things. The securities are also direspectful and can tend to insult some students. Some teachers do not work hard to teach us. I am in at least one honors class and an advanced placement class and i feel as though i am in pre-k and i feel my IQ dropping! My parents are not satisfied about my grades in this school and they get offended listening to the students in the hallways. The first week i liked the school, now i just wished i don't have to go to school anymore, i feel like i am wasting my time here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

I am a resident of the Bogan attendance area and my daughter is a student just this year. I believe the only way the school will improve is by removing students who are wasting the teachers time and effort to teach. You have students who are really interested in becoming successful. It's time for a change in our public school system. Our children deserve a chance to prove that they are worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2007

I am a resident of the Bogan attendance area and I believe the school is on the rise. There is very little trouble in terms of disipline compared to 3 years ago. The new administration with(MR McNEAL Principal has changed that schools envirionment. At this point I would give him a B
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

Having moved from Florida, I (and my daughter) were very concerned about the extra security and police, but now she feels ok and I must say that the Principal and both VP's are very helpful and prompts with concerns. The teacher's will contact you to discuss your child's progress. I think Bogan gets a bad rap because of the students who attend and their poor behavior, not because of the staff, but there is always room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

Bravo! It feels, and looks like school. Congrats to the New Principle and his Staff. I believe in the new set of rules. My son say that he can see the difference this year. My son is in his Jr. year at Bogan, and is my 3rd and last child that will have graduated from Bogan. Believe me when I say Bravo to change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

I was a student at Bogan and when I attended I hated it. I didn't want to be there. We were treated as though we were criminals.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 15, 2007

Not a bad school. Teachers are cool, security are nice, principal is friendly, wonderful etc programs, wonderful extracurricular activities. This school has programs that can help us get into college. Also they have teachers that helps motivate you and encourage you when you need it, and they're teaching us so much. I'm only a freshmen and I can honestly say Bogan isn't a bad school. Discipline policy could do a little better, but the school is getting there, plus all schools aren't perfect, every schools have problems. This school isn't a bad choice for kids wanting to go to college and do well and successful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2007

I was a student at Bogan High School. It was the worse experience I've ever had. I learned almost nothing and the students had no discipline what so ever. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone who wants to do well in college.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
11%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
19%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
8%

2010

 
 
9%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students9%
Female6%
Male11%
Black7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income9%
Not low income8%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities10%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students15%
Female18%
Male13%
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income14%
Not low income28%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities17%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students8%
Female6%
Male9%
Black3%
Asiann/a
Hispanic12%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income8%
Not low income12%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities9%
English language learners5%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

16

Graduation rate

74.6%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 55% 18%
Hispanic 42% 24%
White 2% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Alahrie A Aziz-Sims

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Security personnel
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3939 West 79th Street
Chicago, IL 60652
Phone: (773) 535-2180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Aquinas Academy
Hometown, IL




P R I D E School
Oak Lawn, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT