Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 265
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


7 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Frazier International Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
Frazier International Magnet An International Baccalaureate (IB) school. Frazier a non-selective enrollment school serves 268 students in grades K-8, Frazier opened in 2007 to replace the failing E. Franklin Frazier elementary. In their first year, 62.5% of Frazier International students met or exceeded state standards. In just three years, Frazier was honored by Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn with a state proclamation for becoming Chicago s first 90/90/90 school in 2010, 2011 and 2012 nearly 100% of the students are members of a minority group, nearly 100% receive free or reduced lunch, and 95% met or exceeded state standards. Frazier International An Illinois Academic Improvement School for 2010, An Illinois Spotlight School in 2011 and 2012. The only Magnet school in the state of Illinois to receive the Magnet School of Excellence Award for 2013. U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan recognized Frazier International Magnet School, a Chicago Public Schools magnet on the west side of Chicago, as a top school nationally. Frazier International Magnet School,National Blue Ribbon Schools winner 2013.

Frazier International Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2013
- a community member
My name is Patricia Smith. I graduated June of 1981 from here. I played volleyball from 4th to 8th grade. I loved this school. We had an awesome school song about Frazier after graduation. Thanks to the music teacher Mrs? Blyzirfer.


Frazier International Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2013
- a parent
FRAZIER IS A GREAT SCHOOL.MY SON HAS ATTENDED FRAZIER SINCE THE THIRD GRADE,HE IS DOING WONDERFUL..THE SCHOOL IS CURRENTLY UNDER NEW LEADERSHIP,HOWEVER THE TORCH HAS BEEN PASSED TO A GREAT LEADER.HE IS PARENT FRIENDLY,UNDERSTANDS THE SOCIAL/EMOTIONAL PROBLEMS THAT THE STUDENTS COME TO SCHOOL WITH ON A DAILY BASIS,AND OFFER EXTRA HELP FOR THOSE STUDENTS THAT NEED THAT EXTRA HELP TO ADVANCE ACADEMICALLY.

Frazier International Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
My daughter just started Kindergarten at Frazier and she LOVES it. I am amazed with how much she has learned in only a month and a half. She entered Kindergarten unable to read and already she is reading sentences. Her math skills have also grown tremendously. Since it is such a small school, I feel like, as a parent, my voice really matters and the principal actually listens to parents' suggestions. Students have consistent access to computers and other interactive technology. My daughter especially loves Spanish and art class. Class sizes cap off at 25 in every grade, so students get all the attention they need. If you are looking for a school with very strong academics, where your child will not be lost in a crowd, I highly recommend applying for Frazier International.

Frazier International Magnet Elementary School 4

Posted February 24, 2011
- a community member
Frazier is an outstanding school with a very hard working faculty, staff and administration. Everyone seems to have individual student's needs in mind. There is also a mutual respect between the students and adults in the building. The IB program helps students to relate to their learning and gives it a context. Although Frazier has great performance on the ISAT, they are not just a test focused school.


Frazier International Magnet Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 01, 2009
- a parent
I have two boys in the school and I am pretty satisfied with the school. I do have concerns with the discipline policies of the school, (because there are no alternatives available) that could be due to the fact that the school is brand new. The curriculum is wonderful, the International Baccalaureate programme is known world wide and we are a prospective school. Finally, my experience has there has been good and I would recommend it for the parent who knows what their child's needs are and would be willing to work with the school to bring in resources. It is a brand new school to the system, only three years old.

Frazier International Magnet Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Frazier International Magnet Elementary School
4027 W Grenshaw, Chicago, IL  60624
(773) 534-6880
Last modified Frazier International Magnet Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Frazier International Magnet Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top