Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Chicago, IL
Students enrolled: 349
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cassell Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
Cassell is a great school. I took my kids out of the neighborhood private school a few years ago and it was the best decision I ever made. My kids were actually behind and spent their first year trying to catch up with the rest of their class, making me wonder why I paid all that money for a private school. The teachers here are great and you can tell they have the children's best interest in mind. Unfortunately Cassell is subject to budget cuts just like all CPS schools and this forced them to cut the drama teacher, although they still put on 2 school-wide plays per year. The academics are challenging but all of my kids get straight A's with hard work. It is diverse as well, which is something that I absolutely cannot say for private school. Overcrowding is an issue, but that seems to be a CPS issue and I cannot fault Cassell for that. The issue with the overcrowding is not the inability of the teachers to be effective (because they manage just fine), but with the physical space of the school and classrooms. I will be sending my kids to a private high school and I feel confident that Cassell is preparing them for a successful academic future.

Cassell Elementary School 2

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Ok but not great. Kids do not get the much needed attention due to overcrowding. There's also a lack of sports activities which could help engage a better family atmosphere. Overall, I think its overrated. Had to remove my children to private school for better education and attention. Extracurricular activities are much better too.


Cassell Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 04, 2015
- a parent
Due to overcrowding and lack of acknowledgement that this is a problem, teachers cannot effectively provide a good learning platform for the children.

Cassell Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
I have 2 children attending this school and they are both very happy. I do NOT have one negative thing to say about Cassell. The Principal and the staff are always going way and beyond.

Cassell Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
I had my son in a catholic school since kindergarten except 7th and 8th grade ,, if I could back I would save my money!! Cassell is wonderful school !! Plus if your kids need help all the teachers are very willing to help!! The principle and the office staff are extremely friendly and are willing to help as much as they can. My son loves cassell. Education is excellent! The only thing I would say is get more sports teams,,, This would keep the kids busy.


Cassell Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
Cassell is a great neighborhood school with great teachers who go up & beyond the call of duty! The children at school are kind & respectful! So happy my kids go here

Cassell Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2013
- a community member
this school has very smart and nice kids!i would not trade it for any other!there should be more school like cassell!the students are well trained and behaved!

Cassell Elementary School 3

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
While the school is okay, some parents have taken over and they run the school. its very "political" often feels like a lifetime movie. Overall its a good school and the teachers seem to really care a few bad apples by way of teachers and parents are making it a bad school along with overcrowding.


Cassell Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
This a great school and to be rated 7 out of 10 is injustice .Great school with a great programme and the best staff

Cassell Elementary School 1

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
My children go to this school and it is less than satisfactory. My daughter is gifted and they tell me they can not challenge her and to send her to the gifted school. So I call the gifted school and the application process is October to December. Chicago Public School System is horrible and Cassell may be a decent school for a CPS school but it really is a terrible school in my opinion. 35 kids per class.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cassell Elementary School
11314 South Spaulding Avenue, Chicago, IL  60655
(773) 535-2640
Last modified Cassell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cassell Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top