Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J Sterling Morton East High School

Public | 10-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

It really bothers me when people talk bad about Morton East. Yes, the school is old, it's not in the best of neighborhoods and a lot of the kids don't give a care about their education. The teachers however care about the students and really try hard to provide them with a good education and learning environment. If you really try hard and take the opportunities given to you by this school, you can go places. It's all about how you as a student, decide to perform. Amazing school overall. If you're a student you know that the school is in desperate need of AC though (it get's REALLY hot, it's basically an oven in the summer).
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2013

This is a legitimate school. Offers what it can and is enough four our community. We may seem like trash to other people and schools but we at least work hard, I guess your snotty college preps don't teach you the value of honest and true hard work and desire to push ahead. I love being a mustang!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2011

when i was freshman parents would often tell my mom to transfer me from school. and although some were right the problems that i was going to face through out highschool most students face at any high school morton east is not a bad school often people say theres too much fights but where arent they? theyre is alot of teen pregnacy but that also happens so often now in days. theyre is alot of hispanics but that doesnt stop them from going to college. makes them toughen up and trhive for what they want.. it might not be a 5 star high school but it depends how u perceive it... it would be great if they remodeld it, the building is kinda old and it is overcrowded..as i said it depends on the students..
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2011

As a former student of Morton East knows that this school is a very good school. What you take from it is all up to you! there is no bad school you yourself makes a school bad when you dont try! I had the best teachers and yes the neighborhood is'nt the best but i would never trade in my experience for a school in Beverly Hills! Just know what you get in life is what you put into life! The more you study the more likely you will have an enriching life! Morton east will always have a special place in my heart!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2010

Morton East high is the best high school there is in Chicago or even the state. The teachers there care about you and struggle to meet every students needs. You can see that they want to see us succeed in life. this school has perpared me for college and the real world. The school is over 100 years old and still striving, this school gives the students there a freedom like no other school can give. Everyone can be themselves and not be picked on. When you enter the main doors students can feel a sort of freedom and escape from the outside world. This school has soooo much history that it only grows more and more. The best school, team and family is Morton East High School hands down!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2010

Its an awsome school the teachers are great and you have a great experience in this school :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2009

This school has low academics and very poor student behavior. The majority of the teachers are good but the staff members do a bad job when it comes to safety and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

this dosent teach very well n very poor teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

The teachers are dedicated and extremely motivated. Not making excuses but I was a student at Morton East and received a 27 on my Act unlike others that did worse because English was their second language. Many of us did well, we were just out numbered by those who didn't want to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2008

I was a student of Morton east high school its a very great school, and wonderful teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2007

Im a student at morto today 07 and i'm glad to say it is a great school. The teachers are great they interact with students and are smart. Morto east is home to the chodl auditorium wich is listed national register of historic places. Geat theater teachers devoted to their actors and plays im am proud to be a part of morton.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2007

My child is a Morton Student. I am a Morton alumnus, class of 1971. Morton was a fine school in 1971 and is even better in 2007. The teachers are excellent, dedicated and inspiring. The students are ambitious and hardworking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

I am currently enrolled in this school and I have no problems at all. Im a Jr. and well on track. The teachers in this school are excellent. They motivate the students all the time. Extracurricular activities are great. Yeah, we might not win every state championship in Illinois, but heck, we give everything, blood, sweat, and tears to our sports. Everyone always talks bad about this school just because the school doesn't have money. We may not be the richest school in America, but were still happy with the education we are being given at this school. Mustang Pride!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2007

Especially special ed services is very very poor at Morton H.S. The education is very poor at Morton H.S. and state test scores show that.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 13, 2007

I myself have attended this school. this school to me was a great school, my experience there was great the teachers were great and the extracurricular activities are as good as they can get this school is great and as for the bad reputation some people have given us they are too exaggerating, the school is not as bad as they make it sound. I myself think that this is a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 20, 2006

Most of the students have come from the junior high with skills below grade level. This makes it hard for the high school teachers to work on those higher skills in the classrooom. Also, many of the students are unmotivated, don't do homework/classwork and parents do not give them consequences at home. There are a handful of students at Morton East that want to do well and succeed. However, there are the rest who come to school to socialize and free foor their free lunch. The teachers want to do well, but with problems with administration (safety, leadership) it is hard for teachers to have the motivation to do their very best.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2006

Teachers care and work hard to give to students. Discipline is good in most classes and students behave well. Reputation is poor do to poor community reputation. Students are more attentive and more behaved than at other local school.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted November 25, 2005

My child is currently enrolled at this school and has had a horrible time. The academic programs... What academic programs? There is no student teacher envolvment at all. As far as music,art, sports, and other extracricular activities. My daughter has been subjected to sexual harassment and abuse on a daily basis. and let's not even talk about the drug problems at that horrid place. A parent should feel safe about sending her daughter to school but it is the complete opposite. The parents don't get envoled at all in the school or at handling there children. They could care less about their childs academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

Morton East is a great high school. Yes, it does has it's flaws but not to the extreme as the last review. I am former student and the school is great. I went there for four years and I should know not compared to a couple of months. It has great extra curricular activties, the teachers are phenomenal(some teachers are Golden Apple recipients and nominees)When you ask for help they are gladly to service you. If this was not a good school, I wouldn't have gotten in one of the top schools in the country.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2005

Morton East is dirty and horrible. ive only been there for a coupple of months and i have seen about more than 20 roaches on the halls. The teachers dont know how to teach. Morton spends more time punishing the students than teaching them. Also, the school has no good programs. This school is located in a hispanic community. Many students in Morton dont know any english and are being descriminated by teachers. Morton makes me seriously sick.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
22%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students19%
Female15%
Male23%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White33%
Low income19%
Not low income19%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities21%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students24%
Female22%
Male25%
Black7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Low income24%
Not low income28%
Students with disabilities (IEP)1%
Students without disabilities26%
English language learners1%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students18%
Female14%
Male21%
Black7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White28%
Low income17%
Not low income24%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities19%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

17

Graduation rate

69.6%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 95% 24%
Black 2% 18%
White 2% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Frank S Zarate Jr

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2423 South Austin Boulevard
Cicero, IL 60804
Website: Click here
Phone: (708) 780-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT