Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-2
Public district
Clarendon Hills, IL
Students enrolled: 442
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holmes Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a community member
I love how they use Second Step weekly and they have one of the best PBIS systems I've ever seen.

Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2015
- a community member
This is a great school & the teachers keep the best interest of the children in mind always. The teachers are very passionate, helpful, and strive to meet the needs of the diverse populations. I have seen many elementary schools and this is by far one of the best. Ever since Mr. Sepich has taken over he has done amazing things for this school. You would be lucky lf lucky if you live in this district! Outstanding school!


Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
Great school. Great teachers. My kids attended this school and excelled all through school. This school prepared them well for their future years in school. They have great programs which challenge the kids to excel and do their best. Excellent education received here. Every bit just as good if not even better than the Clarendon Hills and Hinsdale school systems.

Holmes Elementary School 1

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
Charges for bus service, when tight budget, first to be cut are the teachers but admin can get huge raises, poor communication, hidden agendas (great teachers though)

Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent


Holmes Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 30, 2009
- a parent
You get out of Holmes School what you put into it. If you help your child do their homework they will do well in school and excel. If you become involved as a parent and show your support with time and money you will bring great benefit to the school. After reading some of the initial reviews I am taken aback by the lack of knowledge some angry parents have. Ask not what Holmes School can do for you, but what you can do to give your child a wonderful learning experience. The staff is there now the parents need to show up.

Holmes Elementary School 2

Posted July 25, 2008
- a parent
Below average for the area for sure. If you are new to the area consider District 181 over District 60. This school district can't figure out what it wants to be, very unorganized curriculum. There is absolutely no gifted program at Holmes school. If you have a child with an IEP or recognized special need this may be a good fit for you though. There seems to be a lot of time and financial energies going towards the special education department.

Holmes Elementary School 2

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
barely adequate. Far below other area schools in basics. Stuck in the mindset that being slightly above state average means huge success. We just passed a very expensive referendum in order to reduce class size and my daughters kindergarten class went from 16 to 22. Pathetic.


Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2008
- a parent
My daughter loves her school, all her teachers and made lots of progress...

Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2006
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Holmes, and we were thrilled with the teachers, the (current) principal and staff. However, we are concerned about the upcoming school year (06-07) and the controversy surrounding the newly hired school Principal. As parents and taxpayers, everyone in the community will be watching her closely and asking lots of questions throughout the year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holmes Elementary School
5800 Holmes Avenue, Clarendon Hills, IL  60514
(630) 515-4810
Last modified Holmes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-2
Holmes Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top