Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Coal City Elementary School

Public | 2-3

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2013

My children attended this school and we had a positive experience. The teachers in both grades were very good. Some of the teachers started incorporating the Daily 5 reading strategies into their reading block and I seen positive results in my children. The administration and front office can be a little more friendly and have better communication. The principal is very good with the children, not so good with the parents. Needs better communication and verbal skills. Overall decent school with excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

My son went to coal city schools for 3 years before we moved out of the area for monetary reasons. At first I was sad because I really thought I was leaving such a great school and the last year my son went to CC schools he had a wonderful teacher which made it difficult for us to say goodbye. Now that we have transitioned to another school I realize that there was a lot of pressure put on the children and parents and not enough on the teachers and principal for the best academic achievement each child can make. My son was VERY stressed out during his time in this school and now he is getting even better grades and doesnt fight me to do his homework like he did when he went to coal city. I think the principals in the early childhood as well as the elementary were not very friendly or supportive to the kids and parents. There has been a lot of money given to this school district and they are by no means in need of anything but I think their focus isn't on the children as much as the focus is on its reputation. I think the school district has a lot of potential but has lost its direction and needs to focus more on the needs of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I moved away from CCES three years ago and it was a huge mistake. I miss the small town attitude the school has. Your child is not just a number in Coal City and they take the time when it is needed. I am currently trying to talk my husband into selling our house and moving back just for the schools. Hope to see them soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

So far I think CCES is a wonderful school. My daughter had a very rough time adjusting to a full day of 1st grade. Her own teacher, the gym teachers, and even the gals in the office, were all very supportive and helpful in trying to do things that would help her adjust and feel more comfortable. Two of them personally called me at home to offer advice and suggestiongs, and I was very touched that they had truly taken a personal interest in my child's welfare. It was so nice to know they cared and my child wasn't just 'another student.' They really have your child's best interests at heart and I just can't thank them enough! Karen Neumann
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

I do not think this school is acceptable for my children. I recently enrolled them into homeschool after many unexceptable experiences. I couldnt be happier with my decision, the kids are doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

I do not agree with the last posting. I have found the administration and staff to be very compassionate towards children. Coal City truly does put 'kids first'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

This isnt going to be a good one. I dont think the principal or some of the workers there are doing their job very well. they seem to be out for themselves and not to caring for the children. They sure dont know anything about getting help if a child gets hurt there. you would think they should call a parent asap, but they did not. You can guess what else I might want to say but I will be polite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2004

My daughter has gone to school at CCES for the last three years. I found that the teachers were very caring and involved with the children. They have an open door policy on communication between parrents and teachers. They also provide a possitive atmosphere for the childrn to learn in. I would encurage any parent to send thier children to this school. Their dedication to their students is remarkable. Mrs. Smith is a dedicated and responsibe princible. In this learning facility the students come first!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female73%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income51%
Non-low income81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)67%
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female89%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Low income72%
Non-low income87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)47%
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 51%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 4% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Travis Johnson

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 North Broadway Street
Coal City, IL 60416
Phone: (815) 634-2334

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT