Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Immaculate Conception

Private | K-8 | 274 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbia

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $184,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2011

Immaculate Conception School in Columbia IL is a wonderful place for our children. The faculty provides strong classroom guidance and creates situations to maximize daily learning experiences. With fantastic leadership from the principal and spiritual enlightenment from the pastoral staff, our children receive a well-rounded education that is second to none. In this environment, the ICS community is preparing future leaders with a focus beyond academics. These children will become compassionate leaders who put others first to improve the communities around them. These leaders will be examples for future generations by donating their Time, Talent, and Treasure for all of Columbia IL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Any parent would have a hard time finding a better school anywhere than ICS. This little school can do unbelievable things with minimal resources and has an outstanding faculty and staff. The kids are challenged in so many different ways, with so many extras to not only make them a better student, but a better person. This school prepares all of the kids academically, and individually to make society a better place. Parent involvement is encouraged, and makes for a great school family. Come take the tour and you will want your student at this school. You will not regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

This is a BIG little school. Your child will receive a quality education with exceptional extra curricular opportunities. If you want to feel like you are a part of a team that is educating and nurturing your child, this is the place for you. You will feel like you've come home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

ICS is an incredible school. The class sizes, extracurricular activity options, faith-based teaching, daily involvement of parish priests, and excellent academics set ICS apart from other schools. I have had 2 children graduate from ICS and they have thrived in high school, taking honors and college level courses and succeeding in them. We are so happy that we chose to send our children to ICS. It has been the best decision we have made as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

This school is not only one of the best Catholic schools in the area, it is one of the best schools period. The Principal is tireless in his dedication to the students to give them every opportunity possible. We couldn't be happier with the education our children are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

As a recent ICS alumna, I am very pleased with the quality of education I received. ICS challenges even the brightest of students and teaches invaluable work and study skills. Being such a small school, teachers know the students very well. Many of my upper-grade classes were very similar to the ones I had in highschool. ICS is especially strong in science and math- I noticed many of my classmates in the upper-level math courses in highschool. ICS keeps learning interesting with its extracurriculars, field trips, and hands-on learning. A good percentage of my classmates wound up in honors courses in highschool- and after highschool many of them received excellent scholarships. I personally received a four-year full-ride scholarship to a university, and I feel that ICS was an essential first step to my learning journey.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2008

I have had 3 children attend ICS and find it to be a wonderful place for educational and spiritual growth for them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

This is an outstanding school with extraordinary leadership. The Principal has been at the school for years and he is outstanding. The math and extracurriculars are superb. The english is excellent, but not at the same level as the math and science. We have moved around and my children have attended a couple of schools. I considered all of the schools excellent, but ICS exceed them all. One of my children briefly attended a very highly regarded public school and was a straight A student. When she arrived at ICS she was well behind the other students, but eventually she caught up. ICS has their students ahead of all other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 60%
Hispanic 2% 16%
Asian 1% N/A
Black 1% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael L Kish
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Belleville
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

321 S Metter Ave
Columbia, IL 62236
Phone: (618) 281-5353

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St John The Baptist
Winfield, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT