Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwood Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 301 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

Just an awful school, I wouldn't recommend any parent to let there child go there. They are very unorganized. Seriously needs helps. If you are moving to the district for Southwood consider going to a private school (like St. John's, possibly?)


Posted March 28, 2013

Southwood Middle School is changing in a positive direction. The new school administration is a bright light in the dim path of improvement for the school. I applaud the way the administration is trying to implement new things to improve the learning and well-being of all students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 25, 2013

I am a former alumni of Southwood (c/o 1990). I am sad to see these posts. It is disturbing to see students are disrespectful, unfocused, and racist. I am noticing that many of the posts by the students are poorly spelled and lacking punctuation. This speaks to the veracity of the criticism. I am a Math and Science teacher in the city. I might move back to CC Hills and help out. I liked the education I got at Southwood. I found the teachers competent. I would love to see what measures the current administration is taking.


Posted October 5, 2011

Southwood is a real good school. Before I Went to Southwood, people keep telling me that it was such a bad school and when you get there youre nt goin to learn anything. I now go to Southwood. This is my 3rd year and i dont regret going here. The teachers try their best to get the students at the highest level of academics. Its nt the teachers fault the children are failing, its the children fault because they choose not to learn. Take it from a student who goes to Southwood NOW, Southwood does its best at evrything. I love all the teachers there. Class 2O11-2O12 <3


Posted August 22, 2011

I posted my review on 9/10/10 but now I'm changing my mine. The school is decent. And is pretty great. The teachers try their best. It;s just the students. If you mind the drama and the cursing in each sentence then this is the school for you. I can't say that their aren't good students but, oh well. The beginning of the school year was great but it sucked toward the end. I'm usually excited for the first day of school but not anymore. It's an eh school. Great staff though especially the Librarian. >,>


Posted September 10, 2010

Its my first year and this school is a decent school. It has the best lunch and the nicest teacher. If your students are failing thats your fault. They dont turn in their stuff and isnt responsible. The teachers try their best and teach to the students abilities. There might be drama but this school is awsome. I read some of your reviews before I went to the school and I didnt even want to go. But now that I did I'm not regreting. Dont hate and aprreciate the fact that your judging a school base on opinions.


Posted June 7, 2010

southwood middle school is a great school and u parents no nothing about southwood i am from class of 09 do not talk about my school like that your child is dum and face do not take it out on the teacher the are trying to teach your child somthing and your child won't learn nothing becase he/she is dum! class of 09


Posted March 25, 2010

-southwood* overall southwood was a decent school.The teachers are ignorant and pick fights with the children, when doing that of course nobody is going to let them , there fore the arguments arise which they start. Then they blame it on us. well used to because i go to rich central now. but anyways Mr.short is a cool nice caring staff member who i can say actually cares the most about his student at southwood. but <3southwood =] [08-09] qotta love iit !.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2010

I taught at Southwood Middle School and I believe there is a lack of support for the staff members from parents and administration. I also believe that there are many wonderful students that possess great potential for success. However, due to the oversized classroom rosters, lack of support from administration, a non-friendly office environment, disorganized school events, and the overall lack of student accountability from administration leads to the faultering of potential success on all sides of the spectrum. There are so many wonderful teachers at Southwood and I'll miss them all!


Posted March 21, 2010

In my opinion, Southwood Middle School has qualified teachers that truly want to teach. The problem is that a small pecentage of students do not care enough about learning and do not want to learn. That percentage of students display behavior that comes with no consequences from administration. It is most upsetting, as well as stressful on teachers that want to teach, but is hindered by unruly and disrespectful students. It is obvious that the children are displaying this same type of behavior at home. Education starts at home! Parents, stop blaming the teachers and accept the fact that your child is not being held accountable for their inappropriate behavior.


Posted March 15, 2010

Southwood is the worst School I've ever had experience with. My child has only attended for 8th grade. The entire staff is lack luster to say the least. I wish I hadn't moved to thia area. My child went from being and A,B student to a C average, and the teachers tell them that C's are ok. The Mayor of CCH is always getting involved in everything else he needs to be dealing with District 160. Parents if you are considering moving to CCH please don't allow your children to go to Southwood. This school will mess them up. This School need to be closed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

Southwood and District 160 is the worst I have ever dealt with. We have administrators that just don't care. They will kick your kids out of school for anything. My daughter was a honors student all her life before I moved to to this district. The principasl run these schools like prisons. Anyone considering moving to Country Club Hills dont unless you can send your children out for their education. The staff blame the parents but its not the parents its the staff and their terrible teachers. The board is horrible they accept this mess staff run wild. If you have special education students, the district has no problem breaking the law and running to their lawyers to get them out of the nasty ditch. All parents run run run!!!!! They will turn your child into failure!!!! This district is sub standard and disgrace to the city of Country Club Hills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

i really believe that the school has great potential and has wonderful teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2009

Southwood lacks in many ways. They are not a top notch district so they cant pay for great teachers. So they get the bottom of the barrel. Many good teachers that come leave. Administrators leave as soon as they see how crazy it is. They lack strong leadership across the board. The school board wants a great district but they dont back the superintendent. Many students come from good homes but with homes costing 50,000 to 500,000 you get a wide range of students. Please do not send your child to Southwood!


Posted April 30, 2009

I went to Southwood in 6th grade my mom took me out but i think that southwood may not be the best school but they try. Teachers try students try but not the parents they just bad mouth the school the students attitude may come from home i love southwood 010 4 lyfe
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2009

Hey who cares wat parents think i love my school and i always will...Im a 8th grader and attended southwood for wonderful years and who ever said southwood is bad forget yall! class of 09!! all day know dat!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2009

i attend 7th grade at Southwood middle school personally i think it's a nice school i only have one thing bad 2 say about this school is that it is unsanitary and the books come on people it's a mostly all black school and have reckless kids there and its going to be there well i love my school and you people need 2 stop talking about it you people look at the wrong side of the picture Mr. Macon and Mr. Short is SO kool well Mr. Short is it let us do somethings depending on what it is so does Mr. Macon... Ms. Irby she's kool to but anyway stop talking about my school at least ya'll kids learn and graduate with an education... >:(
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2009

I enrolled my son into this school in 7th grade at the begining of the 2008-2009 School Year. My son's grades and attitude took an immediate down fall. Before that he had attended the same Catholic school since preschool. He was an A - B student and loved school. After just the first semester I have transferred my son back to the school he was attending. It will be a strain on my family financially and transportation wise because we no longer live in the city but so help me God..I cannot let my child attend this school. I cannot blame it all on the teachers. I believe the students are off the chain as well. I recently moved to cch to a wonderful home and a wonderful community but that school is far from wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

Okay.. i go to this school and im in 7th grade now.. i hate it so much.. the school that i went to was way better.. and just because im asain the kids always make chinesse nosies around me.. it really annoying..everyday i want to stay home... n the teachers are really bad too. they cant teach
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2008

the school is horrible the books are very old and worn the hallways are to junky the students are very rude and and school lunches are unplesent and the rooms heating and air conditioning is always messed up it could be 80 degrees outside and it could be 30 degrees in the classroom the school is unsatisfactory and unpleasent
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female49%
Male47%
Black49%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income45%
Non-low income55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students45%
Female55%
Male35%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income38%
Non-low income60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students71%
Female68%
Male75%
Black71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income65%
Non-low income83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female45%
Male38%
Black39%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income37%
Non-low income53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students33%
Female39%
Male27%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income31%
Non-low income38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 95% 18%
White 2% 51%
Hispanic 1% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kim Edwards

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18635 Lee Street
Country Club Hills, IL 60478
Phone: (708) 957-6230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Johns Lutheran School
Country Club Hills, IL


Meadowview School
Country Club Hills, IL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT