Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-9|Private
136 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Joliet Montessori School 5

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
Joliet Montessori School is a wonderful place to send your children. You will see them grow within a community of people dedicated to teaching each, individual student. The staff are dedicated to make sure you and your children have the best experience possible. When you set the bar high for academic success, children will reach it. That's what JMS does every day.

Joliet Montessori School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
Students do not receive homework. They are encouraged to read, engage in extra curricular activities, and spend time with their families.


Joliet Montessori School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are not afraid to let students struggle to make their own progress. The teachers are constantly monitoring student progress, but they know how to let children come to their own conclusions. It's extremely empowering for students.

Joliet Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
The goal of Montessori school is to treat each child as an individual person. Learning takes place for each child within a loving and supportive community. Grace and courtesy are instilled in students starting at age 3.

Joliet Montessori School 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
My wife and I can't say enough positive things about JMS. We are amazed everyday by the growth of our children not only as students but as human beings. To our children, JMS isn't just school- it's home. Their teachers- family!


Joliet Montessori School 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter is a first year in the elementary program and I couldn't be happier with the teacher/directress she was assigned. My daughter has a food allergy and the procedures they have put in place in her classroom to ensure that she is safe throughout the day is above and beyond what my wife and I could have asked for. My daughter still feels very included all aspects of the classroom and learning how to be responsible for herself and her condition. The life lessons she is learning along with her academic lessons are irreplaceable. We couldn't be happier that we did not send her to a public school where she wouldn't have been able to have entire school body and staff looking out for her safety and made sure she was still included in all aspects of school life. Thank you for making her feel so loved and cared for.

Joliet Montessori School 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
I'm so happy to have found JMS! This is an ideal example of a Montessori program. New to the area, this school has allowed my son to transition well and I have found a place in the community through our school. We are truly thankful to be part of such an accepting and wonderful school. I could not ask for better teachers either!

Joliet Montessori School 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a community member
My husband and children attended Joliet Montessori School. It was a great experience for us all. Both my children wrote college essays on the unique and valuable education they received at JMS and the positive impact it continues to have on their life and academic pathways. My son still proudly recalls mastering long division in kindergarten! His love of math continues today and he is exploring engineering as his field of study. The Montessori method promotes problem solving and analytical thinking, important tools for all students to learn for their future success. Moreover, it emphasizes development of the whole child as well as respect for others. The current Head of School is a dynamic leader who is actively engaged with staff and parents. The staff is highly trained and experienced. If you are looking for an unbelievable experience for your child, I would definitely consider the Joliet Montessori School. Your child will be introduced to the infinite aspects of the world will live in. Imagine your four year old discussing the lemurs that live on Madagascar and that the country's major export is vanilla! Mine did.


Joliet Montessori School 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a teacher
Joliet Montessori School has been a great place for me to work for over 8 years. The children at the school are thriving; they are full of life and happily excelling. The school is dedicated to a classic Montessori education. It has been part of the community since 1966. JMS is known by the Association Montessori Internationale as a significant American school. I have been, and continue to be, proud to be a associated with it and the people who are its leaders..

Joliet Montessori School 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
We have been at Joliet Montessori School for 6 years now and are very satisfied. The Directresses, Staff and Head of School create the perfect and unique environment for the children to accel. We are so pleased with our daughters' progress. Thanks to JMS they are both very well rounded, mature and intelligent little people. The community as a whole is so rewarding. There are many events, clubs and activities outside of class for the families. Note: We live two blocks from another Montessori but choose JMS because of the above reasons. Signed - Very Satisfied Parents

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Joliet Montessori School
1600 Root Street, Crest Hill, IL  60403
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (815) 741-4180
Last modified Joliet Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-9
Top