Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Canterbury Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

Great school. My wife and I moved to Crystal Lake for the community and the great schools. This schools has great leadership and even offers a dual launguage (Spanish) program for non ESL students. What most people don't realize is when a school and school disctrict has an ESL population of sutdents it always brings the overall "scores" down. Standardized testing doesn't account for the fact that ESL kids don't understand the test in English. Any way this school offers a great cultual mix, great staff and lots of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

This school has a wonderful feeling when you walk in the door. You realize right away that every adult there is connected and involved with the children. The administrators that took over about 5 years ago have worked hard to make sure that expectations remain high for academics as well as proper behavior. The teachers are kind and supportive. My son is not in the dual language program, but I wish we had taken advantage of it when he was in Kindergarten. I feel comfortable calling any time I have a concern or question. Mrs. Alberth, the assistant principal, is very responsive and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2012

My daughter is finishing second grade and can now speak in both english ans spanish. What a wonderful program they have. I can't wait for our youngest to start Kindergarden this fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2011

My son finished kindergarten this Spring and I could not been happier with the school. When he got out of preschool, he barely knew alphabets and few words. My wife was disappointed because he didn't learn a lot in preschool and I thought we wasted our money sending him there. But after 3 months in kindergarten, he started reading books that was impossible for him before. We were amazed by the transformation that took place. I am not much involved with the school nor know a lot about teachers and staff. But I'm very happy with my son's progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2011

We had a couple not so great experiences but they were very limited overall. I have a child with special needs and the staff are all very willing to work with you and keep the communication open. They even implemented other interventions for him above and beyond his IEP that have really been the key to his success. Assistant Principal is great, and 1st grade teacher beyond fabulous, K could have been better. The district has been making things a little more "localized" to the school and this has really helped as far as getting him what he needs (when things come from "above" it was harder to get help). We are moving soon and they have been SO helpful in preparing information to take with us to our new school. Our whole family will miss this school. It is true that they only want you to be involved to a point though. I prefer volunteering in the classroom to doing fundraising etc, this year opportunities were better than last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

i love canterbury aj.massa


Posted August 16, 2006

Excellent School - very good early intervention for problems. Excellent teachers. OK communication with parents. They Like parent involvment to a point. They set the level of involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

this school seems very good. discipline is pretty strong in this school without distracting from the talents of the students. The school offers both a multi age program and a spanish-english program to help fit the different needs of the population in the area. The principal is involved with the students, and will take the time to listen to a parent about cocerns. There have been a lot of problems with bullies at this school, but the administration is trying to resolve them. This school does offer some extracurricular activitis, most notably art. There is also an extended time program for working parents that is housed at Canterbury, but run by the city park district. All in all I like this school. One complaint is that students are bused from two other towns to attend here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

My son just finished up Kindergarten here and it was the best thing that could have happened to him!! He has grown so much and has learned so much in this past year. With all of the programs available to him, he has had a taste of many things. I have not had to supplement any more than you normally would if you are an involved parent. The staff is so caring and devoted to each child. Thank you Dr. Grote, Mrs. Broderdorf, Mrs. Jenkins and everyone else who make this school a wonderful place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

I have not been happy with the quality of education here. I have had to supplement all three of my children with extra work and learning since the teaching has fallen short. The children are simply not challenged here. I have expressed my concerns numerous times and it has fallen on deaf ears. The principal is wonderful, but that is not enough when your children could be learning so much more. Maybe that's why we have so many home schooled children in our neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2004

Canterbury is a FABULOUS place for children! The Dr. Grote and her staff are providing a wonderful and caring environment within which children are not simply taught, they are nurtured. My daughter's 2nd grade teacher was outstanding, and worked with me via email and in person to ensure that communication was open regarding things my child needed help with and to praise the things that she was excelling in as well. Canterbury School is friendly and caring. This is especially important to me because my daughter needs to know she's in a stable, comforting environment, without a great deal of turmoil and change. I am PROUD to have my daughter at Canterbury School, where 'All Children are Honored'.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female61%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income52%
Non-low income74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
English language learners26%

Reading

All Students66%
Female65%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income53%
Non-low income80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
English language learners17%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female63%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Low income46%
Non-low income79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learners18%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female58%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Low income41%
Non-low income79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities65%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female70%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Low income64%
Non-low income86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)60%
Students without disabilities77%
English language learners46%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female69%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Low income57%
Non-low income86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female71%
Male44%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Low income48%
Non-low income76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 51%
Hispanic 33% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Rachael Alt

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

875 Canterbury Drive
Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Phone: (815) 459-8180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Immanuel Lutheran School
Crystal Lake, IL


South Elementary School
Crystal Lake, IL



Husmann Elementary School
Crystal Lake, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT