Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Crystal Lake, IL

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
We couldnt have chosen a better school! The principle, teachers, extended programs and counselors are truly helpful and more than accomodating. Full time Kindergarten was an awesome choice and much less expensive than the park districts or private preschools. The quality of education is not found too often, and the teachers willingness to help our children during a few tough months, exceeded our expectations. Thanks South!

South Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
hola buenas tardes,,mi nombre es nora hernandez madre de edgar mateos me gustaria saber como puedo tener informacion acerca de el ultimo grado de escuela que mi hijo estudio ya que ahora se encuentra el en mexico y eso es lo que piden en la escuela un comprobante de el ultimo grado que estudio en north elmentary school..espero puedan responder pronto por su atencion muchas gracias....


South Elementary School 1

Posted October 06, 2014
- a parent
The school has a great anti bullying policy. Its too bad the principal is the biggest bully I've ever met. She has a cookie cutter mold she believes all children should be and if they're not she makes their lives hard. Also, if you don't fork over the $$$ for full time kindergarten your child will be behind and the teachers don't believe its their job to catch them up. They will also blame this on the parents. Its also really hit or miss with teacher quality. And if you find that your teacher isn't a good match for your child the principal will have the teachers back and quickly blame your child instead or you. Over all I'm less happy with this elementary school and it's politics then I hopped I would have been.

South Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
I am very happy with South! There is a lot of parent involvement and a real sense of school pride. My son looks forward to going to school and is learning a lot; they're clearly doing something right. I'm looking forward to enrolling my second son when the time comes!

South Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
South Elementary has a great team of teachers and staff. My kids have great pride in their school and so do I. The teachers and staff went to great lengths to help my son when he was going through separation anxiety in first grade going from a half day of school to a full day. They worked hard to get to know him and buddied him up with kids who had a similar personality, which are his best friends to date! I am extremely thankful to South Elementary for helping turn school into a fun place that my boys look forward to going to all school year long! I wish I could give this school a10 star rating!


South Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2013
- a parent
South is a great school. It is small enough for the kids to feel 'at home' and not just a 'number.' We have had great experiences with teachers and staff over the years.

South Elementary School 1

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
The principal and teachers are not helful at all, a specialy 5th graders - Mrs. S :(

South Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2009
- a parent
They have great teachers!!


South Elementary School 4

Posted November 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Elementary School
601 Golf Road, Crystal Lake, IL  60014
(815) 459-1143
Last modified South Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top