Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hinsdale South High School 3

Posted November 25, 2012
- a student
HSHS is good place, the staff are friendly and many oppunities to join, however i rate as 3 because of the extremely strict rules. There are tons of rules to follow and the classwork can be very demanding, waking up so early in morning to catch 8 am class and ending at 3 pm, it is very exhausting. However, in general, i had pretty good experience with my classes and friends.

Hinsdale South High School 4

Posted June 28, 2011
- a community member
A school that emphasizes diversity and collaboration. Strong faculty that provide full educational resources across curricula, from literature to science to music and the arts. Importantly, the tenure of the faculty reflects the school's investment in attracting great teachers and the teachers' and community's investment in the students. Having graduated 10 years ago, I recently ran into my English Lit teacher and tennis coach in the airport and fell into a great conversation immediately. The school's extracurriculars are strong, providing a wide array of sports, government, academic and music/performing arts opportunities across genders. Additionally, the programs emphasize involvement in many activities, giving rise to a very well-rounded, close-knit class. HSHS has made important capital investments to continue improving the environment and facilities of the school, another demonstration of the commitment to continuing to build a great school.


Hinsdale South High School 4

Posted January 28, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hinsdale South High School 5

Posted September 05, 2009
- a parent
HInsdale South is impressive. It is not too big as some of the other mammoth schools. It has a super friendly faculty and has great extracurricular activities. Overall I have a great feeling about the school and its academic curriculum. It's a great school for kids to grow in.

Hinsdale South High School 4

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hinsdale South High School 2

Posted January 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hinsdale South High School 1

Posted November 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hinsdale South High School 1

Posted August 11, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Hinsdale South High School 4

Posted May 04, 2008
- a student
Hinsdale South is an excellent school for all types of ability levels, in academics, athletics, and extracurriculars. As a current freshman, I know that Hinsdale South truly does all it can to welcome new students to explore their options. There are over fifty clubs and many sports (which are both cut and not) that allow many people to participate. I am currently on the track and cross country teams, and am in six clubs. The opportunities are endless. Also, Hinsdale South offers many Honors courses, which are both challenging and exciting. However, there is a huge gap between honors and regular classes. At the beginning of the year, I was in all honors except for one, and realized that the classroom feel was MUCH different between classes, which led me to move up to honors. However, for the honors courses are wonderful, and I would definitely recommend them. Go Hornets!!!

Hinsdale South High School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hinsdale South High School
7401 Clarendon Hills Road, Darien, IL  60561
(630) 468-4000
Last modified Hinsdale South High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hinsdale South High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top