Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public district
Darien, IL
Students enrolled: 383
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cass Jr High School 5

Posted June 26, 2014
- a parent
Cass is a top shelf Jr. High School. Excellent faculty, administration and a stable and caring school board which is focused on the child. They are focused on spending money wisely and the District is in good shape financially after making some tough decisions a few years ago. We have had 3 children go through Cass and without a doubt feel this is the best district in Darien. This can be seen by tracking the progress of Cass kids vs. the others at Hinsdale South High School. The parent groups are very active in supporting the educational values of the district as well.

Cass Jr High School 1

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
This school really switched its gears these past few year and this year shocked me the most. The school board had a meeting with parents about some of our kids classes where the teacher would make a video for the children to watch at home and in class they would have work to do based on the video uploaded. To me this was very disappointing because their was no point in the student going to class if they already learned it on their own time.


Cass Jr High School 5

Posted September 25, 2011
- a parent
Older comments about this school, are from a very rocky period its history. Unable to pass a referendum, the distict had to make some very hard decisions. The current financial picture is excellent compared to 5 years ago resulting in solid financial reserves. Many programs have been brought back as a result, There are gifted programs and amazingly brilliant children attending this school. Attendance at the rewards program will demonstrate to any parent that this district is truly special. An emphasis on character building results in many wonderful community service projects. Cass Jr. High has met AYP every year. Cass Jr. High students are usually the academic leaders when they arrive at Hinsdale South High School. The school has an accelerated math program and advanced literature courses. Argonne National Laboratories resides in the neighborhood and is a draw for many intelligent and involved parents to the community. The teachers are proven, especially in the core curriculum. The building is well maintained. Student discipline is consistent and effective. Decisions by the Bd. of Ed. are even-handed and do not favor one parent group or another. A very well-run district.

Cass Jr High School 5

Posted September 09, 2011
- a community member
I love being at this school! The teachers pay individual attention to each and every student. All questions are answered without a doubt. Teachers are very well educated and definitely know what they're talking about.

Cass Jr High School
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
It gave my 3 kids a very good preparation for High School.


Cass Jr High School 5

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
Cass Jr H.S. has awarded me with three children that consider education as a lifetime journey. The teachers challenge their students, promote citizenship and reward good behavior. My oldest son is 24 and went to Cass. My youngest son is 13 and will be graduating this year. I am saddened that I will not have an in school association with such a great teaching team after the end of this school year. If you are looking for a great junior high school, take it from someone that has had a child in this school district for the last fifteen years, you found one.

Cass Jr High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
It supports art and its halls are full of childrens art

Cass Jr High School 5

Posted September 12, 2008
- a community member
The atmosphere at Cass Jr. High is so nice! The teachers do such a nice job with the children and with their students different learning needs. Keep up the wonderful job!


Cass Jr High School 5

Posted August 22, 2008
- a student
I have been going to this school for two years, one with buses and one without it. This school offered me more than my old school I have been brought to advanced math and have given numerous letters to take classes for talented youth. The education here is beyond levels and it has much more to offer, you should attend the school, you won't be disappointed.

Cass Jr High School 5

Posted July 21, 2008
- a student
I absolutely love my school, and everything it offers for me. And for all of u parents, we do have busses.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cass Jr High School
8502 Bailey Road, Darien, IL  60561
(630) 985-1900
Last modified Cass Jr High School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cass Jr High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top