Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dennis Lab School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Keith Creighton goes above and beyond for his students!! My now, freshman gives all the thanks to Dennis Lab and especially his middle grade teachers who molded him with great study habits and good character! Thank you for caring and investing in our communities future...Our Children!!

Dennis Lab School 5

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Great Elementary and Junior High School. (K-8th Grade) Partnership with Millikin Campus and complete dedication from the entire school staff. It is great to see a school grow academically through hard work and passion from each teacher at Dennis Lab School. My kids have excelled both academically and socially!!


Dennis Lab School 5

Posted November 10, 2015
- a community member
Great school, great teachers. Been a leading "neighborhood" school for decades. Lab school for Millikin University has only enhanced the learning environment.

Dennis Lab School 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a community member
Dennis is a rocketing star. Using project-based learning as a foundation, its students have demonstrated remarkable academic success. Collaboration with the highly-regarded Millikin University School of Education brings incredible opportunities to its diverse student body. If you believe in public education this might be the place for you and your kids.

Dennis Lab School 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a teacher
Since 1910 Dennis Elementary School (now Dennis Lab School) has been providing an outstanding educational environment, where students experience core subjects and grow through innovative learning opportunities. In a safe, positive learning atmosphere, our pre-K through 8th grade program integrates technology and collaboration. Through our partnership with Millikin University, students experience a rich curriculum including Project-Based Learning (PBL) and incorporating 21st Century Learning skills. With the support of our community, we continue to set and achieve new growth goals. While striving to help students to discover and fulfill their greatest potential, we work toward improving the quality of life for our families, our school and our community. My school is Dennis i marvel at this school. If you send your kid to this school your child would say it was his best day ever because of Dennis this school is superb place to send your chid. when i first got here i said wow the inside was perfect the teachers are tender and reliable they teach so well enough to to blow your mind. my mom loved the school when she first set eyes on it. I hope you love it to!


Dennis Lab School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
I have found Dennis Lab School to be an excellent school for my children. They are thriving under the Project Based Learning curriculum. They enjoy studying nature, food, plants, growth and more in the Dennis Learning Gardens. The affiliation with Millikin University has helped them be exposed to different technology, arts and more. The kids love working with MacBooks and iPads. The technological advances the school is committed to making is very impressive. The parent co-op is very supportive of the school and the teachers all seem excited to be a part of the Dennis Lab School team. The school has expanded from a K-6 in recent years to a Pre-K - 8th grade now which excites me most of all. Best of all, the school is in the middle of a great family neighborhood that I love.

Dennis Lab School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Has now connected with Millikin and is considered a Project based Lab school. Fantastic "neighborhood" school. Matt Andrews is a wonderful principal, and the students adore him.

Dennis Lab School 5

Posted October 23, 2004
- a student
A very excellent school that will challenge your child to his farthest academic boudaries while keeping it fun and enjoyable. Kudos Daniel Fuentes for your excellent faculty and teaching staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dennis Lab School
1499 W Main St, Decatur, IL  62522
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (217) 424-3236
Last modified Dennis Lab School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top