Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Decatur, IL
Students enrolled: 489
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Johns Hill Magnet School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
The staff and administration at this school truly care about kids. It is has a family atmosphere and a close knit staff. I've had my kids there for 5 years and always leave with a great feeling! Involved parents as well.

Johns Hill Magnet School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a community member
Excellent School. Caring and Passionate teachers and staff. Great Diversity. I can't imagine having gone to any other school and having the values and skills I have today that are being used in College and the real world.


Johns Hill Magnet School
no rating

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
This is an outstanding school where all 3 of my children have had the opportunity to thrive. This school allows the children to not only acquire an outstanding education, but allows them to participate in sports, theatre, and unique music education in both instrumental and choral areas of study. I am thrilled with the experience my children have had and the teachers who have positively influenced my children's lives.

Johns Hill Magnet School 5

Posted June 08, 2008
- a student
This was an AMAZING school to go to. There's no school in the district that can compare in any way, in terms of test scores, great teachers, impressive parent involvement, and a show choir that beats every school in the area. Sending myself and my siblings to Johns Hill was by far the best decision my parents made. I've never met a Johns Hill alum who hasn't done well in life or regrets going to Johns Hill.

Johns Hill Magnet School 5

Posted January 07, 2008
- a student
It's not until graduate that you realize how much of a positive effect schools like these have on you.


Johns Hill Magnet School 5

Posted October 30, 2007
- a parent
my child love jonhs hill magnet school

Johns Hill Magnet School 5

Posted January 31, 2007
- a teacher
Johns Hill is an outstanding elementary school in the Decatur Public Schools. Students are given exceptional opportunities to learn academics. Spanish and Show Choir are the cream on top. It's not who attends Johns Hill, it is how the teachers teach! Every student can go as far as he or she wants.

Johns Hill Magnet School 4

Posted December 27, 2005
- a parent
an excellent public magnet school program with emphasis on academics as well as musical performance arts. I have had 2 children enrolled from kindergarten thru eighth, and one currently in seventh. Any other school offering the type of instruction that our children receive would have to be paid for.


Johns Hill Magnet School 5

Posted September 23, 2004
- a parent
All three of my children attended and graduated from Johns Hill Magnet school. I highly recommend the school to anyone who is moving into the district. It taught my children self direction, problem solving as well as help make them into leaders in their further education. The music programs in the school are the best in the district and I would put up the vocal music teacher against anyone in the area for excellance. She has helped promote the student's confidence in handling themselves in public situations as well as in their day to day activities. The school is the best kept secret in the Decatur Public School System.

Johns Hill Magnet School 4

Posted January 22, 2004
- a parent
There are some amazing teachers at Johns Hill! They are very dedicated to bringing out the best in the children! The children are challenged at the level they are performing at. For example, my son is performing above grade level and the teachers make groups for those that need the extra attention so they don't lose interest! There is a lot of parent involvement!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Johns Hill Magnet School
1025 East Johns Avenue, Decatur, IL  62521
(217) 424-3196
Last modified Johns Hill Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Johns Hill Magnet School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top