Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
233 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady Of Lourdes School 2

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
This school hired a new principal in the 2014-2015 school year after former principal Mrs. Hagenbach retired. My childs experience at this school has been miserable since then. The structure that existed at this school before is now gone. There have been multiple faculty changes, especially in the Junior High. This school is a shell of what it once was.

Our Lady Of Lourdes School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. King (Junior High Religion teacher) She is a wonderful person and truly does care about the students and sees the good and potential in every student. I wish all of the faculty members could be more like her


Our Lady Of Lourdes School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
There are some teachers that care, but there are a few that just expect the students to automatically know everything

Our Lady Of Lourdes School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
The students are expected to respect the faculty but there is an issue with the faculty respecting the students

Our Lady Of Lourdes School 5

Posted July 31, 2014
- a parent
OLOL is an amazing school. You could not have more caring teachers. If you are looking for an excellent alternative to the public schools, look no further.


Our Lady Of Lourdes School 5

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
It is a wonderful school that is continually looking to improve itself. This past year they built a new library and I understand that they are going to be purchasing smart boards for nearly all of the classrooms. It seems that they are looking to provide the best possible learning environment for the students.

Our Lady Of Lourdes School 5

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
I have three kids in OLOL and I couldn't be happier with the school. As with all kids, mine have different abilities and skill sets. The teachers at OLOL take the time to understand what each of my kids need to excel at learning.

Our Lady Of Lourdes School 5

Posted July 03, 2008
- a parent
Lourdes is a wonderful school with a wonderful school community. The teachers are there because they really care about the kids. Our entire family feels apart and that gives you a sense of safety and security you don't get at a public school. My children are not only getting the academics but they are building a foundation to be a good and moral person. Something you can't teach at a public school because it might 'offend' someone...I know because I taught in one! As for going to mass....it is a Catholic school and I think they learn wonderful things bing a part of mass...each grade is a part of mass and right there they are learning about public speaking as little as 1st grade. I can't say enough a bout the good feelings I have for OLOL and we 'choose' to send our kids there over MF.


Our Lady Of Lourdes School
no rating

Posted October 06, 2003
- a parent
This is a great school which strives to teach good moral values as well as academics.

Our Lady Of Lourdes School 5

Posted August 25, 2003
- a community member
Our Lady of Lourdes is a fantastic school. I think the students get a better education than in public schools. And it is a VERY safe school. But, I do think they make the students go to mass too often. For example, the junior high students (6-8) have to go to mass TWICE a week! By the time they get to be adults, they won't want to go anymore! But, other than that Our Lady of Lourdes is a great school.

Nearby schools

Our Lady Of Lourdes School
3950 Lourdes Drive, Decatur, IL  62526
(217) 877-4408
Last modified Our Lady Of Lourdes School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top