Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Des Plaines, IL
Students enrolled: 636
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chippewa Middle School 2

Posted January 05, 2015
- a community member
As a former 8th grade student in this school, its kinda a disappointment. Some of the teachers are worth remembering they teach actual lessons, but some just follow rules, they don't appeal to every learning style with makes it harder on students. Now the students in that school, if your child is very respectable, responsible, and tolerant expect him to change when a kid hits middle school he becomes different he goes to friends that could be "Bad" in a way, dating becomes a problem, who you are becomes a problem. "Pre-Teens" have become monsters because of how they "evolved" socially. They fight more, curse more, yell more. Mostly because examples from others, its like a disease. When you get friends in any year of middle school, its the friends you want to worry about first. always every school you go to, the first friends you get show the image of the school. If they are bad then your child will be like them because he believes that's how everyone is. i would recommend this school if your child was honest then you would probably wont have any problems. further more its an o.k school. ( ) oh and making the internet better would probably help the school during map tests.

Chippewa Middle School 1

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
This school held a cross country meet last week. Children who asked to use the bathrooms were told to go in the bushes just like the little league kids do. They would not even allow the visiting coaches into the building. I wouldn't send my children to a third world school like this one!


Chippewa Middle School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a community member
Chippewa is a fine school that has many learning opportunities for students that want to strive in academics and extracurriculars. The teachers are very caring and knowledgable.

Chippewa Middle School 1

Posted May 15, 2012
- a community member
I have to disagree that this is a great school. My niece has nothing but problems here and the staff ignores the issues. Very sad. May have been a great school a long time ago, but not now. I am on here now researching better schools for my niece since my sister has no choice but to remove her.

Chippewa Middle School 1

Posted February 22, 2012
- a community member
This comment is @ the last reviewer. You sound like an awesome kid. Educate yourself. It is SO possible. Ask the librarians to help you select books that match your interest, check out the homeschool section filled with academic books that may be more enriching than what you get at school, research online by topic, talk to the homeschoolers at the library they will be more than willing to share everything they know, you may even find an online class. The library has a book called The Well Trained Mind by Susan Wise Bauer that may be helpful. You're smart and you can do it.


Chippewa Middle School 1

Posted February 09, 2012
- a community member
I hated this school!! I am a former student of Central and now student of Chippewa. Teachers could care less of students. They care more about make-up and new single teachers. The principle runs the school like a cotholic school. Everything has to be done this way or... Kids are jerks here!! There are fights everyday in hall ways. Making out~~ UCK!!! Acidemics suck@@ No spelling. math and science stink. I want to be a math teacher, but i am learning that this may not happen. I love math but that is not embrased here. I hate this school i like sports but kids play dirty

Chippewa Middle School 5

Posted September 09, 2011
- a community member
I am a former student that went to cumberland, chippewa, and now at maine west. This school has kids here strive for academic excellence. I wish I was still a student here at the amazing school.

Chippewa Middle School 5

Posted December 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Chippewa Middle School 5

Posted March 20, 2009
- a parent
Chippewa Middle School is such a GREAT learning place for children. There is rarely any violence and fights! I promise to ALL parents you would be very satisfied with the great job they do. It has been said that Chippewa is a better school than Algonquin.

Chippewa Middle School 5

Posted December 31, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chippewa Middle School
123 North 8th Avenue, Des Plaines, IL  60016
(847) 824-1503
Last modified Chippewa Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chippewa Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top