Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maine West High School

Public | 9-12 | 1703 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

As a former student of this high school, I believe deeply in the high quality instruction that this institution offers. Teachers are invested in their students and set high expectations for them. What I believe that people who are considering enrolling at Maine West should know is that the student population is made of the sons and daughters of working class families in the Chicago-suburbs, many students who are going to be first generation college students. As a first-generation college student myself, Maine West faculty went out of their way to guide me through the application process, write letters of recommendation, and suggest scholarships that would help me pay for tuition. Not many public institutions, especially one of this size, are able to provide that kind of service. Because of the support of the Maine West faculty, I was able to attend Georgetown University and graduate cum laude. This is directly related to the fact that I entered college prepared, much more so than my peers of a similar background who attended the university on scholarship.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2010

Have found the teachers to be ineffective when dealing with any type of difficulty with the students. They don't really care as proven by their 'wait til your old enough & then you can drop out' attitude. If this is the 'great school' we're in BIG TROUBLE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2010

Teachers seem to be very good with the students; really care about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

My son graduated from Maine West in 2008 and is now a US Marine. He loved his High School for the Friends and Sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The art department rocks! The teachers are fantastic, enthusiastic, and eager to help. I would not have gotten into art school without their guidance and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

Maine West High School is the best school ever! We have so many extra curricular activities, and all of them are great. The learning system varies, but it is in a way that gives students like me a better way of learning. The field trips are always fun and a blast! We recently went to Chinatown for World Cultures. That was so fun! Maine West is a great way to meet new people. We have dances about every other week. We also have football games that have cheerleaders and a band. The bands shows are always impressive. There is so much more I could say about Maine West, but you just have to figure out it for yourself! Don't worry parents. You would be making the right choice in making your child come here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2007

A large public school with a small private school aproach to learning !! a great school! and the best teachers who go beyond the rquired school day to encourge students to learn!! last child graduated 2007, goning to miss maine west!! keep up the good work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

The staff is great. We get our phone calls returned with no problem. There is a homework hotline for parents to check on their students homework. Maine West has been a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female63%
Male61%
Black20%
Asian79%
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Low income42%
Not low income71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female64%
Male54%
Black33%
Asian71%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Low income40%
Not low income67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities65%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students57%
Female59%
Male56%
Black13%
Asian68%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Low income39%
Not low income65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities62%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

21

Graduation rate

84.4%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 51%
Hispanic 33% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Black 4% 18%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Audrey J Haugan

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1755 South Wolf Road
Des Plaines, IL 60018
Phone: (847) 827-6176

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Willows Academy
Des Plaines, IL


The Camelot School
Des Plaines, IL




Maine East High School
Park Ridge, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT