Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Willows Academy

Private | 6-12 | 37 students

 
 

Living in Des Plaines

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $122,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2013

Middle school review: wonderful! Very challenging work, supportive environment, dedicated faculty, great group of girls. I love it, my daughter loves it, says she can really be herself here. This school is helping beautifully with the transition from girl to responsible, confident, lovely young lady. Five+ stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Excellent school for education, living out the Catholic Faith and devloping social and leadership skills. The faculty are well prepared and challenge the students at all levels. Sports in middle school are not competative (to encourage participation), but in high school they are. Drama/theatre performances are led by experienced professionals, same for the choir. Most valuable are the character, values and moral development of the students. Students from TWA clearly stand out from others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

Excellent. Rigorous curricula, talented & invested teachers, emphasis on freedom and accountability. Very happy with everything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

The Willows Academy has been an amazing part of my life. I have always felt at home and welcomed here. I can approach anyone with much ease and ask for help. I received an incredible education and was always challenged to do better. You are extremely involved in every event going on and are part of a community and a family of girls who love each other. This school has helped me in ways I could never have imagined. I know for a fact I would not be the same person if I went to a different school where they see their students as "just a number". Each student is treated as a respected young lady and will never feel left out. It is an incredible experience and I am so lucky to have attended Willows. I believe that I have been given an extreme advantage by going to Willows because I have been pushed to do better than I thought I ever could have. Even when I struggled, the teachers take time to meet you to solve the problem. I believe that I have been extremely well prepared for college because I know the proper way to write an essay and even know some Latin to help me out. All in all, The Willows is an incredible school and I can't imagine my life without it- I keep going back to visit!


Posted June 8, 2011

Just because that one parent can list his/her long list of degrees and thinks that makes her/him an authority to what this school is and what it teaches and what he/she thinks about how this school suppresses woman..is ludicrous. This is a fabulous and feminine school. No Abortions here!! The girl's here are actually girl's. I have been to other high schools where the girl's don't care much about themselves(drugs, sexually active, etc) and many look and act like immature boys. I really like this school. It teaches women how to be women and be comfortable with it. I really like that there are NO laptops. (no going behind firewalls to dress and undress J. Bieber during classes) Actually paper and pencils to write and learn how to think. HEY!! proof is in the pudding folks!! Colleges go here first!! and so do the scholarships!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

I have been working as a postsecondary and secondary teacher for more than 10 years now. I have taught in both the private and public sector and enjoy my profession immenseley. I am a mother and educator with graduate degrees in my field, science. I have taught at a variety of types of private schools and public schools. I encountered the worst scientific educational curriculumn and the worst experience possible for students at this school. If you are interested in your child becoming a free-thinking independent knowledgeable young woman this is the last middle school or high school on earth where you should send her. Please choose carefully, our future is at stake. She will be brutally suppressed in this environment, any diversity of thought will be aggressively stricken out of her. Do not choose this school for your child if you care for her mind as a young American woman at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

Every teacher really understands their class and is able to answer the students' questions. It's a small school, so no one is ever left out. There are so many great friends to make. It's and awesome school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2006

Great community spirit for girls. Excellent learning environment with strong morals and standards. Girls feel like part of a family. Small class sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2005

this is the greatest school, it has perfect students , great scores, this is the ideal school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

The Willows is fantastic. The girls are well taught both spiritually and academically. As an example of this, there are no locks on their lockers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 51%
Hispanic 23% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jeanne Petros
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCGS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1012 East Thacker Street
Des Plaines, IL 60016
Phone: (847) 824-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Immanuel Lutheran School
Des Plaines, IL


The Camelot School
Des Plaines, IL


Plato Academy
Des Plaines, IL


Algonquin Middle School
Des Plaines, IL


Science & Arts Academy
Des Plaines, IL


Chippewa Middle School
Des Plaines, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT