Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Belle Aire Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 08, 2016
- a community member
A big thanks to the teachers. Some put in the extra mile to get grants for new programs, some developed confidence in the students, some offered guidance, and some challenged students to think for themselves. A wonderful unique group that compliment one another

Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2016
- a community member
Belle Aire is a place where the community and excellent teachers come together to create a great environment for the kids to learn and grow. It's fun to watch the Belle Aire kids go on to Herrick and North and receive citizenship awards, have big roles in the school activities etc. Teachers in middle school say they can tell which kids come from Belle Aire because they are focused as a result of the open environment at BA. And parent visiting Belle Aire can get a read on the school atmosphere just by walking through.


Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2016
- a parent
Great school and teachers. Our kids did great in the open class environment. Nice neighborhood location for school.

Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
Belle Aire is a real hidden gem among Downers Grove area elementary schools. Its small size makes a huge difference in both the attention that kids get from teachers and administrators and the overall cohesiveness of the school community. My two sons both were very well prepared by their time at Belle Aire.

Belle Aire Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 28, 2016
- a parent
There are many good & decent people who work there, teachers, principal, & support staff.


Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2016
- a parent
I have 2 kids that went through Belle Aire. There are many extremely excellent teachers there, who really love what they do. The size is small enough so that it's easy to get to know people & everyone looks out for each other. We had a terrific experience!

Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school full of great opportunities for children. My oldest has been a straight A student at Herrick because of Belle Aire's learning environment. Belle Aire has a really friendly community, great curriculum, and the students are really successful in school. Teachers and Parents work very hard to make Belle Aire an amazing school.

Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
We opted into this school. We think that the teachers, Principal and families have a fantastic relationship. We also use the special ed programs and have been so happy with the work that they have done with my child. Open classrooms don't seem to have any problem letting the kids learn.


Belle Aire Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
This school has three significant handicapps that cause it to be a poor school. 1. The administration is complacent and does nothing to fight for better curriculum and resources for the students and teachers. 2. The majority of teachers are unispired and do nothing to challenge the students. We are now losing two young and dedicated educators because of the problems facing the school. 3. Finally, as indicated by some of the comments, the majority of parents in the community are small minded and focus only on social issues (like tag at recess). There are few advocates of challenging education in the school and community. I would consider alternative schools or communities.

Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2010
- a parent
While I was concerned about the open classroom layout of the building, it did not seem to interfere with the eduction of either of my sons. Most of the teachers are knowledgeable and committed to your child's education and growth. Parental involvement is strong. My only beef is with the principal, who seems to be a control freak, even trying to stamp out games like tag at recess.

Nearby schools

Belle Aire Elementary School
3935 Belle Aire Ln, Downers Grove, IL  60515
(630) 719-5838
Last modified Belle Aire Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top