Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Downers Grove, IL
Students enrolled: 265

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school full of great opportunities for children. My oldest has been a straight A student at Herrick because of Belle Aire's learning environment. Belle Aire has a really friendly community, great curriculum, and the students are really successful in school. Teachers and Parents work very hard to make Belle Aire an amazing school.

Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent
We opted into this school. We think that the teachers, Principal and families have a fantastic relationship. We also use the special ed programs and have been so happy with the work that they have done with my child. Open classrooms don't seem to have any problem letting the kids learn.


Belle Aire Elementary School 1

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
This school has three significant handicapps that cause it to be a poor school. 1. The administration is complacent and does nothing to fight for better curriculum and resources for the students and teachers. 2. The majority of teachers are unispired and do nothing to challenge the students. We are now losing two young and dedicated educators because of the problems facing the school. 3. Finally, as indicated by some of the comments, the majority of parents in the community are small minded and focus only on social issues (like tag at recess). There are few advocates of challenging education in the school and community. I would consider alternative schools or communities.

Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2010
- a parent
While I was concerned about the open classroom layout of the building, it did not seem to interfere with the eduction of either of my sons. Most of the teachers are knowledgeable and committed to your child's education and growth. Parental involvement is strong. My only beef is with the principal, who seems to be a control freak, even trying to stamp out games like tag at recess.

Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
I had 2 children attend K thru 6, one child was a star student and the second struggling with ADD, both had very good grades despite the distractions. I believe the open classrooms have helped both of them thru Jr. High and High School. I have a third child attending Belle Aire and am happy to be part of the school again.

Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 kids at Belle Aire who love it and are thriving in the 'open air' environment. There was a study done that said that kids from Belle Aire did much better in jr. high because they learn to concentrate with noise around them. I highly recommend Belle Aire

Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2009
- a parent
I was shocked by your response about BelleAire.My children have been successful in learning how to focus on there classroom with other noise in the background.This will make it much easier for junior high and high school.Giving the school a rating of one star is a poor evaluation of the complete package.Maybe you should've researched the school before moving into the neighborhood.


Belle Aire Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Belle Aire Elementary School 1

Posted February 24, 2008
- a parent
This school has open classrooms. It's great if you have the perfect student. It's very distracting to children that don't have a perfect attention span. Parent's really encourage exclusive relationships.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Belle Aire Elementary School
3935 Belle Aire Lane, Downers Grove, IL  60515
(630) 719-5820
Last modified Belle Aire Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Belle Aire Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top