Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Avery Coonley School

Private | PK-8 | 378 students

The Avery Coonley School is known for providing challenge to gifted learners.

 
 

Living in Downers Grove

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $260,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2014

Avery Coonley is simply incredible. My daughter loves the school. The teachers and staff are supportive, engaging and talented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

School is phenomenal. Teachers are committed, enthusiastic, and genuinely concerned about your child. Mr. Barton, head master, awesome and very involved. The students actually love to go to school and love to learn. There is mutual respect amongst the faculty and student. A very unique environment, conducive to learning. Worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

ACS is literally my second home. I always feel appreciated and cared about, like I'm a part of something larger than just a school. You know everyone there by name, and you really feel like the teachers care about you. I learn so much everyday I go there, and wouldn't want any other place to be called my school.


Posted July 3, 2011

A naturally gifted child will thrive in this community. They have a complete understanding and compassion for their students and the challenges that can occur with gifted and 2e children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

This is a school for hard working, bright and gifted kids. The teachers are great and there is a lot of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

ACS provides an education you cannot get in most of the DuPage County school districts. Children must continue to perform to remain in the school and the school feeds them with extraordinary education. It is unfortunate that there are not more similar schools to provide the same gifted opportunities from three years old through 8th grade. Also, there needs to be an Avery Coonley High School as well. The public schools simply ignore gifted students by forcing them into the same mainstream as all other students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

i have attended this school for nine years, and i love it! I'm in 6th grade and i feel like it's my home. I know almost everyone in the school. Everyone at the Avery Coonley School is close to one another and the teachers. I love Avery Coonley!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2008

Our daughter attended kindergarden at Avery Coonley and had a wonderful experience. We had to relocate to another part of the country where she now attends what is considered one of the best private schools in the region. She was very well prepared for a challenging first grade experience and ahead of her peers in math. She developed an exceptional conceptual understanding of math concepts at Avery Coonley. Her teachers and peers where absolutely outstanding. We miss Avery Coonley! It is worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

I went to Avery Coonley for ten years and definitely recommend it for hardworking, bright students. I feel like I have come out on top. We were certainly prepared for highschool after leaving, if not prepared for college also. The community is very strong from faculty to the youngest and oldest students. Going to ACS was probably the best education I've had and the place I felt most at home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2007

I taught at this school for several years and thought it was the most wonderful school I had ever worked for. The students are amazing, the quality of education is excellent, and the staff are all dedicated to helping each individual student excel. Staff gives a lot of concern towards the psycho-social dynamics of gifted children. Staff meets regularly once or twice a week to discuss students and curriculum. The administration is always very welcoming to new and creative ideas. It is expensive, but it is worth every penny. I hope to one day send my children to the school. The school is very safe, tucked away on a beautiful campus near the woods. You can find kids studying, drawing, or eating lunch near the pond in the middle of the fully-enclosed, landscaped cloister.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 17, 2006

Outstanding school, beautiful campus. My son attended for 2 years while we lived in Chicago and one of our great regrets was having to leave this school when we relocated. Quality of students is very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

Music, art, sports, and drama are very important at this school. In the classes, the kids learn alot and get very excited about school. There are many opportunities for involvment for parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2006

I attended this school and graduated in 1993. Each teacher was excellent in giving each student the one on one time they needed in order to succeed. One thing I really liked about this school was how enriching it was for me. I started learning French in kindergarten, which has helped me to learn other languages much easier. Overall, I highly recommend this school to anyone with a gifted child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2005

Avery Coonley offers a strong academic curriculum while also providing a nurturing environment. My duaghter has attended for the past two years and cannot imagine school life without Avery Coonley. She feels respected by teachers, staff, and her peers. She feels confident to express her views without the fear of ridicule. It is definitely a place where academically talented students can flourish. We look forward to her future years at Avery!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2004

Both of my sons have attended Avery Coonley since preschool. They have both been challenged and love their friends. We love the families and friends we have made there. It's expensive, but it's worth it, if your child is very bright and highly motivated. They do get a lot of homework: between one to two hours a night. The children learn to write papers; my son has won state science fair and math competitions. There are no drugs, smoking, or other elicit activities at this school-period. That makes it worth it alone. This school is also a stepping stone to prestigious Eastern boarding schools. The school should publish its alumni college list too: Yale, Stanford, Northwestern, etc. But--your child will work hard, and you will too! This is not a place for hands-off parenting. You will be working on many projects. You are expected to donate to the Annual Fund.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Both of our sons attending this school. It has consistently led the state in math competition, and is nationally recognized as an exemplary school. Students are tested for admission, and there is a waiting list to get in, especially if you do not enroll your child in the preschool program. It's pricey, but worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 29% 4%
Two or more races 13% 3%
Black 2% 18%
Hispanic 2% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Paul A Barton
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (630) 969-0131

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Drama club
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $19000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Hinsdale Central
IMSA
Boarding schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Maple Ave
Downers Grove, IL 60515
Website: Click here
Phone: (630) 969-0800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hillcrest Elementary School
Downers Grove, IL




Multi Needs Program
Downers Grove, IL


St Joseph School
Downers Grove, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT