Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

East Moline Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 341 students

 
 

Living in East Moline

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $85,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2013

My preschool grandson attends this school. Absolutely a wonderful, well run school. Very happy with all teachers and staff.


Posted August 2, 2013

Small, well managed class sizes. Teachers really take an interest in knowing each individual student. School leadership is passionate about educating children in a Christian environment that is financially affordable. Definitely the best value in the Quad Cities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

East Moline Christian now has kids with big behavioral issues. It is affecting the quality of education you are paying for. It is no different than a public classroom with less pay for the teachers. I know several that are fed up with the problematic kids. The leaders of this school aren't taking control of the situation and getting rid of these kids. I am disgusted with the situation and am considering a different private school with smaller class sizes!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

East Moline Christian is by far the best school in the area. They have excellent teachers, strong leadership, and challenging academics, but they also lead students toward a personal walk with the Lord. They are short on space ONLY bc they are still gathering the funds needed to begin the necessary expansion projects. EMCS does not accept any government funds, a thing to be admired in a society where money is given so freely to anyone reaching a hand out. That is where the use of fundraisers comes into play for EMC. There are btw only 4. These cut tuition costs and make EMCS the most affordable in the area. Inexpensive does not always mean lower quality, and EMCS does not lack quality at all. The 2011 senior class averaged a 27 ACT score! Universities in both IL and IA offered sports players in the local public schools a full ride scholarship if they could score a 20! 3 and 4 year old children are reading already when the national average has children learning to read as 1st and 2nd graders! Please visit the school before setting it aside as not right for your child. It certainly changes lives for the better!


Posted May 12, 2010

This is a top school that also teaches morals! That is so important to people of faith in this day and age. They have top students and teachers.


Posted March 13, 2010

My children have gone to this school there whole life, sadly in the last few years the school Has ignored the fact that it is in need of major expantion. In 5th grade and below the classes look like public schools. Twenty or more to a class, if you expect one on one help with your struggling child it won't happen. Teachers are often new and inexperanced and often don't stay long, there is often a shortage of space and teachers. Don't be suprised to find your child in a double classroom , one class one teacher teaching 2 seprate grades. Alternating back and forth. One class face one way the other class the other way with teacher in the middle. How much Time do you think your child will have for questions when now teacher has to go to the other side of the room and teach a diffrent grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My son is in preschool and I was VERY picky when deciding where to send him. In my opinion, his first year makes a huge difference to his future as well as any other grade school year. This school is amazing. The staff is wonderful, the pastor is wonderful and most importantly the children really learn in a loving and intelligent environment. I could go on and on and feel free to e-mail me for more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

My Son started has attended High school here the past 3 years and will be starting his senior year. This school has proven beyond a doubt to be the best choice for him. The teachers have time for every student, teaching them not only the required academics but also encouraging strong moral character. The students are all very polite and respectful to each other! It is a true blessing to have a school like this available. If only I had known about this school sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

my son started in kindergarten and is a Freshman now, tested as a 11grade 6 month on last years standard test
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2008

I am a graduate preschool through 12, and I can only say, East Moline Christian School has the best academic, patriotic, spiritual, and moral values in America.


Posted May 29, 2006

This my new school. Ilove this school. I never thought i would get out of a school and then go somewhere where everyone likes you. The teachers are very intuned to the kids and their doing.I wish my old school was like this school. Thank you! bye.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2006

Good education. Preschoolers learn how to read well. 1st graders can read any book you put in front of them. The only draw back is all the fundraisers they have you selling for!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Hispanic 10% 24%
Black 7% 18%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 46th Avenue
East Moline, IL 61244
Website: Click here
Phone: (309) 796-1485

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

United Twp High School
East Moline, IL


Wells Elementary School
East Moline, IL


Glenview Middle School
East Moline, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT