Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Elgin High School 5

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
Elgin High School is, like any other school, doing the best it can with the little it has. Given the fact that the vast majority of the student body are actually minorities from very low income backgrounds, and the severe underfunding of the school, they do an EXCELLENT job! Test scores and attendance are almost on par with the state averages when funding is not. People who are looking for a top tier HS in terms of pomp and haught had better look elsewhere. But despite the fact that the bathrooms are a little messy, this school can and does provide top quality educations to those who seek them.

Elgin High School 5

Posted September 01, 2009
- a community member
great school. new experiences, make lifelong friends, best time is homecoming week!


Elgin High School 5

Posted May 08, 2009
- a student
I love it here and how people don't define other by their race, clothes, intelligence, or anything. All who go here are kind to eachother.

Elgin High School 5

Posted November 19, 2008
- a student
Great school! I was in the academy there and the teachers were very respectful, fun, and motivating. Administration was a little disrespectful sometimes but sometimes a little bad has to come with the good. Overall, it was a fantastic experience going to that school.

Elgin High School 1

Posted September 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Elgin High School 3

Posted August 21, 2007
- a student
there are alot for teachers at Elgin High that make you want to learn.. it's a good school

Elgin High School 2

Posted March 24, 2006
- a former student
I was in the Gifted and Talented Academy which I think helped prepare me for college but in general my experience at EHS was a negative one.

Elgin High School 4

Posted December 26, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Elgin High School 4

Posted December 15, 2005
- a student
I am a Senior at Elgin High School now and i could not be happier to be here.everyone questions this school and where it is goin but i know where it could be goin in a few years. A well known place and good leadership qualities.the minority level in Elgin is outstanding there and many different backrounds here and everyone can relate to eachother in some way.I would not want to be stuck in a school where there is only a one dominant race. The athletic program in this school is goin to rise. right now our school has the potenial to bring home state championships.The leadership on the teams is so high that there are no captains.Teacher quality in this school is very good teachers demand respect and passing grades it hard for teachers to control 30 students so give them a break.

Elgin High School 2

Posted November 07, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elgin High School
1200 Maroon Drive, Elgin, IL  60120
(847) 888-5100
Last modified Elgin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Elgin High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top