Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Larsen Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 27, 2016
- a student
MRS BOES!!! i love you!!!! she and i always got along pretty well and i'm gonna miss not having her this year.

Larsen Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 27, 2016
- a student
they're good. and funny. i like them. (except the art teacher! she failed me for a reason that wasn't valid but we're not gonna get into that!)


Larsen Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 27, 2016
- a student
it's a decent amount, a good hours worth most nights. sometimes it feels like too much, but that's just school.

Larsen Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted July 27, 2016
- a student
in some students yes. for sure. especially if you take harder classes, you have to work harder to get a good grade.

Larsen Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted July 27, 2016
- a student
ok so here's the deal. you'd have to be dumb to disrespect a principal. but if a teacher fails to engage their students, the students will talk while the teacher is talking, and get scolded, and not care. something i was troubled to find out was that some 5th period students had been unplugging an older teacher's cords to her projection thingy and she didn't know where they went so she had to teach without them. that angered me. so there isn't too much respect....


Larsen Middle School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted July 27, 2016
- a student
not in all, but like i said before, most students have senses of right and wrong and they know when it's cruel to do something to someone, so it doesn't really happen. (yet again i didn't see bullying once in this school for a whole year). another thing i've picked up on is that a lot of people act tough and/or like they have no chill to try and be noticed. i accidentally flipped off a teacher during lunch and it was very awkward, but i laughed it off, and she ended up too. so people don't always show the caring sides of them, but it's there.

Larsen Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted July 27, 2016
- a student
some of the students are just kinda uncontrolled and that's not the teachers' faults, it's just how they are. people do realize when it's ok and not ok to do something, most people here are mature and have good common sense. most of the students here (definitely not all) have a good sense of right and wrong built into them, whether from their parents, church, elementary school, or wherever. it's kinda already built in, there's not much to develop.

Larsen Middle School
no rating

Posted March 28, 2010
- a parent
We have not been very impressed with the teachimg staff at Larsen. Personally, I feel that most are there just to collect a paycheck and don't really care about the kids. When teachers yell 'shut up' to a class, it doesn't send a message of professionalism either. Standards are quite low. When your child can bump up his grade by bringing in a box of kleenex, it says a lot. Principal not in tune either.


Larsen Middle School 5

Posted September 13, 2009
- a student
I love larsen!! I'm an 8th grade student at larsen and i just have to say that the teachers are exellent! I'm getting a great educatin and i thank Larsen and the wonderful teachers there!!!!!!

Larsen Middle School 5

Posted August 10, 2009
- a parent
I love this school!!! My daughter is getting a well rounded education!!

Nearby schools

Larsen Middle School
665 Dundee Ave, Elgin, IL  60120
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (847) 888-5250
Last modified Larsen Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top