Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
210 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Laurence Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Hofmann-3rd grade. She brings a breath of fresh air and thinks 'outside the box'. She has her children work in groups, so no one feels left out or behind. Even though she is a newer teacher, everyone looks forward to her 3rd grade class! Thank you Mrs. Hofmann!

St Laurence Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
Great school with great teachers. Those who want a quality education at a good price, should come to St. Laurence. Nothing pretentious, all real. Old church and old school building with a character, small groups, nothing extra to pay for. We are not Catholic, and found a family here, wonderful atmosphere for our kids to grow and mature.


St Laurence Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
Sending our children to St. Laurence ensured that they would be taught the same beliefs and values we were teaching them at home, in a Christ-centered school, by teachers who share our faith. We have found all the staff to be professional, knowledgeable, and genuinely invested in providing our children with the best education possible. Students are given many opportunities to excel and class size allows for individual needs to be met. The staff and families receive support and guidance from our principal and pastor, who with our Education Commission, work together to use resources wisely to update materials and technology. For those of us who are looking for a quality education at an affordable price, St. Laurence is a smart, economical choice.

St Laurence Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
My son is finishing up his last year at St. Laurence and I am so sad. They are the best group of teachers and know how to provide the one on one help that each child needs. They enrich the kids' lives with practical situations and have high expectations for each student. Academically, the school is exactly where it should be, but more than that, they offer spiritual guidance that can only be taught through example. Every single staff member from the principal on down leads our students to be the best.

St Laurence Elementary School 4

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
We toured a few schools prior to our oldest starting Kindergarten. We did not want to use the U46 public school system. We immediately felt at home at St. Laurence. This is truly a family, not just a school.


St Laurence Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
My husband and I view Catholic schools as the complete package. St. Laurence provides an excellent academic experience, but more importantly, the foundation on which is based on a living faith in Jesus Christ. Our child's entire being, her mind, emotion, and soul, is nourished by St. Laurence. Paying for a Catholic education is not cheap, but if you believe that your child is your most important asset, and we certainly do, the money you spend on a Catholic education at St. Laurence is the best investment you ll ever make.

St Laurence Elementary School 1

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
The new administration is EXTREMELY difficult to deal with, and is making changes that don't take into consideration the best interests of the children or families. The teachers are wonderful and so are the families, but parents aren't able to be fully involved as they were for the many generations prior to the new principal. It's quite disheartening and very, very sad...

St Laurence Elementary School 4

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
St Laurence catholic school is exactly what I was looking for 10 years ago when trying to find a private school for my kids. It has remained a wonderful experience for all this time. Our oldest has gone on to have high honors in high school, and continues to soar academically. His education from St Laurence school was nothing short of wonderful, teachers are amazing, and the overall feel if "family" is what really sets them apart.


St Laurence Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
We came to St. Laurence due to the family atmosphere mainly in the church first..and now the school. It is a close knit community. .but welcoming to outsiders. The teachers are terrific and the school is constantly upgrading itself with new technology. My daughter is becoming a happy, well rounded individual and that's all we can as for as parents.

St Laurence Elementary School 4

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
I love the all day Kindergarten and the small class sizes. Even though my son has some learning disabilities the teachers do everything they can to help him. It is a great learning environment for any child, catholic or not.

Nearby schools

St Laurence Elementary School
572 Standish Street, Elgin, IL  60123
(847) 468-6100
Last modified St Laurence Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top