Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
60 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Summit School 5

Posted April 25, 2006
- a parent
I have 2 kids in this school. This school nothing but nurtures kids to be their best. They have an advanced curriculum, 2 foreign languages and gym right from the 3 yr old program. The teachers are well qualified. Small classroom sizes allow for individualized attention to every kid.

Summit School 5

Posted April 25, 2006
- a parent
Excellent school. My kids thrived here. Its sad to see it not exist as Summit academy.


Summit School 5

Posted April 20, 2006
- a parent
Great school! However it is closing and merging with Elgin Academy for the 2006-2007 school year.

Summit School 5

Posted April 12, 2006
- a parent
Excellent school. Curriculum is 1 year ahead of grade level. Structured environment.

Summit School 5

Posted April 08, 2006
- a parent
We began Summit Academy in its First Program for Parents and Babies six years ago. We have never been disappointed with our choice to continue. The education for value cannot be matched. Summit educates the whole child, not just a few core areas. Children are exposed to every aspect of technology, physical activity, arts, sciences, language arts, and advanced problem solving at an accelerated pace in a safe environment. They learn like sponges, taking every thing in. If this school is in your budget, it cannot be beaten. A strong parent organization helps to offset costs of the extensive technology programs, as well as keep parents involved in the day to day operaions of the Academy. Small classes and energetic well-qualified teachers further enrich this accelerated curriculum. A strong character building program makes good citizens of tomorrow.


Summit School 5

Posted September 08, 2005
- a parent
Excellent preschool and elementary program. Teachers are very experienced, well-prepared and caring. Preschool/Elementary includes Spanish, French, Art, Music, and daily P.E. class in addition to accelerated academic curriculum (my 4 year old is learning some double-digit math and beg. reading). Student-teacher ratios are excellent. My elementary child is in a class of 15 with 1 teacher, 1 full-time assistant and 1 assistant who is an education intern from a nearby college. There is a great deal of parent involvement in this school. There are also abundant opportunities for the children to develop their leadership and public performance skills (e.g. school musicals, community involvement, class debates, etc.). 6th - 8th graders took the ACT and scored in the 20's (acceptable at many colleges!). The middle school classes are extremely small and male-dominated which may be a negative. Also, classes seem very structured (i.e. as opposed to Montessori) and there is lots of homework.

Summit School 5

Posted September 01, 2005
- a parent
Outstanding school, with extraordinary teachers. I have my children here for 7 years now, and they all are well above average in terms of test scores. More importantly, however, they have all developed a passion for learning, reading and school in general, to the extent that they look forward to fall so that they can go back to school. Although there is limited sporting options, I'd say that's a pretty minor knock - they can get then in 9th grade on up and are active participants in our city's leagues for basketball, softball and baseball. Most parents are involved at some level, and all appear to be as committed to their children's educations as I am.

Summit School 4

Posted August 22, 2005
- a parent
Supportive environment, low student-teacher ration, accelerated curriculum & amazing teachers. A great school!


Summit School 5

Posted June 29, 2005
- a parent
My children have been at Summit Academy since the age of 2. My daughter is currently going into 5th grade and my son is moving into Kindergarten. My children are extremely self confident and very outgoing. I attribute a high percentage of that to the opportunities that they have received at Summit. The small class sizes allows them to get one on one instruction and they experience so many exciting things that they would not be able to in a larger, standard class size. Through Summit, my children have obtained the educational and social foundations needed to succeed anywhere.

Summit School 5

Posted April 26, 2005
- a parent
Summit Academy is an excellent school. We started when my child was only 2.5. She will be be in 7th grade there next year! We also have 2 other children attending Summit. The children are evaluated and place according to their abilities. They are challenged but have fun doing the work. The cost is a bit mind boggling at times, but when you realize your children only have one chance to learn ~ there is nothing better than Summit. The opportunities given our children are endless. I am so happy we found such a wonderful place to help educate our kids.

Nearby schools

Summit School
333 West River Road, Elgin, IL  60123
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (847) 468-0490
Last modified Summit School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top