Advertisement
Advertisement

Da Vinci Academy

Private | PK-8 | 120 students

Creating today’s young innovators to overcome tomorrow’s global challenges.
 
 

 

Living in Elgin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $244,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,440.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2014

Every teacher and student in this school knows our child's name. The small class sizes give the teachers more time to focus on the individual child's needs. I love everything about this school. Education and love is the most important things we can give our children and this school does both. Thank you! Happy Child=Happy Parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

My son is looking forward to his second year at Da Vinci Academy. He now proudly asserts that it is absolutely the right place for him. After years of not having his academic needs recognized or met in the public school system and enduring the negative consequences of that, he is thriving and happy again about going to school. He loves to learn and Da Vinci embraces and fosters that love. The teachers provide outstanding levels of individual attention making Da Vinci an exceptional learning environment for each unique child. Though our son was not previously enrolled in a full time accelerated program, Da Vinci staff and faculty worked closely with us to facilitate a successful transition into their program. The other students welcomed him with open arms. He will be staying through eighth grade, the school's last grade offered. Our only regret is not enrolling him sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

Having worked for Universities and other K-12 private schools, I have found Da Vinci Academy to be unique and exceptional learning environment. The potential of our students is remarkable! We feel honored to be a chapter in their success story!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 18, 2013

We started our son and daughter last year and has been a great experience. The preK and Kindergarten is awesome and the staff will do everything to make it a great learning environment. We are looking forward to the excellent learning and great advancement level just like we seen after just one year. The kids and parents have all been great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

Da Vinci Academy is a wonderful school for my son. He has grown academically and emotionally. The teachers are responsive to his needs and his grades are at the top. He has been at Da Vinci for seven years since Pre-K will continue on through 8th grade. When he was recently scored for an IQ test and compared to his K IQ test, improvements were noted and reflect on his Da Vinci education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

We have had a great experience with Da Vinci Academy. Our daughter just finished her 5th year there and often tells us, "Da Vinci is perfect for me." She has a love for learning and is surrounded by other kids who are just like her. In addition to enjoying the classroom activities, she has also loved being involved in the extracurricular activities like Music and Theater Club, band, Robotics and Girl Scouts. We couldn't imagine sending her anywhere else, Da Vinci really is the perfect school for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

Our daughter has attended Da Vinci for two years, and we couldn't be happier with the school. The teachers are phenomenal -- they recognize each student's individual potential and challenge each student to meet that potential. The staff communicates with parents more than I've seen at any school. As a public school teacher myself, I can see that Da Vinci offers a curriculum for gifted students that most public schools simply don't. We look forward to watching our daughter's educational progress at Da Vinci.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

The longer our kids are at this school the more pleased we are and grateful to have the privilege to send our kids here. The older children are very friendly towards the younger ones and the teachers always maintain order in the classroom. Parental concerns are immediately addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2012

We pulled our son from this school last year. Our son was bullied and pushed around by some of the students as soon as he started at this school. When our son pushed back he was villainized by the administration. It was a nightmare. AND BEWARE OF CONTRACT THEY WILL KEEP EVERY PENNY! THEY WON'T NEGOTIATE WITH YOU AT ALL! Best decision of my life was to get him out of DaVinci (even if it cost me a mint) - he is in St Charles public schools and doing great!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2012

As a student going here for more than 4 years, Da Vinci Academy has meant more than just a school to me, it's home. Here we are all family and all the teachers know the specialized needs of each and every student. All the students share unbreakable bond, especially through the advisory system. Almost all the teachers have advanced degrees in their subject. The core curriculum is outstanding and many of us have completed high school junior-level math in 7th grade. They have many extracurricular activities and a very strong sports program. You'll see all the awards when you walk through the doors!(we have garnered so many awards and honors that they are overfilling the cases, rooms, tables, etc.)


Posted September 16, 2009

DaVinci Academy is the kind of school I wish I had grown up in, focused on academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

I have gone there since it first opened in 2000. I am graduating this year, and I feel well-prepared for whatever high school I choose to go to. I have had an astounding experience there, and all of my teachers have supported me as an individual. Each teacher knows you very well, and is concerned about you personally. You are put where you need to be, and that's what I love the most about this school. I am currently in 8th grade, and most of us are doing the equivalent of what would be an Honors Geometry class (normally a sophomore class). One of us has already completed Alg. I,II,andGeometry,andisworkingonPre-Calculus, while 2 students are in Alg. I (normally a freshmen class). Although it is sometimes a con that our school is so small, it is more often a pro, as each student gets individualized attention from each teacher.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2007

I have had four of my children at Da Vinci Academy and each of them have gotten something different out of it. This school doesn't just talk about working with each child and giving them what they need- they follow through with it. I don't know of another school in the entire Chicagoland area that focuses so closely on the needs of each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

Excellent alternative for high achieving students who need more than public schools are able or willing to offer this segment of the student population.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 60%
Asian 4% N/A
Black 3% 20%
Hispanic 1% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Scott Etters
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • website
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (847) 841-7546

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Differentiated instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Floor Hockey
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Floor Hockey
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Da Vinci Academy is a special place where brights minds take flight. Each DVA student is known, valued, challenges, and engaged. Our alumni are well-prepared for success in any high school program and beyond.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
40
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
50
Students typically come from these schools
Public school
Home or daycare
Montessori or parochial

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $17000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Independent or parochial schools
Public schools
College prep boarding schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

37W080 Hopps Rd
Elgin, IL 60124
Website: Click here
Phone: (847) 841-7532

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Corron Elementary School
South Elgin, IL




St Patrick School
St. Charles, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT