Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Queen Of The Rosary School

Private | PK-8 | 312 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Elk Grove...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $164,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2014

Words cannot describe how bad this school is. I am a former student at this school, and I think I am speaking for a lot of other students here.


Posted February 26, 2013

My daughter has been going to QR for 4 years and my son is starting preschool next year. Given the economy the school has managed to keep tuition down and still give a superior quality education to the students. My daughter has both a spiritual and superior academic learning experience this is important to us. With QR public school is not an option my daughter excels far past the children of the same age we know in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2012

A great school with great programs in place. It has a few quirks, as any school does, but overall we are very happy with the education our children are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

Queen of the Rosary was suppose to be a temporary option for my family. Having to be a working parent I needed to enroll my child in a full day kindergarten program. As he finished the year we simply couldn't make the change to a different school. This school is a warm and nurturing building where all students feel safe and valued. I now have all three of my children here and never been happier with the education and values they have received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

Queen of the Rosary was the best thing I did for my kids. They were welcome with open arms from staff members and students. The education is awesome. The teachers take extra time to help out students either in the morning or after school. If you are looking for a spiritual and excellent education for your kids. Come and look at Queen of the Rosary. I am at peace to know my kids are at a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

All anyone has to do is visit Queen of the Rosary to see how much the staff truly cares about every student. The teaching staff goes above board to ensure understanding. Opportunities for assistance are numerous. The Parish Pastor is very much involved in the spiritual lives of the children. His number one concern is their well-being and provides an excellent role model for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

School is great from pre-K to 8th grade, all the kids from different grades work together on projects. Teachers go out of their way to help students who need more time or work on a subject. Class sizes may occasionally be a little higher then we would like but it is not possible to split a class of 25 into two and still keep tuition down. Each year if the class size grows(usually by 30) it is split in two. They are doing a great job despite the economy to keep tuition down to be affordable. Childeren go on to high school in honor classes in Math, History, English regularly. Parents very involved in school and the kids extra activities are numerous. My son is in a class of 28 and excells in school and never has a problem with the size, the other is in a class of 18.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

Used to be a great school. Class size is large, and not enough quality time spent with students. No Lunch room/hot lunch program is below par. Lacks administation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

The school has great teachers. We are very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

This is an all around great school in every aspect from teaching to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

The teachers and staff at this school truly care about the students. Parents are encouraged to be a part of the every day life at school. The principal communicates openly and honestly with the students and parents. The support from the parish is wonderful. They support the school whole-heartedly. The school teaches the children not only academics, but in stills the value of their faith. It is no wonder the parents who attended this school as children now send their own chldren.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2004

QR is a great school. The faculty truly cares about each individual student, how they are doing academically as well as spiritually and emotionally.The graduates have been shown to excel above the norm in high schools and beyond, alot of them attributing their success to the education they received at QR. The school has alot of fun activities throughout the year for all to participate.There are several sports including a football team, cross country, volleyball, basketball, and softball teams. There is a music program with a cadet and concert band, and a choir which has produced it's own CD.There is an art appreciation program too.QR is a very well rounded school with many extra activities to choose from. The faculty and principal are truly dedicated to each and every student. A fantastic place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

The care that the teachers give about the students at QR is among the best I have encountered, they (the teachers) go beyond the normal school requirements but consider each and every student as a person and one of their own family. From the Principal to the teachers each and everyone cares for the students in their studies as well as social and emotional conditions. There are just not enough words to express how I feel about the school and it's teaching staff except to say wow! What a school!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Hispanic 5% 24%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Kathleen McGinn
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

690 West Elk Grove Boulevard
Elk Grove Village, IL 60007
Website: Click here
Phone: (847) 437-3322

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grove Jr High School
Elk Grove Village, IL


Ridge Family Center For Learning
Elk Grove Village, IL


Salt Creek Elementary School
Elk Grove Village, IL


Clearmont Elementary School
Elk Grove Village, IL


Rupley Elementary School
Elk Grove Village, IL


Sterling Central - Chicago Campus
Elk Grove Village, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT