Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Immanuel Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 212 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Elmhurst

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $305,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2014

My son has been here for two years now. We are really happy with our choice to send him to Immanuel. The small class sizes have been great for him (he was a shy kid, but very bright) and have allowed him to do work above his grade level. His teacher knows his abilities very well and communicates with us regularly. She is very dedicated and creative. Everyone is very approachable. I also love all the extra activities we get at Immanuel. My son takes private piano lessons every week, participates in Math Club, Cooking Club and Art Club each month. They also have regular movie nights for the families, a camping night in the fall on the school grounds, and family bowling. It's a small school with a family feel. All the kids are very respectful. We are so happy here our youngest is starting preschool in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

This is our first year at ILS and my children love it. They have amazing before and after care that keeps the kids engaged and they really do care about each and every one of the kids. The teachers and staff are very warm and caring. Mrs. Estas the Kindergarten teacher, is amazing!!!! What a great experience my child had with her and her co-teachers!! My kids are safe and happy, it's a really nice family environment.. I'm happy we made the switch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

What a great school! I have had my child in this school for a few years now and I am so excited that this school offers full-day Kindergarten. What a great opportunity for kids who need more than just 3 hours per day. Every year Immanuel adds new things to their building and to their curriculum - constantly changing to meet the needs of their students. Interactive whiteboards in every classroom. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2012

My child has attended Immanuel since Kindergarten. It is a loving, caring atmosphere but they lack the staff to help children who have a disability (ADHD). I wish they were properly staffed to help children with these issues and then it wouldn't seem like my child is such an inconvenience. All of the teachers I've encountered have been good - some that were GREAT retired already. Overall I would say that it's a good school. The extended care program director Mrs. Kraus is WONDERFUL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

I have 2 children in this school. Teachers and staff are very caring. Love music program. The class size is small. Teachers and staff are willing to go extra miles to help students. My daughter is competitive athlete. School is very supportive and came out the schedule to fit her very intense training schedule. She thrives both academically and her sport.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

Our daughter is in the preschool and it is terrific. The teachers, helpers, and staff are great. The after care is the best in Elmhurst. I evaluated all the preschools in Elmhurst and this is the best by far. The atmosphere is ideal for children - supportive, friendly, consistent, sensible, loving. What a great place. The faciliites are excellent. Our daughter has developed so nicely, and Immanuel helped her development tremendously. Her social, emotional, physical, spiritual, and cognitive domains all have progressed beautifully. Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

My two children attended Immanuel after tranferring from another school. I found the teachers here to be good, caring teachers. The middle school math teacher is exceptional going above and beyond to help the kids who may struggle more with math. The music teacher is exceptional as well, for which I'm grateful. There's a good pre-school program that is well attended. I agree with 7/19/05's post. The only concerns I have had is the lack of Spanish instruction at the middle school level. Also, I like to see the kids have more discipline. It seems that from 4th grade and above this begins to slip. The kids do not go to music and other classes in a quiet orderly fashion and quickly learn which teachers they can act up in front of and get away with it. I'm also in favor of uniforms but this school does not require them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

This is a wonderful school. My son just finished Kindegarden. He is ready for 1st Grade and already beginning to read.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

Wow...this school is great. The teachers are so caring and the class sizes are so small! we love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

Our three daughters attended Immanuel from 4 years old through eighth grade. They received an excellent, comprehensive education and individualized educational experiences. They had teachers who were fine Christian examples in their language, teaching and discipline styles, and their lifestyles (church attenders, strong family members, etc.). The numerous extracurriculuar activities provided varied opportunities, which prepared our girls for sports and music in high school (handbells, strings, band, 5 inter-school sports, scouting). Immanuel's teachers all have a four-year education degree (at a minimum) - many have Masters degrees and most have quote a few years experience. Teachers don't leave often, making for a stable environment. The computer lab, frequent special events such as musicals/concerts, school assemblies, curriculum fairs, and mentoring programs between classes also enhance education. The location is safe, convenient, and residential. The facilities were recently remodeled and an addition was built. Parents are encouraged to be involved in many ways!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 51%
Black 10% 18%
Two or more races 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 24%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Paul K Trettin
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

148 East 3rd Street
Elmhurst, IL 60126
Phone: (630) 832-9302

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT