Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Timothy Christian Elementary Midd School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Elmhurst

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $305,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 20 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2011

My kids are 6 4 and 1 and the younger kids cant wait to join there brother. timothy rocks. even though are family is mostly methodist and is not "reformed" or "calvanist" we apprciate the focus on Jesus and not the focus on secondary doctines like the crazy TULIP stuff. anyhow my son loves his teachers, classmates, activities etc and that make the tuition worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

Timothy Christian was not the path we planned for our children but God apparently had and what abundant blessings it has brought! It has been an enormous pleasure to watch our children thrive in the environment Timothy provides. They nurture an environment where our children are challenged, supported, encouraged and recognized. The school has been along side of us every step of the way. Truly a partnership. Sending the kids to TC has been like sending the kids off to an extension of our home. Timothy continues to surpass all our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

Timothy Christian is a wonderful place that has nurtured our children and helped them grow into their best selves. This is a place that truly values the partnership between a parent and teacher. Timothy has especially wonderful programs for children who excel beyond their peers and for those who need a little extra help. They do a great job of offering both athletic and academic extra curricular activities so there is something for everyone. This place has made an enormously positive impact on all of our lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

Timothy Christian School has been such a blessing to our family! We recently moved here from out of state and have a child in each level at TCS (elementary, JH and High School). The families and students at TCS have been so welcoming and loving to my family and most importantly to our kids. They immediately made great friends, the teachers have been top notch and our kids feel at home and loved there. The school's communication with the families is outstanding, and their commitment to excellence in every way is evident... from the administration to the teachers. The most important thing to our family is that everything at the school is Christ-centered and that is coupled with a strong commitment to excellence. Christ calls us to be excellent in everything we do so that we can give Him all the glory. This is what Timothy Christian School is all about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

It seems like some parents are satisfied with this school and some are not. My family did not have a good experience here. Teacher turnover is quite high with new, inexperienced graduates often coming in, teaching for a few years and then moving on. The experienced teachers are nice but do nothing to challenge the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

I have several concerns about this school .I was very hopeful that my three children would find a caring, Christian environment here. However, Bullying is a major problem. Parental involvement is limited to a few select families. There is a lack of diversity. Academic excellence is not encouraged. I would look elsewhere for a loving, caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2009

I LOVE Timothy Christian. My son attended another Christian school nearby for grades K4-2nd. I was not pleased at all. Timothy has totally outdone it self compared to my previous experience. It has exceeded my expectations!! The Principal, Teachers, and Staff are Great!! And the campus and educational programs they offer are well worth the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

I never thought my child could obtain a Christian education without having to give up a little on the academics but Timothy proved me wrong. This school is so much more than I ever could have imagined. My child loves to go to school each day. She feels the love of the teachers and we believe they are exceptional. I can't compare the academics with other schools because we have never attended another school but it rates high in Iowa scores and also the % of children that go on to good colleges is amazing to me. We feel truly blessed to have our child attend and wouldn't sent her anywhere else
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

My daughter started attending Timothy 3 years ago, in 4th grade. As a 'new student' she was embraced socially, challenged academically, and inspired spiritually. Having read through the reviews thus far, I see some of the lack of diversity issues, but also see Timothy making great strides in changing the demographics. My daughter is naturally curious and thrives on a challenge. Timothy teachers have responded to my request of seeking my daughter's best. My daughter has an IQ that qualifies for MENSA and finds the academic challenge in Timothy Middle School sufficiently managable, with active participation in extracurriculars, private music lessons and church youth group. As a parent with two master degrees I am satisfied with the opportunities offered at Timothy--I feel Timothy offers many things to many families, and like life, one needs to seize the opportunity presented. I have been very happy with our experience at Timothy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

I would like to give another perspective. My child is academically challenged. Timothy was a poor choice for many reasons. They were not able to meet my child's needs but the worst part was that they totally lacked any compassion. From my perspective, if your child is within a narrow band of skills and you would like your child to go to a Christian college, this is the right school for you. It is a good school from a very narrow perspective. For all others , there are better options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

Aa i reflect on the last year, i felt i needed to let others know how poor this school is. Academics: very poor for above average to gifted studetns Teachers: nice but not skilled at differing needs of children with varing academic abilities ADministration: not open to suggestion or feedback
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

I cannot say enough great things about this school! The faculty is attentive, thoughtful and Godly, not to mention high above the bar academically - most seem to have Master's Degrees in their field! The extra-circulars are amazing Mock trial (repeated state winners), Science Olympiads, Mathletics. I hear the sports are pretty good too- not my kids thing. I've sent 5 kids here and they are becoming the Christian children I dreamed they would be. In fact, one of my daughters just graduated from U of I (Magna Cum Laud) in 3 years and now plans to work as a world changer through an NGO. Thanks Timothy for preparing my children for a life of learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

I am not satisfied with the school. The facilities are out dated. The curriculum does not keep pace with the students needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

Where to begin in describing how poor this school is? The academics leave much to be desired. The lack of diversity is a concern. The counseling department is poorly trained. A bad experience for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

Not good. The staff is nice but the curriculum is not challenging. The facilities are in the need of an upgrade. We will be enrolling our children elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

This school was unable to provide for my chidren's academic needs. Although average and below average students seem to do ok, above average and gifted students are not challenged at all and as a result get bored very easily. Overall, I would not reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

The academics at Timothy Christian are very poor. I am very disappointed in the principal.. he is not interested in the viewpoints of the parents at all. THe teaching staff is nice but does not have the skills to challlenge the students to live up to their academic potential .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

I am vwery unhappy with this school The staff and administration are very close minded. There are close ties to churches in Elmhust and non-members of these churches are made to feel excluded. There is no diverrsity. The academic program is very poor. It is not challenging at all. If you wouldlike your child to eventually go to Calvin College or another very conservative college tehn this school is the place for you. If not, then you should look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

If you're looking for a Christian school where academic standards are high, ethical behavior is modeled, and all children are seen as precious gifts from God...Timothy Christian School is the way to go! Words cannot express the depth of my graditude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2006

I absolutely love this school. They have a fabulous bus system. Excellent parent involvement and support from area churches that help there members out with the cost of tuition. They use the Everyday Mathematics program and teach reading from a straight phonics until the children are ready for 'sight' words. They memorize scripture in big chunks 'chapters' instead of 'verses'. Very strong academically and low teacher turnover. A lot of the grads come back to teach at the school. I feel that it is a good size with 475 students K-6. I would recommend Timothy to anyone who claims Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior and want their Children to Learn from teachers that profess this as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 51%
Black 12% 18%
Hispanic 9% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tim Hoeksema
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Calvinist
Associations
  • CSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

188 West Butterfield Road
Elmhurst, IL 60126
Phone: (630) 833-4717

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bryan Middle School
Elmhurst, IL



Visitation School
Elmhurst, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT