Advertisement
Advertisement

Timothy Christian High School

Private | 9-12 | 369 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Elmhurst

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $305,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 21, 2013

I attended Timothy for 9-10 years, from the end of grade school through high school. Though it is sufficient in terms of academics (if you are a self-starter), I can think of few other positives. "If you're not Dutch, you're not much" was a phrase jokingly used by "lifers" (classmates who had attended TC since preK) but I found this to be very accurate. I am thankful for the academic training I had (small class sizes & advanced courses), but felt the lack of diversity, both racially and in terms of income level and religious denomination, to be unrealistic to life after schooling. The code of conduct for students is very rigid in comparison to public schools, and in terms of extracurricular activities there is much to be desired. To reiterate--academically, prepares students for university. Lacking in terms of social life, spiritual life, and personal development.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2013

As a former student I would never recommend this school to anyone unless you are popular and liked by everyone sadly. The kids here don't really portray the christian attributes expected. TC has cliques everywhere you look and everyone there or at least most share the same faith. If you are not their specific 'faith' , then you are usually looked down upon and they criticize your 'faith'. After transferring I was treated better academically at my other school then I ever was at TC. Some of the teachers are rude, not naming any specifics. The students will bully you if they simply don't like you. My worst high school experience was here at TC. There are many other great private christian schools to attend or send your child(ren) too, but TC isn't one of them. It will be a big mistake and you will regret it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2012

I recently moved here from out of state with two high school children. The staff and students at Timothy have been very welcoming. The teachers and coaches are encouraging and good role models. The faculty shows a sincere concern about my children s success and well being. In addition to the impressive academic programs, there are many extracurricular activities. Because of the small size of the school, it is not difficult to become involved in a wide variety of these. On the other hand, the school is not too small to have multiple sports, drama, music and fine arts programs. The campus is modern with a brand new $3.4 million science wing that has five new classrooms and three state-of-the-art science labs. My children are getting an excellent Christian education and are making life-long friendships. The parents are friendly and helpful to newcomers. I am so blessed to have found Timothy Christian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

Timothy gives students a solid Christian foundation but the academics, extracuricullars and sports are mediocre. Ok for a self-motivated kid but not good for a child who needs resources. Definitely not a place to get your child "out of trouble" or special ed. Insufficient resources and no patience. Teachers rely too much on copied, unverified materials rather than a textbook. The copied materials have errors that the teachers often don't understand. Frustrating when parents try to help when there is often no materials to guide them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2012

I have just recently left this school. This school is not a well brought up school. If you are an outsider you are looked down upon. If you are different in any way you are targeted. They say it is a nondenominational school but in history class (western civ.) they talk bad about other religions. And nothing but good about Calvinism. When a student gets bullied and the student goes to the guidance counslor for help.The student never gets help. The teachers are very mean to the student. And if the student has a thought the teacher doesn't like, the student will be downgraded. If you are a person who is new to the community and not CRC then you will be outcasted. The school is full of hypocrates and bullies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2012

This is my son's first year at Timothy Christian High School and we couldn't be more pleased. The students were welcoming to him from the first day; depsite the fact that he didn't come from their grade school and middle school program. The teachers are top notch and dedicated to their jobs. They are also dedicated to being disciples of Christ and that is evident in the classrooms, their teaching, and personal interactions with the students. The courses are academically challenging, including the honors classes. There is also a well rounded selection of classes and extras offered. Certainly we know that the school came from Dutch roots and that heritage is embraced, they aren't a Calvinist school. They are clearly a Christian school... making "academically prepared disciples of Christ". What a perfect mission statement for this school.... they are doing it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

Academics are better than average and challenging for most students, and a Christian perspective is evident in the curriculum, school environment and in the teaching staff. I am not happy that Timothy has become the food police for our children and have taken away the enjoyment out of eating, including special occasions. The current dean and principal's roles seem to be that of cops/detectives who are constantly trying to catch kids doing something, anything, that doesn't meet their ridiculous standards of behavior. Overall, we are still very happy, but these few things are troublesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

i attended timothy christian high school. i did not grow up in the community & although i did make friends, i always felt like an outsider. the community is very closed off & a lot of the students are not open to hearing about other denominations as they have all grown up together in the CRC. i definitely think that the community in this school are very hypocritical & i felt judged by many parents because i was an "outsider" not having grown up in the school. i also struggled academically & i felt that the teachers were not helpful to me in ensuring my sucess. i would not recommend this school nor would i send my own children there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2010

The teachers are wonderful, they actually care about there students and want them to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

We have 1 child in school here and are happy to say we are very pleased with this school. It is spiritually challenging for her and the academics are among the best in the area; much better than most public schools. The teachers and administration are caring, Christian people who encourage the best in our daughter. Look no further for a top-notch Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

Two of my children attended Timothy. We pretty much felt like outsiders because we weren't in the CRC church. They didn't make much effort to include outsiders and this affected how our kids felt about the school. I'm sorry to say that they have a negative memory of their school years there. Academically they did ok, but spiritually there is a feeling that many CRCers call themselves 'Christian' but it doesn't show in their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

I am very disapointed in this school . IT offers little for even above average students let alone gifted students. The faculty is nice and kids like it because they are not challenged. Lookelsewher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

As a former student and current parent I can tell you this is a school geared for the shy student who is not really interested in a college prep/competitive environment. The curriculum is a joke and the administration has no clue about what the elite schools want from a prospective student as their whole focus is designed to send kids to either Calvin College, Hope College, or Trinity Christian College. Parents and students looking to send their kids to the ivies or near ivies should look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2006

I attended Timothy a long time ago. I feel it was a great high quality education. The teachers are always willing to help and the spiritual aspect has helped instill in me strong moral values.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 4, 2006

we love timothy because the values that are taught supported our values at home. timothy has nearly everything our public school has and has some things our public school doesn't have. we are very happy with the level of care and commitment by the teachers and administrators. If and when problems have arisen they have been handled professionally and with great care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

As a current sophomore in college, I can confidently say that my four years at Timothy Christian prepared me more than adequately for higher education. The faculty, especially those teaching honors and advanced placement classes, are beyond amazing. In addition to the great academic programs, there are many extracurricular activities, and because of the small size of the school, it is not difficult to become involved in a wide variety of these. One may participate in sports and academic teams as well as art/music/drama organizations. The Fine Arts Committee is an especially great activity to get involved with. I recommend this school very highly, but with two reservations: 1)students with special needs will probably not receive all the extra help they require at this school; and 2)the student population is, unfortunately, not very diverse. Personally, however, I enjoyed the school immensely, and almost wish I could relive my years there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 12, 2005

Good academic program. Christian education. Wished there was more diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 60%
Black 14% 20%
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 3% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Brad Mitchell
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Calvinist
Associations
  • CSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German

Resources

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1061 South Prospect Avenue
Elmhurst, IL 60126
Phone: (630) 833-4616

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




IC Catholic Prep
Elmhurst, IL



St Joseph High School
Westchester, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT