Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Elmhurst Academy Early Learning

Private | PK-1 | 125 students

A private, independent, Reggio Emilia inspired school since 1981

 
 

Living in Elmhurst

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $305,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

Fantastic! I have had three children attend EA and wish they continued past kindergarten. No other school compares (and I have been searching) We are indebted to the experience at Elmhurst Academy. It is truly a magical place to learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

Smoke and mirrors - beware. Refreshing, inviting, the perfect place for your child...or so one might think. If/when things go bad, they go down hill rapidly. The owner does believe in her school. She is quite comfortable putting down any opinion that is not in line with hers (or her instructors should I say) about your child and all but inviting you to leave. I was the happiest of happy parents when things were going well - but one disagreement showed me what was really behind the curtain and opened up lots of dialog to reveal that many other parents feel the same. Good luck breaking through the click of existing parents...if you get in you are golden...if not, forget about it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

I have been part of the Elmhurst Academy family for over 10 years, as I've had two children go attend there. My youngest is now in 3rd grade and continues to receive high level grades and is now placed in the gifted program. This is due to the extraordinary education they had at Elmhurst Academy. I have received countless recommendations to this school by everyone I know in Elmhurst. It is by far the best. A++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

This is a wonderful school. I specifically chose it for the Reggio Emilia approach. Yes, the administrative staff can be a bit stuffy at times, but the teachers and the whole educational approach is great. And, in the end, it's the teachers that you and your children deal with on a day to day basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

This is one of few schools that use the Reggio Emilia philosophy. The Executive Director took me on a tour and was impressed at her knowledge and expertise. The school grounds are beautiful and the aspect on nature is best for all children. I could not find this type of education anywhere else. My son started over a year ago and is truly receiving the best educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2012

My daughter just graduated from the kindergarten class at Elmhurst Academy and have to comment on how well educated she is. If you want your child educated at a gifted level, this school compares to no other. She is reading at a second grade level and marked very high in math. They study government, greek mythology, French and Spanish. The school even has the students learn tai chi and yoga. The art program is fantastic and the outdoor garden areas you will not find at another school. Not sure where she is going to go from here, wish they went up through 8th grade! She's really had the best start at Elmhurst Academy. The staff is excellent. The school and the classrooms are beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2012

I would give this school higher marks if it wasn't for the owner. She is as a previous person said condescending and unprofessional at times. I try to avoid her at all costs. When I can do that I love this school. The teachers are fabulous and the children love to learn because of it. The teachers obviously love what they do and they love kids. I do not think anything else in Elmhurst compares. When I see what my children can do, they are definitely more advanced than other kids their age. This school is not rigid or uniform in any way that I have see in the years I have had kids here. They let the students learn in their own way but with some guidance from the teachers. All of these things are a blessing. If they could just get a new owner, or if she would just have someone else as the administrator and she is a silent partner the school would be 5 stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

There were some positive aspects of this school, but they did not outweigh the disappointing aspects. The owner was unprofessional and condesending. The processes and procedures are rigid, not just organized and uniform as needed when educating a group of children, but rigid, unyielding an draconian. Some of the extra programs they brought in for summer programs were good. Otherwise, it was a negative experience for my son and me. He still comments when we drive by - "I never want to go back there mommy."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

My wife and I have our son enrolled in the infant program. We have never experienced such professionalism, and high regards to curriculum as we've seen at Elmhurst Academy. I would highly recommend this school for every age group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

This is a fantastic preschool! My child is 2yrs old and is counting 1-10 in spanish. The teachers are very loving and caring. I definitely would recommend this school for anyone looking for full time care infant - k.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Colleen Odegaard
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (630) 279-2846

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • yoga
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • Yoga

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • School Committees
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

212 West Lake Street
Elmhurst, IL 60126
Website: Click here
Phone: (630) 279-2494

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT