Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dewey Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Dewey is a wonderful school. The new principal is wonderful, the teachers are very dedicated and have a vested interest in their students, the parents pitch in together. It is not only a school, but a really caring community.
1 person found this helpful

Dewey Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2011
- a parent
My step-son came to live with us this summer, and I'm so glad our house happens to be zoned for Dewey! All the staff, including the new principal, seem very engaged in meeting the needs of the children. His teacher promptly answeres e-mails and is very approachable. My boy's classroom has laptops for all the kids to use, the PTA is VERY involved (they even have a Compost Committee!), and they use positive recognition (Tiger Tickets) to reward the good behavior, instead of constanty drawing attention to poor behavior. This school seems very progressive, even in their methods of teaching. I really like that all the teachers can post the homework assignements on-line. There is also a new Multi Purpose Room that was built this past summer. Too bad this school wasn't around when I was a kid!


Dewey Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
We moved to Evanston three years ago and particularly wanted our children to attend Dewey School. We have not been disappointed. All of our children have had fantastic teachers that are caring and energetic. They really have gone the extra mile. We also love the parent community at Dewey. The parents at this school are highly involved and deeply care about education. There is a brand new principal this year as well he is great with parents and students. We couldn't have asked for a better school.

Dewey Elementary School 2

Posted December 01, 2010
- a teacher
The way this principal treats people is unprofessional and outrageous. (I wish others would not excuse his behavior.) He seems to be all about tooting his own horn (knack for hiring talent?). This is hardly the best school in Evanston.

Dewey Elementary School 1

Posted November 29, 2010
- a parent
Our two kids attend Dewey. Lots of weird policies-- like on cold or wet days, they are forced to watch TV as "indoor recess". They never get to meet their teacher before the first day of school. Not to mention that the sun rises and sets with "tiger tickets" which is their only means of dealing with behavior. I feel bad for the kids that need any kind of pro social opportunities--it's just not allowed here.


Dewey Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
Dewey is a world-class school: smart kids, talented teachers, and a principal with a knack for hiring talent. Unquestionably the best school in Evanston, by far.

Dewey Elementary School 3

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
We are not happy with the school at all. Our child's teacher is not helpful and neither is the front office staff. They should remember why they are there...

Dewey Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 17, 2010
- a parent
very difficult school culture-seem to be all about the test scores--in countless ways, as a whole, they don't seem very informed about child development--


Dewey Elementary School 1

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Dewey Elementary School 3

Posted January 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dewey Elementary School
1551 Wesley Avenue, Evanston, IL  60201
(847) 859-8140
Last modified Dewey Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dewey Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top